Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Interact with the Operating System by Google

4.7
stars
4,756 ratings

About the Course

By the end of this course, you’ll be able to manipulate files and processes on your computer’s operating system. You’ll also have learned about regular expressions -- a very powerful tool for processing text files -- and you’ll get practice using the Linux command line on a virtual machine. And, this might feel like a stretch right now, but you’ll also write a program that processes a bunch of errors in an actual log file and then generates a summary file. That’s a super useful skill for IT Specialists to know. We’ll kick off by exploring how to execute Python locally, and organize and use code across different Python files. We'll then learn how to read and write different types of files, and use subprocesses and input streams. We'll also dive into Bash scripting and regular expressions -- both very powerful tools for anyone working with systems. We'll even touch on automatic testing, which allow us to automate how we check if our code is correct. To finish, we’ll put all this together by using the tools that we’ve acquired to process data and generate automatic reports. We’ll also explain how to set up your own developer environment in your machine. This is a key step in being able to write and deploy powerful automation tools....

Top reviews

MI

Nov 19, 2020

Great course! I had some previous knowledge, but this was perfect to fill in the gaps. Also, unit testing was completely new to me and will be very useful in future projects. Thanks for making this!

AD

Jun 15, 2020

In starting five weeks , all answers were directly provided and week 6 and 7 were very tough. So i suggest to equalize the toughness level in all weeks ,ie, no direct spoon feed nor abrupt toughness

Filter by:

926 - 950 of 1,131 Reviews for Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

By Yiwei D

May 30, 2020

Pretty useful course. The assignments was not consistent. The final assignment was tough. Old python version, buggy examples... like real world.....

By Galina B

May 9, 2020

It would be better to add more practical tasks to the course. Also, review code examples due to sometimes they are not optimal and difficult to read

By Vignesh J

May 9, 2020

Everything was new to me. I learned a lot about Unix command from this course.

And get to know how to interact with the OS for the first time ever.

By Rob G

Aug 16, 2021

I had a hard time with some of the qwik lab stuff. Mainly using the virtual machine caused some issues but overall it was an informative course.

By MUHAMMAD Z I F

Feb 23, 2021

Is good course. but somehow is hard to follow if you dont read the additional materials. i know it took time but it somehow worth it to learn

By Linh X T

May 14, 2020

Very helpful in an overview of Python and its potential applications. It will help me accelerate my learning rate in python-related courses.

By vvsss s

Feb 28, 2021

the course was interesting. But i am a windows user and had less hands on exercises for windows users. more such examples would have helped

By jeremy j

Feb 17, 2022

The course was pretty good, theres some rough edges to be worked out, and some issues with the quiklabs, but overall pretty informative.

By Eric W

Nov 17, 2020

This course was fun and challenging. The last two assignments were very interesting and allowed me to test out quite a few new skills.

By Thomas H

Oct 8, 2020

While the information was definitely helpful and interesting, I felt it was lacking enough exercises for the material to really stick.

By Jessica M

Apr 17, 2022

Great course, it felt more intentional but a bit more complicated. Truly appreciated the effort and the critical thinking we did

By S S

Mar 25, 2020

the first graded exercises should have been more challenging(maybe do a few easy ones, but let me think for myself a little bit)

By Michael H

Apr 21, 2021

Not a bad one overall. Had a lot of trouble with the final project in week 7 even after going through the starting exercises.

By Thiago F N

Feb 16, 2020

Some lessons seems a little too long, maybe it's the material or maybe it's the instructor, but they seem too long at times.

By Calvin H

Sep 25, 2020

I found it just challenging enough to keep my trying, although I wasn't as interested in the testing section of the course

By Jonas B

Dec 18, 2021

The course touched on a bunch of useful sysAdmin skills and gave me a good idea of what further skills I need to learn!

By Luis V

Sep 18, 2020

en las "hojas de apuntes", necesitan incluir ejemplos de codigo, en lugar de solo añadir las urls de la documentacion.

By tanmay u

May 26, 2020

Material was fine but didn't like Qwiklab's PuTTY. I use VScode for python on my personal PC. So, PuTTY is just ugly.

By Madhur N

Mar 23, 2021

some of the assignments could have been a bit more challenging, but overall it was a good and well conducted course

By Eva T

Sep 19, 2020

Verify difficult course but I got through it. Learned alot of good things that I could apply in my day to day job.

By Margarito A D

Feb 28, 2021

I had problems with the grading algorithhm and also had to edit my code to comply with the old 3.5 python version

By Santiago B R

Jan 18, 2021

What a good topics. Although the nano editor is so unconfortable to work with it to script complex code

By Syed Z A

Nov 16, 2020

Course was very well design, but instructions for lab was not properly given. But it was fun learning.

By Alvern T

May 27, 2020

There were a lot of concepts covered and was kind of overwhelming. Still a lot to learn along the way.

By Antonio J D

Dec 11, 2020

a lot to learn in this course. pretty hard to keep up but if you do it gets you on the right track.