Chevron Left
Back to Programming Languages, Part B

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Languages, Part B by University of Washington

4.9
stars
689 ratings
156 reviews

About the Course

[As described below, this is Part B of a 3-part course. Participants should complete Part A first -- Part B "dives right in" and refers often to material from Part A.] This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module of Part A. Part B assumes successful completion of Part A. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top reviews

AZ

Mar 23, 2018

Great course with really interesting and challenging assignments that allow to get more precise vision on programming languages (especially on PL's typing systems) and get experience with modern LISP

VA

Mar 18, 2018

This course (as Part A and C) is great - Dan is great in teaching and the content is perfect for anyone who wants to learn more about programming languages!\n\nWarning - you might end up loving FP :)

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 155 Reviews for Programming Languages, Part B

By David X

Feb 3, 2021

The latter half of this course is much harder than the former, but there are still knowledge I can understand. Next step, Part C

By Kyle K

Jul 13, 2020

Awesome course, a lot of fun with really interesting exercises. The interpreter homework was both difficult and super rewarding.

By syoya

May 19, 2020

A good introduction to dynamically typed language. I really the discussion about the static checking and dynamic checking.

By Sunil B

Mar 19, 2018

Awesome course for programmer's interested in learning programming idioms or otherwise interested in language design

By Mike A

Apr 24, 2021

I've learned so much in doing this courses. I can not recommend them enough. Dan is a brilliant teacher too.

By Stanislav K

Jul 7, 2017

It's hard not to see how much time and energy is spent on this course by the instructor and the team!

By Khôi Đ M

Dec 12, 2021

Worth your time for gaining a deeper insight of programming language. So challenging and intriguing!

By Hristo I

Oct 25, 2020

Parenthesising expressions has never been more fun. And you get to implement your own Lisp dialect.

By Dario G

Nov 16, 2016

Lovely course! The treatment on closures was great, and I really enjoyed the programming exercise.

By Cheng H

Dec 16, 2018

the best online course I've ever taken! expecting more courses from Dan and Washington University

By Morton L

Mar 24, 2020

Great course to learn dynamic typed language, and implemented a interpreter on a small language.

By Suchith J N

Feb 2, 2017

The assignment is challenging. This course gives a very good idea of how an interpreter works.

By Jayadev H

Oct 16, 2019

Better than the first one has we get more into the theory which is super useful!:)

Thanks Dan!

By Oleksandr O

Sep 17, 2017

I really enjoy the course and like how Dan explains everything. Very thoroughly and clear!

By Pritesh S

Feb 26, 2021

Fairly tough assignments but a great course!!

Need more courses from Prof Dan Grossman.

By anton k

Jan 9, 2018

Very interesting and challenging course. One of the best courses on Cousera, for sure.

By lander

Sep 4, 2017

excellent! vey helpful for ungraduates and programmer! need time to understand truly.

By Yifeng M

Jul 13, 2017

One of the Best course I have ever taken. A great many of concrete examples. Thanks!

By Sonia R A

Aug 21, 2020

Great course, I have learned a lot. The assignments are challenging and rewarding.

By steve b

Apr 18, 2021

Solidified my understanding of many confusing topics, such as delayed evaluation.

By Ahmad H

Dec 21, 2021

Very hard and challenging, definitely worth it if you like to challenge yourself

By Cheng Z

Jun 3, 2017

It is great fun to learn Racket and use it to implement an interpreter for MUPL.

By Kevin Z

Aug 16, 2018

Amazing course!!! Excellent lecturer!! Really learn a lot of PL and Racket.

By Shreck Y

Jan 8, 2021

Excellent course that introduced me to the field of programming languages.

By Luis G

Dec 31, 2019

excellent. not much to add to what has already been said in other reviews.