Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
19,363 ratings
4,373 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK

May 10, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

SI

Mar 16, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filter by:

3151 - 3175 of 4,311 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Vipul S

Jun 19, 2018

A good starting point, but as it is explicitly mentioned it doesn't teach much math for stats but overall pretty good.

By Corinne

Jan 15, 2018

Very good assignments and good overview of many different topics. Videos are well made and I'd like to listen to them.

By aathira s

May 19, 2020

I have moderate base in python and had very less idea on dataframe . This course helped me learn a lot of new topics.

By Rocio B H

May 01, 2020

Great course!! Programming in python with data other than numbers. It was a challenge for me, but I really liked it.

By Солохов Т Д

Apr 21, 2020

There was a lack of practical excercises after every video. I would better prefer more smaller tasks during the week.

By Paras J

Jun 03, 2019

Most assignments required individual learning. Not much was covered in the lectures. I relied on the book I'm having.

By Mateusz M

Sep 25, 2018

The course is going pretty fast through the most important libraries. Make sure you understand python and statistics.

By Jaymin J

May 04, 2018

great class to start journey to python data science. the exercise can be more clearly defined but, discussion helped.

By Theodor B

Nov 02, 2018

It needs more examples of how things are done, so that all new key concepts are grasped before leaving for the next.

By Geoff H

Sep 28, 2018

Good info and subject matter. Be prepared to spend a fair mount of time coming up with ways to practice on your own.

By Alejandro M S

Apr 02, 2018

Assignements could be explained better (Maybe i'm not english native speaker), but i learnded a lot withnthis course

By Yair Y P V

Jun 29, 2020

Buen curso, las actividades son mas difíciles de lo enseñado en clase pero sirven para mejorar el conocimiento base

By Carlos A V T

Jun 06, 2020

Great course, the exercises are a little bit confusing, but you need to read the forum to get the right directions.

By Ahmed H

May 24, 2020

Great course really, and a great Tutor. I just I feel emphasizing more about certain subjects would've been better.

By Ian B

Mar 08, 2020

I would give 5 stars if the developers update to the latest version of pandas. It was a bit annoying to use 0.19.2

By Yunhao Z

Jul 19, 2017

Very good course to learn data analysis with Python. The programming work is a bit challenging for Python starter.

By Dmitry G

Nov 16, 2016

Pace of lectures is rather fast and doesn't fit to homework level (which is much harder). But overall course is OK

By Ekun K

Jun 17, 2020

This was a very tasking yet interesting course for me. I loved the challenges, follow up quizzes and assignments.

By Saori Y

May 17, 2020

The course was good! However, assignment auto grade sometimes does not work because of python version difference.

By Luke F

May 09, 2020

autograder can be tough and a little unforgiving, but I understand the difficulties. Course pretty good over all

By MAMADOU O L

Feb 02, 2020

It was a great experience, i leaned a lot, but some questions were a little bit confusing,try to fix that please.

By koalaahana

Sep 09, 2019

great lecture, try to deliver lots of information in 4 courses. would be helpful too have more hands on practices

By Raulindo S S N

Jun 22, 2020

It is indeed a great course for those who already have some programming skills. The instructors are really good.

By MAHENDRANATH V K

May 30, 2020

The explanation of the code written and methods could have been much more elaborate for understanding it better.

By alain m

Jan 29, 2018

Un cours intéressant avec des exercices (assignements) plutôt complexes parce que peu guidés. Un vrai challenge.