Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
2,677 ratings
661 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

PK
Jun 18, 2020

Very nice course. Even if you are already familiar with power electronics, it will help you to form a system of knowledge and utilize rational approaches for task solution of any level of complicity.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 647 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By Mustansar h s

Feb 25, 2021

Thank you so much sir to a new way very amazing I learn alot of new calculation .

Thank you coursera to providing the wonderful paltfome for learning

By Amshumaan R K

May 21, 2020

Thorough basics here in the course for non isolated converters in Course #1. The modeling with input filters and such are relevant to the industry too.

By Chinmaya K

Jun 1, 2020

I have very much satisfied with the course and professor. He explained very clearly and slowly, so the concepts were clarified at that moment itself.

By Nicolas S

Oct 17, 2017

The course is well structured and the explanations are easy to understand. The homework is similar to what you would be given when attending a regu

By Apurv S

Jul 28, 2018

The course is challenging and awesome as far as the explanation of concepts is concerned.The questions in the sample problems are also very good.

By Sivasai N

Feb 1, 2017

This course has been a real confidence booster for a student like me who is returning to the field of Power Electronics after a gap of two years.

By Luciano B

Dec 18, 2016

A very outstanding approach on DC-DC converters. I really recommend and expect to complete all 6 steps of this Power Electronics Specialization.

By Anik M

Jul 28, 2018

COURSE MATERIALS AND INSTRUCTOR TEACHING WAS VERY MUCH HELPFUL . I AM A UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT SO IT WILL BE BENEFICIAL FOR ME IN THE LONG RUN.

By Nguyen T H

Oct 26, 2017

It should be the best course for new learners in P.E. Great lectures, instructor. The homework was well-design to revise the lesson. Thanks!

By Subramaniam S

Oct 19, 2017

LEARNT THE BASICS OF POWER ELECTRONICS, THE DC TRANSFORMER MODELLING, LOSSES AND EQUIVALENT CIRCUIT IN STEADY STATE and the hands on LTSPICE

By Utku K

Mar 22, 2016

A very good beginning to the topic. Using together with the notes and downloadable slides of the videos makes everything easier to comprehend

By Saad A

Jan 17, 2019

I found this course very helpful as my MS research is all about converters and this course has made me clear about the basics of converters.

By Dehming T

Feb 7, 2020

Tests your understanding about the basic power electronic material that may seem easy on first sight. Takes fundamentals to the next level.

By Abubakar M

Jan 25, 2020

Excellent overall 1st course of the specialization. The assignments were very challenging I felt. Definitely will continue with 2nd course.

By cesar a

Aug 17, 2017

It's an excellent course, I really liked it. Anyone can learn and understand a lot of things about power electronics with this easy course.

By Selemon N M

Dec 29, 2016

It is a profound foundation for the continuing courses. I really recommend for those who are interested to be a real power system designer.

By Antonio J R V

Feb 13, 2016

adiestra en el uso de herramientas de calculo para el diseño y analisis de convertidores dc-dc, 100% agradecido del conocimiento adquirido.

By Gift N

Feb 9, 2016

Excellent instruction Prof. Erickson. I am using this to supplement my power electronics course here at school and it has been a huge help.

By Hax K

Nov 26, 2019

It was very helpful to understand how to build dc transformer model and how to apply it to the analyzing of the basic dc-dc converters

By Shivam K

Nov 7, 2020

I learned most of the skills from this course design of dc dc converter design calculation and electronics principle and calculation

By Stefan R

Sep 8, 2020

This is a very intriguing , intellectual and quick understanding course. Great all round with a splendid instructor to guide the way.

By Zalman R

Mar 16, 2016

Really very useful for a beginner of power electronics, with some simple concepts and calculation, let me have a brief view. Thanks.

By Abhishek S

May 31, 2020

By far the best power electronics introduction chapter I have studied. I studied more than my bachelor's here. Highly recommended.

By E.M P C H

May 2, 2020

Very valuable course and it is gained good basic knowledge about DC-DC converters.Clear lectures and effective notes and examples.

By Irfan C

Mar 13, 2016

I re-learned some basic concepts from a different point-of-view despite practicing electrical engineering for the past 20 years!