Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Interact with the Operating System by Google

4.7
stars
5,392 ratings

About the Course

By the end of this course, you’ll be able to manipulate files and processes on your computer’s operating system. You’ll also have learned about regular expressions -- a very powerful tool for processing text files -- and you’ll get practice using the Linux command line on a virtual machine. And, this might feel like a stretch right now, but you’ll also write a program that processes a bunch of errors in an actual log file and then generates a summary file. That’s a super useful skill for IT Specialists to know. We’ll kick off by exploring how to execute Python locally, and organize and use code across different Python files. We'll then learn how to read and write different types of files, and use subprocesses and input streams. We'll also dive into Bash scripting and regular expressions -- both very powerful tools for anyone working with systems. We'll even touch on automatic testing, which allow us to automate how we check if our code is correct. To finish, we’ll put all this together by using the tools that we’ve acquired to process data and generate automatic reports. We’ll also explain how to set up your own developer environment in your machine. This is a key step in being able to write and deploy powerful automation tools....

Top reviews

GG

Oct 6, 2022

Expalined the concepts missed from the previous course a lot well. Only thing I would change is to add more about using commands in windows and other platforms as well. Overall it was a great course!

AD

Jun 15, 2020

In starting five weeks , all answers were directly provided and week 6 and 7 were very tough. So i suggest to equalize the toughness level in all weeks ,ie, no direct spoon feed nor abrupt toughness

Filter by:

1001 - 1025 of 1,278 Reviews for Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

By Dan W

Nov 4, 2021

Generally worth doing, good subject matter, fairly useful examples etc.

Grading / project marking tool is really pedantic and doesn't have useful feedback which can be frustrating (you have to figure out problems via trial and error) but overall pretty well put together course.

I find the lecturer "You're doing great! Wow! Have a gold star" bs pretty annoying and pointless but you can always fast forward.

By Solokhin M D

Aug 10, 2020

Firstly, this course has given me an intermidiate knowledge on using python to interact with the operating system. Nevertheless, this course is Linux-oriented (so be ready to spend some time trying these concepts on your own Windows/MacOS machine). Plus, final assignments in Qwiklabs were a little bit tricky...

Anyway, I'm happy for taking this course and eager to continue my journey in the IT world:)

By Abhay S P

Jul 12, 2020

This course was really nice, and definitely cleared some of the major key concepts of automation. It was very exciting to solve the questions given here and instructor was also very clear and and the concepts were clear too. Now, they could have added a few more topics for which they shared cheat-sheet for and also qwiklabs sometimes gets really laggy. Other than that, this course is awesom

By Vidal T

Jun 21, 2022

Very practical and useful course, it includes many real application examples. The instructor is great and very easy to follow, he speaks clearly and goes directly to the point. The only thing that i think can be improved are the first 5 labs, i think it will be better to not provide the whole answer to the challenges so that more effort can be put into getting the solution.

By Yash A C

Jul 17, 2020

I learnt a lot of concepts through this course right from operating system concepts to bash scripting. It was challenging, but fun overall. The first couple of weeks were tough and I had to review the videos several times. The only thing I didn't like was that the cheat sheet as the end of the topics were of no use and could have been better. Other than that, great course!

By Chamath

Nov 24, 2020

In order to follow this course I needed to use the Linux terminal. Since I was using windows, I installed the Oracle VM VirtualBox and ran Ubuntu virtually. I think it will help you to follow the course easily with the instructor. The forums were helpful. The instructor explained everything clearly. The short and concise videos were good. The forum was really helpful.

By Philippe M

Aug 17, 2022

I thought the videos, practice quizzes, and Jupyter notebooks were excellent.

I found the graded assignments using Qwiklabs to be poor. Either you had nothing to do and were simply copy and pasting lines of code, or you had things to do, but the instructions were often unclear and covered certain concepts not discussed during the course.

By Joseph A L

Feb 21, 2021

This course is challenging but more realistic than most people recognize. Expect to spend at least double the time on the assigments. Use the forums for help. There are some really talented people taking these classes. I learned how to install a vm machine in the class! Recommend getting a Linux laptop if you can.

