Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
26,928 ratings

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

HC

May 3, 2018

It's very useful specially for new learner because it only dives into the part of python that data science need. I strongly recommend to anyone even if you don't have experience in programming before.

YH

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 5,921 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Florian M

Feb 3, 2019

I did this course as a 2nd year CS student with limited exposure to Python before the course. I had a basic understanding of syntax and knew basic structures like Dicts., Lists, Tuples. It took me 30h to fully complete the course - I did it in 2 weeks. I would recommend the book 'Python for Data Analysis 2nd' as supplementary literature. The course material is very very limited, which is by no means a bad thing. It just requires you to find answers by yourself. I really enjoyed it personally and would recommend this course for anyone who is interested in Data Science! Just make sure you know your Python basics beforehand.

By zqin

Mar 26, 2019

Honestly, I didn't want to rate the 5 star while I was learning the course, because the assignments of this course was challenging and the course videos didn't talk too much about the coursework. But after I finished the course, I found I have already learned almost all of the knowledge of the book "Python for Data Analysis" by Wes McKinney, which is also the recommended book in the course. And I can do data analysis work with python right now. You might think why do I have to register a course and then learn by myself, but what if this is a good chance to push you out of the comfort zone?

By gaurav s

Jun 1, 2022

Awesome course for starting the journey with Data Science. It covers Regex, Numpy and Pandas in great detail.

Weekly assignments are so good that you dont even need extra practice as part of learning. These assignments will make sure you are well acquainted with frequently used things in Data cleaning /manipulation. Must do course for every person who wants to start the journey with Data Science. This course was suggested by my friend, who did this and other 4 courses as part of Applied Data Science course and was able to switch from being Mechanical Engineer to a Data Scientist.

By Mohammadmoein T

Nov 6, 2020

This was indeed an amazing introduction to Data Science. I should accept that I found the assignments kind of challenging and had to spend lots of time on some of them, but that would only make you learn more. Also, a proper background with Python is required for this course. Make sure you have enough background with Python Data Structures. If not, I'd recommend the following course first:

Python Data Structures - Charles severance

Good luck on your journey!

By Sourav S

Jun 4, 2019

The quality of the assignments is really good but the instructions for assignments is really poor.

I had to do read through the discussions to solve almost each and every problem. The assignments are really time consuming and challenging.

Also, I had to refer to stackoverflow for countless number of times to derive the logic.

The instructor has only touched upon the material but additional videos should be included by the TAs for the assignments.

Thanks,

Sourav

By Jens L

Aug 12, 2018

Excellent learning materials. Clear concise explanations, but with the focus and majority of time devoted to activity-based learning: exploring the docs, practicing skills, and developing solution code. Even better is how subsequent lessons not only build on previous skills, they actually help guide and refine approaches even further. Well orchestrated progression of zone of proximal development. Thanks for a great learning experience!

By Hamdy M E T

Mar 16, 2020

Great Course and Awesome Instructor. The course is very practical and hands-on. All assignments starts with messy data and leave it up to you to start cleaning and manipulating the data with some modeling objective in mind which is what a real data scientist typically do. Thanks for the course , it was a really cool experience ! I really enjoyed the course and it was a bit challenging sometimes!

By Oluwapelumi S

Aug 5, 2020

This course is really wonderful and tasking. You'll get to know the core foundations of Data Science and useful libraries Data Scientists use to manipulate data. The assignments are very thorough and deep. Many thanks also to all the teaching assistants who were available to help, especially to Sophie Greene and also to Yusuf Ertas. I look forward to completing the specialization!

By YIJUN F (

Mar 8, 2021

Overall the course is great for people who want to begin with data science. The skills it incorporate are very useful. The only thing to improve is that we could be given more hints when doing assignments. Sometimes we are not familiar with what can be done with Pandas, so it took a lot of googling to complete the assignment.

By Donald W

May 26, 2022

Excellent course, even if you have taken other Python courses or if you use Python regularly. This course provided a good introduction to many ways you will use Python in real-world applications. The assignments were challenging enough and some required research on your own, which is exactly what you do with real problems.

By Robert G

Jun 2, 2022

Very interesting and hands-on course. Especially with the assignments not being timed and instead being allowed to google, but the assignments still being appropriately hard. The assignments promote problem-solving on the fly and finding the help you need on stackoverflow, google, etc.

By Sean C

Jul 29, 2019

This course is excellent if you're looking to learn how to use Pandas inside Jupyter Notebooks. Assignments are autograded and feedback can be received immediately. Course is a few years old and discussion forums contain answers to common questions

By Francis J A

Oct 24, 2020

Great introduction to applied data science. The weekly assignments are challenging and varied, and students are required some independent studying outside of the lessons. The forums are also quite helpful in approaching the assignments.

By sisi L

Oct 23, 2023

I'd say it is a very robust course for pandas intro, particularly the coding assignments are excellent! I consider this my stepping stone to becoming a competitive data scientist. Michigan's courses are always of high-quality.

By Swapnil S

Jul 12, 2022

Really impressed by the material and quality of instructions to teach this complex topic. I felt the assignments were appropriately challenging to apply concepts taught in the lecture. Well done and thank you!

By Cihan Ö B

Feb 7, 2023

The assessments, quizzes, and course coverage are quite good. The main points are covered, although it does not cover everything. Additionally, it provides opportunities to learn and conduct research.

By Carla F

Jun 18, 2020

Um curso intenso e bastante prazeroso. Gostei de todas as etapas, os videos funcionam bem e estão construidos numa base introdutória, mas o desafio é pesquisar e pesquisar. Muito interessante mesmo!

By Pravesh G

Mar 2, 2020

the course is designed very well. It covers data manipulation topics very well. It has excellent assignments which help in understanding the course concepts more better

By Ofir R

Jul 25, 2019

Frankly, I did not watch the lessons at all, although they seem good.

The assignments were really great !

Challenging and very rewarding.

Really recommend the course !

By Mengru Z

Mar 15, 2021

Very interesting course to guide you through from the basics of pandas. Teaching staff is of great help throughout the learning process, with speedy replies.

By Pavan A

Sep 28, 2020

Great course that teaches about how to process data in Python. The lectures are very code-based and the programming assignments help you learn new methods.

By Krishna M

May 12, 2019

Excellent course with assignments, But some elaborated videos on topics could help much better in solving the assignments in time.

By aborucu

Apr 20, 2021

Prof Brooks, Yusuf and Jimi have worked out engaging but also demanding applied course on the subject. Thank you very much

By Teck F

Feb 24, 2021

Discussion forums are very useful. Exam questions are challenging for beginners but doable. Good teaching.

By J D

Jul 15, 2022

Great course, but expect to really work. The assignments force you to get a good grasp of the material.