Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
2,432 ratings
612 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

SH
Sep 22, 2017

I am very please of with course but i also want the course of power electronics related to any field i mean in FACTS devices applications so we can learn more related to new emerging technologies .

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 597 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By KHALID A

Oct 23, 2017

Very helpful course and the concepts are very clear, 100 % recommended for any one work in Power Electronics field

By Angel C M

Sep 1, 2019

Very interesting course, with good theoretical material and tasks that help to reinforce the knowledge obtained.

By Mohit V

Jul 12, 2019

Absolutely mind bogling. emands a lot of efforts from students to sove the asignments which is a very good thing

By Shivayogi B N

Jul 25, 2020

This is the very interesting subject which brings us confidence to solve practical problems. Thank you Sir. :)

By Jayakrishnan H

Jan 8, 2018

I cannot recommend this course as well as the whole specialization enough. Absolute value for the money spent.

By Piyush H

Nov 1, 2019

Great experience with learning new things.

I learn a lot from this course about working of power electronics.

By ANUP K D

Mar 10, 2016

One of the best course I have ever learned. Truly challenging, motivating, exciting. Learned a lot.... Thanks

By Istiaque m a

Feb 17, 2016

Course content is really awesome. Homework assignment will help a lot to learn more about the course content.

By Branko M

Feb 22, 2019

I'm in love with this course. The material is presented and taught in the most efficient manner it would e

By Ahmed A

Sep 4, 2018

This course is great both in terms theoretical knowledge and practical hands on problem solving experience.

By Shounak K

Mar 14, 2018

The course really clarified many of the voids that even I was unaware. A big thank you to the instructors !

By Athanasios P

Feb 20, 2016

Excellent course!

I highly recommend this course for someone who wants to learn more on power electronics.

By Akash C P

Mar 10, 2018

Wonderful course if you looking to understand how power converters work and to a good start for beginners.

By Nick L

Jun 9, 2017

Great for anyone getting into power electronics or someone who simply needs a basic refresher from school.

By Anjana W

Feb 27, 2019

This course was really well organized such that the students can acquire basic power electronic concepts.

By Jonathan A S L

Jul 17, 2020

Very interesting content, I really extended my knowledge of a topic we didn't cover while in university.

By Malolasimman

May 21, 2020

Excellent teaching and I would recommend electrical and electronics engineers to specialize this course

By Shubham R P

May 18, 2017

Very nice course. In depth understanding of theory behind converters. Need to complete all the courses.

By Nathan J W

Aug 25, 2020

Great course. Well explained and good structure with topics building in a cohesive and coherent order.

By Laxmi M

Jun 4, 2020

A very good course sir. Got to know so many new things.Thank you sir for giving me so much knowledge.

By Javier P G

Aug 2, 2017

Good course to take a look into Dc-Dc non isolated devices and their analisys techniques(1 part of 6)

By Muhammad A

Feb 28, 2016

An excellent opportunity to enrich my self with power electronics from another side of the picture.

By RUSHAB B

Dec 22, 2019

Excellent course for beginners looking towards making a career in the domain of power electronics.

By Maxim C

May 27, 2019

Меня впечатлило, как доступно и понятно были объяснены базовые понятия, и как разжеваны тонкости.

By Mukesh G

Nov 9, 2020

I think this course maintains a good standard, exercises are tricky and difficult. But I like it