By sivathmika v

Jul 11, 2020

Wow this would a super excited course for beginners who would like to learn some keen topics like regular expressions , bash scripting and some other cool stuff like this and the course is quite knowledgeable and goes on a low base so it is easy to understand . Thanks for keeping up with such awesome courses .

By Andrew S

Feb 9, 2020

Last lab required a lot of typing to do the initial bash and python commands. You also had to type a 20 member list of names and emails. The Putty terminal won't allow you to cut and paste, so you have to do this work each time, then type and debug a 60 line piece of code. Long, ambiguous, lots of typing.

By Grigoriy S

Jul 10, 2021

Very good course, I definitely learned a lot of new things going through the course. Some of the examples were way too basic, but a lot of things really made you research topics further to figure things out, especially the Regex sections. Can't wait to continue the path to see the rest of these courses!

By A.J. O

May 24, 2020

The only issue I had with this course was the final. I was put in a lab that was running Python 3.5 instead of what is being taught throughout the course, python 3.7. This wouldn't have been a big deal had it been explicitly stated but it made accessing my regex groups impossible by using the 3.7 syntax.

By Luis B

Nov 1, 2021

The course is great. I think that some more information should be given for the non Linux people, mainly for the final lab. In it you ask to start a web browser, and I couldn't. I went out of the lab and search for it, found some ways but didn't work in the lab. So I couldn't see my files on the web.

By Linda C

May 22, 2020

Great material, clearly presented. Ran into some dumb problems with the labs, like the autograder wouldn't accept whitespace in the code but the Chat agents tried hard to help. They even followed up and emailed me that the autograder would be fixed to look at output instead of script code. Nice!

By Jane O W

Jun 26, 2020

The course material is valuable. Some of the quizzes and graded labs have flaws that need to be corrected. The tech support people thru chat at Qwiklabs are excellent. They are very responsive and fix problems with labs quickly. They are the go to people from problems with graded assignments.

By Jerome S

Feb 14, 2023

This course is good but be aware that it is a major step up from the last one. If you like a challenge then this one is for you. RegEx is a major component of this course so if you don't have experience with it, then getting a basic understanding before the course will greatly help too.

By Chirag I P

Jun 19, 2020

I have learnt what the course indented to, but the assessment was smooth. I had problems with two assessment's and wasted way too much time on it. The worst part about that was that the problem was with the mode of assessment and not the code itself. So please change it!

By Michael D

Apr 8, 2020

Informative and smoothly-presented course! The subject matter can be a little dry and dense, but it keeps moving along and covers a wide base of important information. The Qwiklabs, however, need to be cleaned up a bit as they have a few errors and can be cumbersome.

By Graeme A

Apr 3, 2020

Much of the early part of the course seemed to be very simply following instructions without knowing whether we were necessarily understanding much, but the final two modules really tested what we've learned and gave a real sense of accomplishment once it all worked!

By Dũng Đ

Aug 25, 2022

Overall the course is good, but the qwiklab assessment is quite bad. In qwiklabs my code run but when i verify my code it failed, i tried some ways and fixed it, so I think they should put requirements in each lab, so people can write code according to it

By FuSioN

Jul 22, 2022

The Course is really helpful and informative, a bit of suggestion here that please add more practice assignments and exercises to workout the skills better as most of the graded assessment had almost 80% of the work done, so that seemed like spoon feeding.

By Spiffykat 4

Aug 9, 2021

Great class and solid work. If there was room for more I would recommend a few more examples with classes and to bring more PEP-8 to light instead of its subtle mentions through other resources.

However, you will achieve the basics as it was designed.

By Angela Y

Apr 22, 2020

i would like to say thank you for providing this opportunity to learn things in a convenient and pleasant way. There are tons of information to digest. With hands-on practice through lab and quiz, the journey becomes very awarding and encourage.

By Claudio B

Apr 18, 2020

Course is covering many interesting subjects. I am happy to finished this course, even if to pass the final test I had to fight against the Python version of the real test (3.5.3) and the one I use to practice (it was a little newer).

By Nur M H

Mar 4, 2023

Excellent course, especially the themes covered. Excellent, engaging, and difficult content. The final labs, however, featured unclear or missing directions. Undoubtedly, I picked up a lot of new ideas. I'm happy to have finished it.