Chevron Left
Back to Project Execution: Running the Project

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Project Execution: Running the Project by Google

4.8
stars
480 ratings
97 reviews

About the Course

This is the fourth course in the Google Project Management Certificate program. This course will delve into the execution and closing phases of the project life cycle. You will learn what aspects of a project to track and how to track them. You will also learn how to effectively manage and communicate changes, dependencies, and risks. As you explore quality management, you will learn how to measure customer satisfaction and implement continuous improvement and process improvement techniques. Next, you will examine how to prioritize data, how to use data to inform your decision-making, and how to effectively present that data. Then, you will strengthen your leadership skills as you study the stages of team development and how to manage team dynamics. After that, you will discover tools that provide effective project team communication, how to organize and facilitate meetings, and how to effectively communicate project status updates. Finally, you will examine the steps of the project closing process and how to create and share project closing documentation. Current Google project managers will continue to instruct and provide you with hands-on approaches for accomplishing these tasks while showing you the best project management tools and resources for the job at hand. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Identify what aspects of a project to track and compare different tracking methods. - Discuss how to effectively manage and communicate changes, dependencies, and risks. - Explain the key quality management concepts of quality standards, quality planning, quality assurance, and quality control. - Describe how to create continuous improvement and process improvement and how to measure customer satisfaction. - Explain the purpose of a retrospective and describe how to conduct one. - Demonstrate how to prioritize and analyze data and how to communicate a project’s data-informed story. - Identify tools that provide effective project team communication and explore best practices for communicating project status updates. - Describe the steps of the closing process for stakeholders, the project team, and project managers....

Top reviews

LR
Jun 27, 2021

Outstanding course!\n\nSummarizes several different skills to manage a team.\n\nIts real life approach goes much beyond the project management boundaries, can be useful to anyone!

RS
Apr 14, 2021

Of the 4 courses I've taken so far, this is the best for my own personal experience. However, the instructor videos are lengthy at times and she could slow down some times.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 108 Reviews for Project Execution: Running the Project

By Ricardo S

Apr 15, 2021

Of the 4 courses I've taken so far, this is the best for my own personal experience. However, the instructor videos are lengthy at times and she could slow down some times.

By Matt M

Mar 25, 2021

I've enjoyed all the other Google Project Management Certificate course but found this one to be very long winded and the assignments take longer than they should for the value received.

By Joshua A

Apr 26, 2021

all the relevant details of project management particularly as it relates to Project Execution are explored in this course.........................

By Job A

May 23, 2021

Good course. But a bit long . Can be broken into two with two different trainers to reduce fatigue and bring in new perspectives.

By ARAVINDAN P

Apr 14, 2021

The topics covered are so helpful. Learned how to close a project, how to write a email, project closeout report and so on.

By Ian G

Apr 3, 2021

Very clear and concise materials on project execution. This is geared to absolute beginners, so people with some experience may find this simplistic, but in practice, few people actually adhere to some of these best practices in a busy organization, so it serves as a nice review as well.

By Jerry C

May 8, 2021

Excellent course. There was so much to learn and the material was very well articulated. Thank you for sharing your knowledge.

By Edmond W

Apr 26, 2021

Great and amazing course! I would definitely recommend to people that want to pursue a role in Project Management.

By Anna B

Apr 20, 2021

Peers assignments are extremely frustrating. I cannot get anyone review my work and cannnot finish the course. Some of them really don't make any sense as they are too easy and obvious but take a lot of time to get the grade.

By Alex K

May 12, 2021

I found this fourth course particularly helpful when learning about the results from Google's research on teamwork and team dynamics. It was great to see the importance of psychological safety in team dynamics, especially nowadays, where this term is sometimes frowned upon by some leaders.

I would have appreciated more hands-on exercises considering how important the running and closing phases of a project are, but I also understand that creating theoretical exercises for these unpredictable phases can be challenging. I am hoping the capstone project will fulfill my desire for more hands-on experience!

I was also pleasantly surprised by the much-improved quality of peer-reviewed submissions, which confirms that less dedicated learners might have a hard time making it this far.

By Italo A M

Apr 12, 2021

The course is an excellent reminder about the importance of not only running a project but closing it. The exercises are well thought out and provide fundamental insight into how to communicate with stakeholders and project members. I would recommend it to anyone getting into project management and anyone wanting a refresh.

By JOSE A M A

Mar 21, 2021

It is a very practical and pragmatic course, since everything focuses on how to manage projects in the real world.

Excellent for those who want to learn to manage projects from the beginning.

An extra value is the benefit of accessing Google's knowledge in Project Management.

By Jasmine

Jun 19, 2021

AMAZING! The teaher in this course did an awesome job at explaining everything. She made me feel like I actually in a classroom. I also loved the fact she didnt leave us to read a million sheets of paper by ourselves she taught the lessons. I feel accomplished, thank you!

By Mubarek H

Jul 25, 2021

This course provides a great framework that can be used during the project execution and closeout phases of any project. Project managers in any industry can use the notes and examples from this course as a cheatsheet as they navigate through their projects.

By Satchin S

May 26, 2021

Such a detailed course. Just like in many other things, Google has hit the nail right on the head! Loved it. I wish there were a little more practice work on the project management tools and software. Apart from that, it was way above my expectation!

By Faith B

Jul 6, 2021

Elita (Senior Engineering Program Manager) does an excellent job explaining terms and teaching needed skills to execute a project. Filled with practical applications and illustrations. She uses modalities that apply to a variety of learning styles.

By Yanina R

Jul 10, 2021

The course is very helpful in understanding how to run a project from start to finish. The prepared material, video, and tasks are very useful and exciting. I am very glad that I took this course as part of a professional certification.

By Dmitry B

Mar 24, 2021

The course offers a great framework for running cross-functional projects at various scales. It's rather an overview than a deep dive. It is good for exploring relevant topics, but you need to look for details elsewhere.

By Jiljo J

Jul 10, 2021

It was really a great learning on execution part. Especially the process for closing and impact reporting was really a eyeopener. Really thankful to the team and Elita for delivering such a wonderful learning experience

By Luiz G R

Jun 28, 2021

Outstanding course!

Summarizes several different skills to manage a team.

Its real life approach goes much beyond the project management boundaries, can be useful to anyone!

By kristiina g

Jul 22, 2021

I learned so much! Even though it was a ton of information it was easy to understand and visualize. Loved the lectures and the resources-

By Diego R

Jun 18, 2021

Excelente curso, completa las expectativas y permite tener un completo panorama como para luego de finalizado profundizar con otros cursos.

By Shradha M G

Jul 22, 2021

The elements of the topic explained through detailed project plant pals was quite helpful! Great work by the team who created the courses.

By Somasekhar Y

Jun 7, 2021

The course was very thought provoking and gave us a lot of things to think over.. It was one of the tough courses to complete!

By YURI M D S

Jul 9, 2021

Great course,

The instructor is an amazing person, the videos were very precise, lots of readings, quizzes and activities.