Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.3
stars
2,073 ratings
374 reviews

About the Course

Critical thinking – the application of scientific methods and logical reasoning to problems and decisions – is the foundation of effective problem solving and decision making. Critical thinking enables us to avoid common obstacles, test our beliefs and assumptions, and correct distortions in our thought processes. Gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, evaluating alternative solutions, and anticipating likely risks. Learn how to use analysis, synthesis, and positive inquiry to address individual and organizational problems and develop the critical thinking skills needed in today’s turbulent times. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, explore successful models and proven methods that are readily transferable on-the-job. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Choose and apply appropriate problem solving and decision making processes and methods 2. Identify common obstacles to effective problem solving and decision making 3. Recognize the human variable in problem solving and decision making 4. Assess major conceptual blocks and significant situational challenges 5. Apply concepts to enhancing personal development and organizational performance 6. Explain the key elements of problem solving and decision making and the barriers associated with them...

Top reviews

LG

Dec 30, 2019

It is a very nice course for me, it not only teach me some solutions of problem solving & decision-making, but also help me to clear cleared my minds in dealing with problem.

YM

Aug 03, 2018

A wonderful Informative and effective course for those who want to learn or improve to take effective decision making and learn quick problem solving techniques

Filter by:

351 - 371 of 371 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Jose A N

Mar 28, 2017

very basic, tool based solutions, no real content behind.

Usually these courses are about learning and being mentally challenged not getting a toolbox.

By Mangesh L

Oct 06, 2015

Theoretically good course, could have been made more interesting by including more examples or cae studies.

By Nikita P

Sep 30, 2017

Too simplistic. Just provides a few common sense methods of making decision, nothing more.

By Laya I

Feb 25, 2017

this course needs much more evidences and examples to support the valuable information.

By Ahmed M R

Jan 09, 2017

the course is theoretical, it would be better with more examples and case studies.

By Mohamed Y

Feb 16, 2016

The course is well organized but I don't think it covered all the basics.

By Kareem M O

Nov 07, 2015

Very brief , some points are leaved without explanation

By Tim L

Aug 24, 2015

Great first starter but poorly done

By Jani S

Oct 05, 2015

Somehow simple presentations.

By Augusto U

Mar 09, 2016

introductory course

By Michael C

Jan 09, 2016

Boring

By Bloch E

Jan 31, 2016

Too base for experienced people, not enough fundamental for beginners.

After 2 weeks didn't find any useful information, it also very boring, so recommend to see video on 1.25 -1.5 speed.

The course need to be significantly changed:

1. Who are the target audience

2. How many resources do we have (time etc)

3. What we would see as a result of course (knowledge, skills (hard, soft)

etc.

By Victor O C d O

Sep 14, 2016

The course has a very important content. But I believe that it could improve it's quality, develop better slides, the teacher could be more dynamic.

Other features like innovative assignments based on real life, partnerships with companies to provide content, and everything that could be a differential to the course will be awesome.

By soruji80@gmail.com

Mar 31, 2020

-The material is too simple.

-Presentation is too boring, old, not interesting.

-i could not compete the first assessment as i had to enroll in another course !

-i do not think i will ever take any other course with coursera

By Kyle W

May 01, 2018

I can't deal with Rob Stone. He talks a lot of hypatheticles and I have struggled through all of the courses here that he has taught. He spends way too much time on each slide.

By Luiz A d L N

Aug 23, 2017

Very basic mook with superficial classes about problem-solving techniques. A deeper presentation about Pareto and root causes analysis would be more valueble.

By Khoi N

Dec 12, 2015

The course is not very useful due to its lacking of practical examples and assignments.

By Alex M

Jun 28, 2016

Lack of insights and practical information

By Triboulet P

May 21, 2016

ne correspond pas au niveau

By Dimitri V

Aug 09, 2016

Not essential

By Michael Z

Jul 06, 2017

simplistic