Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
34,141 ratings
6,108 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 19, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB

Jun 07, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

5026 - 5050 of 5,972 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Mauricio C G

Dec 13, 2016

Immense gratitude for Dr.Chuck and his team for this great job. This kind of virtual programs can bring knowledge to more population and overcome the educational barrier.

By Ronald W

Jul 12, 2020

Still very good content but it's getting a bit tough for beginners like me and also I get confused about the relationships among different concepts, like http, xml, json

By Robert F

Apr 23, 2020

Good course. A lot of background info that could be cut down but good for context. XML and JSON videos and assignments were very challenging but great to work through.

By nianlong

Oct 23, 2017

ompare the first two courses this one is a little bit harder, and not so friendly to a fresher. There are still lots of things need to be learnt about spidering the web.

By Damian C

Dec 06, 2019

I took this course as part of the specialization, and I am glad I did. Great course, I hope It will help me in the near future, when I feel comfortable changing career.

By Jerry S

Apr 10, 2017

The course material is great, but the assignment is too simple, especially the last(You don't need to write any codes). I think the assignments can be more challenging.

By Saurabh V T

Apr 29, 2020

I really enjoyed the the assignment. It was challenging and worth doing it. I am sure kind of knowledge which i gain by solving the assignment is worth time spending.

By Joost P M

May 05, 2020

really liked the lectures and the assignments. Only negative feedback is around installing beautiful soup, what was not working because of the type of bash terminal.

By Kevin C

Sep 26, 2019

Great course, however skimmed over some key topics that are pretty fundamental to understanding not just the Python but the context of Python in web data extraction.

By Lucheng Q

Aug 30, 2018

getting harder and harder but interesting because it gives chance for me to communicate with the actual application in the daily life. Great start accessing the web!

By Michael T

Feb 08, 2017

Very good course showing how to interact with the internet. Assignments could have been a little more taxing but on the whole it gives a flavour of what is possible.

By LINKAIJIE

Aug 06, 2020

it would better to teach the concept of api_key. The overall training is good, but i am just confused about how to implement the api_key in real scenario. Thanks ;D

By Shouwen

Aug 23, 2019

It's a little bit more difficult than the former two courses, of course, it's a great course but I think it could be better it there are more details for beginners

By Abhishek G

Nov 18, 2018

assignments are actually challenging. pls it a request that give more assignments that are challenging and makes our concept strong .. hope u guys consider it ..

By Abhinav R

Mar 28, 2018

Python with real life application or gist of i, enough to get started is what will you learn in this course. Definitely recommended. Thank You Charles Serverance.

By Charles S

Nov 24, 2017

Really understandable and clear, and always enjoyable. I felt like at this point we were covering a lot of ground and could use additional programming exercises.

By Rashmi R

Apr 20, 2020

I had to resubmit 3 of the assignments though I had already submitted the right one before and it also displayed that my answer was correct. Please fix this bug.

By Himali B

Dec 18, 2017

This course is very good to understand power of python to fetch the data from web. It helped me to write efficient code to web scrap and parse the required data.

By Mahesh S

Oct 06, 2016

The lectures are very good. I would recommend that more examples be added in the book. This will help students solve problems and understand the concepts better.

By Kristers

Aug 09, 2016

I would say a very good introduction to the topic.

Would be nice if maybe in the future you would add some more advanced excersises ( just to gain more practice)

By Hriday M

Dec 17, 2018

As always Professor Severance was amazing. However, I wish he'd covered API's in more detail as i still don't quite understand what exactly is happening in them

By Aditya S

May 25, 2020

The course is great, I just wish the assignments could've been a bit tough and explanation of the concepts and the code could've been a bit more comprehensive.

By Philipp B

Dec 05, 2015

Very good course, I would like to have seen some more challenging assignment. Other than that, very stimulating and learned a lot about web protocols and data.

By Allen B V

Feb 04, 2019

I recommend this course to every student who wants to learn python.

Its a great course and the instructor helps in making the course more interesting to learn.

By Cian D

Jun 09, 2020

Overall pretty good, some of the last assignments have misleading, false, or information not addressed in the lectures that make them unnecessarily difficult