Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.3
stars
3,482 ratings
668 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

JR
Dec 4, 2020

Excellent course to get started with text mining and NLP with Python. The course goes over the most essential elements involved with dealing with free text. Definitely worth the time I spent on it.

CC
Aug 26, 2017

Quite challenging but also quite a sense of accomplishment when you finish the course. I learned a lot and think this was the course I preferred of the entire specialization. I highly recommend it!

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 659 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By Devmallya B

Apr 30, 2020

It was not well designed. The explanations were not adequate. It was more theoretical with practical aspects.

By Mile D

Nov 23, 2017

This course was quit ok. I have expected just more exercises and explanations because of the difficult topic.

By Rishi S .

Dec 26, 2020

The content was not covered in depth. Theoretical concepts were very less as compared to the other courses.

By Tom H

May 2, 2021

Unlike the other courses in this series there were no practice applications which lessened the experience.

By Shubhraneel P

Sep 16, 2020

The course content was good but the versions are not updated wasting a lot of time in assignments.

By Vijay C S

Oct 24, 2017

The course is pitched at a introductory level. I would have like to have more practical tutorials.

By Andre N

May 11, 2019

Good course, however lots of problems with assignment notebooks not working the way they should

By Alexander W

Sep 3, 2019

This course is interesting and about a very important topic, but it urgently needs an update!

By Tsz W K

Oct 22, 2017

Less organised to the previous three courses. However, it still introduces useful techniques.

By Ling G

Aug 31, 2017

I like the lecture very much. If the lecture can cover more example codes it iwll be greater.

By Thomas P

Aug 27, 2017

Good course content, but no in-depth discussion of topics. Assignments are also very buggy.

By Paula C R

Aug 4, 2017

I think the course was superficial and could be better explored. It's good start, though.

By Josh C

Mar 14, 2019

The contents are good, but the online autograding system really need to be improved.

By Kartikey S

Jan 5, 2019

Some topics are hastily explained and maybe more content was needed in this course.

By Stephane C

Dec 9, 2018

Week3 and 4. Too much of strange bugs with the auto grader. Not enougth examples...

By Juan V P

Jul 29, 2019

I think the course need a better speaker and more notebook hours to be enhanced.

By Maha Y

Jan 14, 2019

Need to show the slides for longer in the videos. But good learning experience.

By Qian H

Oct 3, 2017

The homework is quite not related to the lecture. And it is so hard to finish.

By Eric S

Sep 27, 2018

Most assigmets were not in the notes. Still everyhting seems really usefull.

By Raivis J

Aug 11, 2018

Graded assignments need more grounding in practically applicable situations.

By George M J

Nov 15, 2018

Good content.

Had to spend way too much time fighting the auto-grader.

By Zhizhong S

Jan 7, 2021

The course is not well organized comparing with the other four.

By CARNEMOLLA B

Jul 8, 2019

Contenuti troppo superficiali, gli assignment troppo specifici

By Gennadiy D

Oct 21, 2017

I will be better to provide python code in a separate notebook