Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
37,422 ratings
6,729 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 19, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB

Jun 07, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

5626 - 5650 of 6,591 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Likhith N K

Jun 03, 2020

Good course for beginners ,excellent explanation of assignments if find any difficulty in deciphering ,excellent instructor

By devashish_07

Jun 10, 2020

Course is really goood but staff in the discussion forum is really pathetic.Answers to the questions are really senseless.

By BODDU V S G

Jan 09, 2020

Great course in the python series.Got introduced about API and how to use it in the development of real world applications

By Cindy M

Nov 05, 2018

It was a good intro to the subject but could have used more depth in how the functions for accessing APIs actually worked.

By 朱强

Dec 27, 2016

There are an interesting course, great teachers, wonderful students and l will keep on learning other courses. Thank you !

By Yifei L

Nov 12, 2015

Content is good, with clear explanation.

The programming assignment could be improved by adding more challenging questions.

By Ritesh

Jun 16, 2020

Felt that the course could be more informative with some more concepts and could also incorporate a project kind of thing

By Youcheng L

May 23, 2018

The video is too easy while assignments are more difficult. Maybe we need more instruction in order to learn efficiently.

By Ahmed M S

Feb 01, 2018

this is amazing ,it will help me to my study

but I don't understand the last part (about API)

the system is really awesome

By William R

Dec 01, 2016

Could have used more graded homework problems. I understand the foundations, but could have used some more solidification

By diddier a h b

Dec 21, 2015

Good course, I think Charles should avoid explaining the code so in detail sometimes that makes the course pace very slow

By Patil J S

May 08, 2020

Easy explanations.., but just a little bit over-knowledged assignments.

Anyways., It was a fantastic journey..I loved it.

By Frank B D R

May 07, 2019

I wish I would have learned more of XML and JSON but the course was great for basics of working with Python and Web Data

By Murali K

Jul 10, 2020

It's good!. This is one of my Python for Everybody Specialization course. XML, JSON, Google API's concepts are helpful.

By RAVISHANKAR V

Mar 03, 2020

Gave some idea about How Python is well versed for many such fields and got some idea about the Networking,Json,Xml etc

By Saikat M

Dec 20, 2015

Its a nice course. To the point assignments(could have been tougher !). Lucid explanation. Please go ahead and take it.

By Md. J I

May 18, 2020

it is little bit tough than before but if you learn this course then you can do something in real life. happy coding:)

By Joe M

May 16, 2020

Compared to first two courses, this is a bit difficult one. But with patience and persistence, one can go through it.

By Noel A

Oct 22, 2018

I would have liked to be given more challenging assignments, or a final project that involves a real-world application

By Robert P

Feb 16, 2018

Well designed course that iterated through some of the major ways to access web data. I enjoyed it and learned a lot.

By BoSung K

Dec 16, 2016

Easy to follow, teach some basic skills and background information

This course is helpful for beginners, not for majors

By Archana K R

Dec 23, 2019

Professor Chuck's teaching is top-notch but the quality of the assignments were not as good as the previous 2 courses

By Frederik K G

Sep 21, 2019

Some confusing info in the last part. Lots of information on stuff like REST, which could have been explained better.

By Shivraj R

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent course. So much knowledge packed in a single course! Thank you Coursera and Dr. Chuck for putting this up.

By Meha D

Jun 21, 2020

The course was nice. But XML was kind of difficult, would be better if somehow there were more programs as examples.