Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.3
stars
3,287 ratings
622 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

CC
Aug 26, 2017

Quite challenging but also quite a sense of accomplishment when you finish the course. I learned a lot and think this was the course I preferred of the entire specialization. I highly recommend it!

GK
May 3, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 614 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By Rafael A C B

Aug 20, 2017

The course materials were interesting, but there were also a lot of issues with the autograder. Hopefully they will be fixed for the next sessions.

By SeyedAlireza K

Dec 23, 2018

I learned some useful stuff in this course but I think it could be a little more deeper and teaching more behind theorems especially for week 4.

By Maxim P

Oct 12, 2018

Good Lectures. But much to less introduction by real examples. Especially in the last lecture you need to add a Notebook. As guidency and recap.

By Girija M

Jul 1, 2018

The subject is too vast to be covered in such small videos. Lot more details can be integrated. Great start for beginners to Text Mining though

By Mateusz M

Feb 6, 2019

Some of the topics where elaborated very briefly. There was not enough practical examples and instructor was no clear in what he was saying.

By Bernardo A

Aug 19, 2017

I liked the course, but it felt as a very raw overview, I think it could have been more challenging when it comes to the models explained.

By Shakshi S

Aug 4, 2020

The course assignments were somewhat difficult and also there should be more explanation of topics that were covered in this course.

By Alex W

Nov 14, 2019

Really poor instructions on week 4. Overall, was a great course that was a good intro to the text machine learning tools in Python.

By ENZHE L

Aug 30, 2018

I don't think the lecture is very clear. Although I have finished the homework, I still feel a little confused about the concepts.

By Panit A

Oct 22, 2017

Bad assignment. Grader not reliable. No control over the discussion board, many confusing comments mixed with good comments.

By Vishal S

Jul 16, 2018

Lectures are good but the assignment of week1 and week 4 is a little bit absurd and unclarified. Autograder is too slow.

By Nishal

Dec 4, 2019

The explanations weren't the best and pacing wasn't amazing, but some good ground covered and parts were interesting.

By Amir-Sina H

Apr 25, 2020

This is a good informative course, yet superficial at times. Specially when it comes to fourth weeks' assignments

By Thomas B

Apr 22, 2018

Some rather vague assignments instructions, some assignments require material only briefly mentioned in lectures

By Devmallya B

Apr 30, 2020

It was not well designed. The explanations were not adequate. It was more theoretical with practical aspects.

By Mile D

Nov 23, 2017

This course was quit ok. I have expected just more exercises and explanations because of the difficult topic.

By Shubhraneel P

Sep 16, 2020

The course content was good but the versions are not updated wasting a lot of time in assignments.

By Vijay C S

Oct 24, 2017

The course is pitched at a introductory level. I would have like to have more practical tutorials.

By Andre N

May 11, 2019

Good course, however lots of problems with assignment notebooks not working the way they should

By Alexander W

Sep 3, 2019

This course is interesting and about a very important topic, but it urgently needs an update!

By Tsz W K

Oct 22, 2017

Less organised to the previous three courses. However, it still introduces useful techniques.

By Ling G

Aug 31, 2017

I like the lecture very much. If the lecture can cover more example codes it iwll be greater.

By Thomas P

Aug 27, 2017

Good course content, but no in-depth discussion of topics. Assignments are also very buggy.

By Paula C R

Aug 4, 2017

I think the course was superficial and could be better explored. It's good start, though.

By Josh C

Mar 14, 2019

The contents are good, but the online autograding system really need to be improved.