Chevron Left
Back to Programming Languages, Part B

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Languages, Part B by University of Washington

4.9
stars
574 ratings
130 reviews

About the Course

[As described below, this is Part B of a 3-part course. Participants should complete Part A first -- Part B "dives right in" and refers often to material from Part A.] This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module of Part A. Part B assumes successful completion of Part A. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top reviews

VA

Mar 19, 2018

This course (as Part A and C) is great - Dan is great in teaching and the content is perfect for anyone who wants to learn more about programming languages!\n\nWarning - you might end up loving FP :)

AZ

Mar 24, 2018

Great course with really interesting and challenging assignments that allow to get more precise vision on programming languages (especially on PL's typing systems) and get experience with modern LISP

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 130 Reviews for Programming Languages, Part B

By John S

Sep 14, 2016

An absolutely high quality class. The instruction is superb, the assignment is on par with top programs at Stanford, MIT, and CMU. Dr. Grossman's lecture is just so clear and energetic that makes learning this hard topic fun.

By Lorenzo B

Jul 02, 2020

I didn't terribly care about racket because of some previous common lisp/scheme experience; I wish the static/dynamic typing comparison had more space, but that's just because to ME that was the most interesting part.

By Keith R

Mar 23, 2018

I'm a pretty experienced C/C++ programmer and this course has been a brilliant introduction into functional programming and the underlying philosophies underpinning programming languages in general.

By Vaidas A

Mar 19, 2018

This course (as Part A and C) is great - Dan is great in teaching and the content is perfect for anyone who wants to learn more about programming languages!

Warning - you might end up loving FP :)

By Jan H

Dec 27, 2016

I took this course about 10 years off the college, and it was excellent refresher on the topics I don't use on a daily basis. Absolutely great lecturer, great videos and study materials!

By Yuji S

Sep 25, 2016

Great course! Learned more about PL, what is interpreter/ compiler language, what is statically typed/ dynamically typed. The homework is very rewarding! Looking forward to Part C.

By Sam S

Apr 01, 2020

A strong follow-up to Part A. The second week's homework assignment is quite difficult, but very rewarding. This course has greatly helped shape my views on programming.

By Jose J

Aug 16, 2020

Excelent course.! Wished contained more material. Also I think changing the editor from Emacs to Dr Racket was not really necessary... all in all excellent course!

By Jacob K

Jul 05, 2018

Just as good as the first segment of the course. Learned a lot of good material about dynamically vs statically typed languages and how languages are interpreted.

By Pedro d S Q

Aug 12, 2020

Very enjoyable course, follow-up to Part A. Building an interpreter really solidifies what we saw, a really nice exercise. I'll definitely move on to part C!

By Gabriel A S

Jul 17, 2020

I'll learn many things in this course with the enthusiasm and hard work of a very knowledgeable professor on the field. Great course 10/10 would do it again.

By Kevin X

Dec 18, 2016

This series is really the course you need to take if you feel not comfortable and want to know why(or describe the feelings) when you code in school or work.

By Paramjot S

Oct 18, 2020

T

h

i

s

c

o

u

r

s

e

w

a

s

f

a

n

t

a

s

t

i

c

.

G

i

v

e

s a very good introduction to functional programming in dynamic language by focusing on the fundamentals. Highly recommended!!

By Yuchong P

Jun 01, 2017

The course is really fantastic! It leads me to the world of Racket programming and guides me to many concepts in programming language theory (PLT).

By Peter B

Mar 12, 2017

Suitable even for experienced programmers.

Excellent presentation of fundamental programming concepts.

Exercises are challenging but rewarding.

By Xiang-Yu G

Jul 27, 2017

The programming assignments are carefully designed such that without so much coding you can capture the essence of the idea. Highly recommend.

By Anran

Mar 07, 2020

It's challenging as much as it is rewarding, and the peer review is a very nice arrangement for people to see how others are doing things!

By Iris H

Nov 22, 2019

Great follow-up to Part A, really builds on the concepts introduced there and tackles some quite complex topics (writing an interpreter)!

By Kyle K

Jul 13, 2020

Awesome course, a lot of fun with really interesting exercises. The interpreter homework was both difficult and super rewarding.

By syoya

May 20, 2020

A good introduction to dynamically typed language. I really the discussion about the static checking and dynamic checking.

By Sunil B

Mar 19, 2018

Awesome course for programmer's interested in learning programming idioms or otherwise interested in language design

By Stanislav K

Jul 07, 2017

It's hard not to see how much time and energy is spent on this course by the instructor and the team!

By Hristo I

Oct 25, 2020

Parenthesising expressions has never been more fun. And you get to implement your own Lisp dialect.

By Dario G

Nov 16, 2016

Lovely course! The treatment on closures was great, and I really enjoyed the programming exercise.

By Cheng H

Dec 16, 2018

the best online course I've ever taken! expecting more courses from Dan and Washington University