Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Introduction to Data Science in Python, University of Michigan

4.5
9,632 ratings
2,328 reviews

About this Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

By SI

Mar 16, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

By AU

Dec 10, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

Filter by:

2,262 Reviews

By Michael Paul Rich

Mar 21, 2019

Good course overall, but more material is required to be learned outside of this class for the required assignments than what is actually taught in the class by a very wide margin

By Willber da Silva Nascimento

Mar 21, 2019

Great Course!! You learn alot about Python for data analytics. It is very hard for someone that is beginning to programming. But there are a lot of recourses on internet that can help you. I recomend this course for all that need learning data manipulation with python.

By Ankur singh

Mar 21, 2019

This was the best ever course I have done till date with lots of hands-on. Assignment question are excellent. I have performed analytics with real time data it was really like some kind of project experience !!!

By Abhishesh Regmi

Mar 20, 2019

Excellent Course!

By Aaron Basch

Mar 20, 2019

Really appreciate this course. Got me started in Python, Pandas, and Jupyter. First week felt like magic. I am giving it a low score because the assignment questions were so ambiguous that it required constant resubmits an scouring the forums. The ratio of learning of course content to required Stack Overflow internet research was way off balance.

I learned a lot but was extremely frustrated and burned a lot of time it what I felt was all the wrong places.

Still grateful for this opportunity. I think the questions can be better explained and tightened up.

By Xiaoke Liu

Mar 19, 2019

I have to say, the quality of this course is significantly inferior than the previous "Programming to everybody" . Firstly, it has something to do with the language that the lecturer uses to explain the concepts in Python. The language he uses is unnecessarily complicated. The sentences are very long and the words he uses are vague . If you want to explain a relatively complex concept, you need to use simpler and more comprehensible words. You cannot use a complex concept to explain another complex concept. The second thing is about the structure of the course, the insufficient engagement. The lecture is full of contents but only with very less interaction exercises. This will make students lost in the half way. I have to say this is not a pleasant experience even if I'm already very familiar to some other programming languages such as R and C++.

By Fadhel Adlansyah

Mar 18, 2019

Brief and well-structured material as expected from university class. Self-exploration is a must.

By Anubhab De

Mar 18, 2019

A great course, really !

By Alan Tsui

Mar 18, 2019

Teaching is great.

Questions are too ambiguous sometimes I do not know what is the requirements of the answers.

Anyway, I still learned lots from here.

By Thomas Korejsza

Mar 17, 2019

Extremely dissatisfied. Lectures are useless and the instructor didn't put any effort into designing a curriculum. After struggling for days on the second assignment I purchased the recommended text for the class. Week 2 effectively starts at chapter 7 in the book. Instructor needs to replace his absurd amount of face time some slides showing the application and logic behind the methods he is trying to use. Jupiter notebook is a tool designed to make the instructors job easier, doesn't help the student at all. I could go on but this course has drained the energy from me. FYI, half the people that complete (or attempt to to complete) this course don't continue on with the specialization. This should speak volumes.