Chevron Left
Back to Programming Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Fundamentals by Duke University

4.7
stars
5,490 ratings
1,441 reviews

About the Course

Programming is an increasingly important skill, whether you aspire to a career in software development, or in other fields. This course is the first in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C, but its lessons extend to any language you might want to learn. This is because programming is fundamentally about figuring out how to solve a class of problems and writing the algorithm, a clear set of steps to solve any problem in its class. This course will introduce you to a powerful problem-solving process—the Seven Steps—which you can use to solve any programming problem. In this course, you will learn how to develop an algorithm, then progress to reading code and understanding how programming concepts relate to algorithms....

Top reviews

EE
Aug 13, 2020

The instruction provided in this course are very clear and anyone who can learn coding by this course. But the course has more readable content for you to take notes and reading it may take more time.

MK
Jan 27, 2021

It's a very good as a beginning with programing language. It helped me to think like a compiler and how it exactly works. I've finally understood the saying "Everything in computer works in logic".♥

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,431 Reviews for Programming Fundamentals

By Hanns R G

Apr 1, 2020

I learned many things about programming in this course. I am very thankful for Duke University and Coursera community. I hope many people will learn about this course too. I will share it with my friends. Thank you again for this course.

By Adam H

Jul 31, 2018

I have attempted to learn Python through other online open learning websites, as well as reading books on my own. The focus from those sources, and my own desire, was to immediately jump into writing algorithms and programming in the lan

By Adam B

Mar 21, 2020

This is an excellent course that really does a great job of getting you to stop and think about what you're doing rather than just telling you to do it. I wish all courses could take a page from these instructors. Highly recommended.

By Nasif O B H

May 1, 2020

It is my first course in coursera and i am very much glad to finishing this course. And it is a very effective course for anyone who wants to start programming like me. The videos and reading and the assignments are very effective.

By Rachit A

Jul 29, 2020

It really helped me to understand the importance of planning to make algorithm and not rush for programming. It also motivates me to demonstrate the importance of programming basic concepts to my students in college lecture class.

By Muhammad S Q

Apr 22, 2020

I do not have any solid base to start my Programming career.

After completing this course I can say that Now I have good grasp on Reading the code, Execute it by hand and a little bit problem solving skills.

Well planned and design.

By Shaswat G

Dec 15, 2019

It was great to gain the fundamental knowledge about programming and step by step ways to solve problems and come up with a generalized solution which I think is a stepping stone in order to solve both simple and complex solution.

By Яценко Д О

Apr 30, 2020

It is very interesting course for me, because I always wanted to know a bit more about computer science and technologies. Thank you so much. This stuff showed me that even such person like me (a humanities) completed this course.

By Mateo O

Apr 22, 2018

This is a interesting course. I learn a lot about algorithms and how to apply them to real problems that I had with my projects. I recommend this if you want to create better programs and general this help for common situations.

By Aheer S

May 4, 2020

Awesome course, really awesome. The teachers explain everything so clearly that it is

hard to forget what you have learned. Most of all, they teach you the 7 crucial steps to write

and efficient, clear and easy to manage program.

By Muhammad A

Dec 31, 2020

Good course to start Programming with. Good concepts and also the instructors are also good and most importantly the content been covered in this course is very helpful for further advanced programming to make the base with.

By raj k

Jan 2, 2021

The structure of course was very well designed to make students aware of what algorithm really means and teach the basics of C programming specially that funny video of making bread thing(i don't remember the name of that).

By vidya s

Nov 9, 2020

This coursers very useful to beginners (who are starting the programs).And this courser also show the interest to do the programs . I suggest all students (those who are not interested in programs)would learn these coursers

By xunzhi j

Jul 18, 2020

Thank you so much Duke University for this wonderful programming starter course. And i have already some C programming courses in the university and now i got my memory back and it is just wonderful. Thank you guys so much!

By Bogdan U

Nov 13, 2019

As with the previous Specialization I took, the Software Engineering Fundamentals with Java, the quality of the material and the way the knowledge is relayed is at a very high level...and I love the hands-ons, of course. :)

By Sarath S

Apr 5, 2020

I was studying c programming in my college and i found it very hard. But this course was a whole different approach. The seven step process and studying deeply about the storage of information in hardware was very helpful.

By Varnika V S

Dec 29, 2017

There's not a single negative remark from my side. All prof's have taught us fro the scratch & has made us not just to write code, but experience the codes. Hence I heartily thank for all the efforts put by the prof's:-)

By Gayane G

Oct 15, 2020

This is my first programming course I have ever taken. I loved that it was simple and challenging enough to learn the basics of programming. It helped me to learn and understand how computers/programs work.

Very helpful.

By Puja k

Apr 29, 2020

A very great platform for the students to learn and explore any course whatever they want to learn .Coursera offers an atonishing chance to develop yourself .where you can learn anything from the world's greatest mind .

By pranay s

Jul 27, 2020

this course gives me the knowledge about how to think and write an algorithm for any purpose and guides how to start writing your code without wasting precious time and how to avoide the mistake while writing the code.

By Marietta L

Jun 22, 2020

Excellent Course! Starting from the very basics, which was exactly what I needed. I feel like I have a good foundation to move on to the next step. Appreciate the very thorough examples explained in the videos as well.

By Ankit S

Oct 31, 2019

Very good course recommend this for everyone. I know this course before then i completed this even earlier. Very good course for both students who have some prior knowledge or who which don't have any knowledge at all.

By Keshav J

Apr 13, 2020

Although at starting I thought it to be easy and simple but on moving further I came to realize that even easy and simple stuffs do have some concept which is entirely useful for enhancing the fundamentalss knowledge.

By Yilan X

Jun 19, 2019

It is really helpful to give the big picture of planning, 7 steps, how to write an algorithm first before diving into the details of syntax. In that way it stresses the importance of problem solving using programming

By Wang X

Dec 30, 2020

Great course! I have very strong programming background with some OOP. Many ideas introduced in this course I did not know and never seen. Enjoys this course very much and will continue to study the sequence courses