Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
22,507 ratings
5,044 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK

May 10, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

SI

Mar 16, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filter by:

4426 - 4450 of 4,966 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Kalle A

Jan 03, 2018

I enjoyed the course, but I think the exercises could be improved a bit. Especially in the last two ones could have better explanations and examples of what's expected from the answer.

By wilfried l

Dec 27, 2019

You will learn a lot, by yourself to solve the assignment.

Which could be see as a good way to learn

Time to do each assignment is clearly under estimated. You can multiply by 2 easily

By Juan C M

Jul 04, 2020

Too much self-learning taking into account that this is supposed to be a course, could make example projects for better understanding instead of jumping right away to the assignment.

By Itzhak K

Nov 05, 2019

The course was fine, but the last assignment was too hard for me. And I think that for Introduction to data science - the first course in the series it shouldn't be so complicated.

By Rhishikesh J

Mar 29, 2018

Amazing course for an introduction to the pandas library and its main data structures Series and DataFrame.

Improvements could be made to the hypothesis testing section of the course.

By Aarya B

Sep 15, 2019

Great explanation. But the speed of tutor is quite fast, so one needs to rewatch again and again. And for better understanding one has to practice questions from external resources.

By Fei Y

Oct 28, 2018

You should break assignment into smaller substeps. You should also provide more comments like 'your dataframe size is incorrect or starting from which line you result has error'.

By Lucas S D S

Jun 16, 2020

It's a really challenging course for someone with an intermediate level of Python and pandas, I really enjoyed . The only minor point is the quality of the theory on the videos.

By Paolo V P

Sep 14, 2019

Requires some knowledge of the topics covered, otherwise the lessons are hard to follow.

More examples should be given for each topic, to consolidate the student's understanding.

By Rajat S

Sep 12, 2018

GREAT assignments, average-ish course instruction. Would recommend just for the assignments, great way to get your hands dirty with data manipulation work in python using pandas

By Joanne L

Feb 24, 2019

Prior coding experience would definitely make this course easier to pick up. A lot of the learning i found isn't driven from the videos itself but from just constant googling.

By emmanuel H

Aug 15, 2019

The video of this course are good. Assessment questions and the expected format of data need to be clarified so that we really understand what is expected to pass the course.

By Navaneet K A

May 29, 2019

The accent of the instructor was too fast, which made the content incomprehensible. The course unfolded very rapidly, giving little room for beginners to understand on spot

By Anastasiia P

Jul 18, 2020

I think, that the structure of the lectures made it difficult to concentrate on the material, but the assignments were very good and I have learned a lot while doing them.

By Apurva

Jan 18, 2018

First three modules are great but in the last module (Week 4) Prof Brooks is rushing through many topics. Probably consider having lesser content with proper explanation.

By Estapraq M K

Jan 07, 2018

The instructor doesn't explain that much, he could do better than that. It is an independent study. The only thing I enjoyed was the links and the articles, that was all.

By Micah D

May 02, 2018

Course has a great amount of information that is wonderful, but the instructional videos are less and less helpful as time goes on, and the autograder is the devil.

By Vishwakarthik R

Jul 29, 2017

The course content was good but the assignments were way too tough.The assignments should have been a bit easier because i lost interest due to the tough questions.

By Jan K

Jul 15, 2017

The programming assignments were a little frustrating.

I feel a little more time should be spent on the theory behind pandas and how the library works conceptually.

By Hong_Linshuo

Jul 09, 2019

I think the assignments waste too much of my time since I have no problems using proper programming skills, but have lots of problems catering to the auto grader.

By Taras P

Dec 10, 2016

Top free course about Data Science. But I think lectures must be more detailed and related to assignments. And assignments could be less ambiguous and more clear.

By Manuela D

Jan 03, 2018

Some exercises of the assignments where ways to difficult compared to what learned during lectures: much more details should be provided about data manipulation

By PRACHUR G

Apr 27, 2020

the course is really good but there are issues with autograder. Though they are addressed in forums you'll have to go through them and hence wasting your time.

By Chan W Y J

Jan 24, 2018

You'll spend more time struggling with the jupyter notebook (assignment platform) than actually writing or learning code. The lectures are really good, though.

By Yan X

Nov 04, 2019

Great content. But some assignment questions are not that clear and might cost you more time than its worth. And feedback from mentor is not that responsive.