Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
36,580 ratings
6,566 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 19, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB

Jun 07, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

5451 - 5475 of 6,426 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Anmol G

Jan 16, 2016

It was Ok! The preofessor has a good style of teaching, but the depth of material could have been better and the assignments more challenging.

By Alison T

Dec 24, 2015

overall covered a lot of interesting material - hope to see more classes that dive deeper into webscraping and not just getting at the basics

By Akshaya V

Oct 11, 2019

XML was too tough. More time should have been spent to explain how to parse data and use it through xml.Otherwise this course was AWESOME!!!

By Sagar S

Feb 03, 2016

All these courses really need to be updated to Python 3. There is no advantage in sticking to Python 2 anymore with Python4 on the horizon

By Sylvie

May 24, 2020

The professor's explanations in this course were a bit less detailed than in the first two courses, but overal the course was really good!

By ofek m

Jan 21, 2020

In the sixth week, it felt like they skimmed over the harder material and took me a while to understand. other that that it was very good.

By Brett S

Feb 19, 2019

Dr Chuck is great. There seemed to be a pretty big leap from the examples and the assignments though. Thoroughly enjoyed the class though.

By Tal L

Apr 23, 2018

This course was also good but I did not enjoy it as the previous ones- guess that the accessing web data issues were not as interesting...

By John S

Aug 12, 2016

Really nice course. Help was available when I needed it, however I think some of the integration of urllib needed to be better elaborated.

By David M

Feb 28, 2016

Some typos in the assignments, but otherwise very straightforward course with good information. -1 star for not having python 3 "support."

By Juan D B F

Jul 07, 2020

Overall is a great introduction for access data, perhaps, it has some empty instructions due to the lack of explanation of some contents.

By Subhradip D

Jun 02, 2020

I'm a big fan of Dr. Chuck, and its a great course. I just felt that the XML, JSON, and the API portions could be discussed a little more

By shivam t

Jun 29, 2019

best course of acessing the web data .he is telling the things in such a sinple manner that everyone can understand.thank you so much sir

By Ajinkya M

Jul 14, 2017

Real nice course information. It is a very good course for introductory purpose. Will love to see a more advance version of this course.

By Yagya R J

Mar 01, 2016

Excellent.

But sad part is there are not many exercises and exams. Problem are some how simpler(!) not different from done in examples.

By VAIBHAV B

Jun 21, 2020

great course

twitter part was confusing, it required rigorous permissions from twitter online apps, therefore more insight was required.

By PATIL S M

May 22, 2020

Excellent instructor. He explains the code and concept very clearly. If the course had more coding exercises it would have been amazing

By rachaphon s

Feb 24, 2019

Very nice course. one thing this course can add is the practical example from actual web scraping such as basketball score, stock data.

By 杨言若

Sep 27, 2016

I like the teaching-style of the professor.It's very insteresting.

Btw,if more the example for accessing web Date, maybe more pratical.

By Luis A S R

Jun 21, 2020

El curso en general bien , pero deberia ser revisado y actualizado, en especial los trabajos ya que en ocaciones pueden ser confusos.

By Scott D

Oct 19, 2017

Dr Chuck always does a great job of feeling like you're in a real class, real teacher. I thought the content of the course was good.

By Vedang N

Apr 11, 2020

Wonderful course which touched upon many things. It can be more intensive for an in depth explanation. Amazing course nonetheless!

By Hiral K

Jul 21, 2020

The course needs more practice explained problems. Suddenly, the level of the course went too high. But, thank you for the course

By Ciro C

May 28, 2020

Well balanced introduction to web data retrieving, sound coding examples and usual clarity in background explanation by Dr. Chuck

By JISHNU N

Dec 30, 2018

It was an amazing experience . And I enjoyed the course very much. It was very understanding and useful for me. Thank you for it.