Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.3
stars
3,288 ratings
623 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

CC
Aug 26, 2017

Quite challenging but also quite a sense of accomplishment when you finish the course. I learned a lot and think this was the course I preferred of the entire specialization. I highly recommend it!

GK
May 3, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 614 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By MANCINI L

May 19, 2019

In general, the course is good, lesson explanations are excellent but it lacks of pratical lessons. Assignments are quite difficult in comparison with the material of the course lesson. It took me a lot of time to do them and understand where my mistakes were.

By Maxime R

Mar 13, 2018

I really think that the 3rd and 4th week of the course should have more practical presentation (especially the 4th week for which the assignment is quite 'new' in terms of programming). Having a notebook for the 4th week would be a good additional material.

By Daissy D M R

Feb 18, 2019

Good topics and well explanations. A Notebook to support content of week 4 is definitely needed. More explanations in assignment for week 4 is needed. In general, week 4 lacks of organization and good content. that is why I give 3 stars instead of 5

By Jack O

Jul 24, 2018

I don't feel like I learned very much; even a month later, I've almost entirely forgotten what we covered. The homeworks were confusing and often poorly worded, and from what I saw from the forums, I wasn't the only one who was left baffled.

By Joseph I

Jan 28, 2020

The videos and content were great but the projects need more specificity. There's a lot of ambiguity around what the projects are asking for which takes away from the quality of the course. For examples, please visit the discussion forums.

By Muhammad H R

Feb 13, 2018

This course was just too theoretical. There were just too many lectures on the English language and nothing really practical. I learned nothing that I can actually use. There were hardly any useful text mining techniques that I learned.

By Jaerong A

Jun 21, 2020

The lectures are pretty fast-paced, and the assignments expect you to do things that are not well covered in the lecture. You need to learn a lot by yourself to learn anything from the lecture. Besides, autograding is a disaster.

By Craig A B

Nov 19, 2018

You do more work learning on your own to be able to do the projects and quizes then is given in the lectures. These University of Michigan classes aren't very balanced in terms of lectures, reading, and difficulty of projects.

By Mayeul P

Nov 6, 2017

Great teaching material and clear explanations. I learnt a lot.

Nevertheless the assignments auto-grading tool is awful.

I spent more time looking for the necessary hacks to pass the assignments than working on text mining.

By Ruiqi Y

Apr 26, 2020

The content of the video and the assignment needs to be updated. Some of the questions in the assignment were not clear and autograder can be a pain. The topics are also not too coherent from weeks to weeks.

By Tianyi C

May 15, 2020

The assignment is very easy compare to the previous three courses, just need to apply some library and done. The syllabus is poorly designed, especially for the last two weeks. Overall, don't recommend.

By James M

Apr 18, 2018

Autograder bugs make for a frustrating time completing the assignments. Independent research and self-guided learning will come in handy for this course as the lectures (mostly) are uninformative.

By Elias

Oct 17, 2017

A nice course overall but maybe not the best in the specilisation.

It may be me non understanding deeply the content but I found it a bit more mystical rather than quickly see concrete applications

By Robert S

Nov 15, 2020

Too much time required to review discussion threads to understand or fix problems with the coding assignments. Lectures provided little substantive assistance in handling the coding problems.

By Jeffrey D B

Oct 16, 2018

The course would be significantly improved if there were more hands-on demos during the lectures. Lectures are very high-level and aren't terribly useful when trying to do the lab exercises.

By Jim S

Aug 24, 2017

Course content was informative and would benefit greatly from more depth. Some of the automated grading solutions are lacking/buggy. Excellent forum participation was key to success.

By eon t

May 7, 2020

ambiguous, not very clear.

especially for the last course, the task could be difficult for novice

the course didn't present detailed explain for the code and sort of hard to follow

By Sakina F

Apr 15, 2018

Very very long videos. Makes a person zone out. The videos need to be smaller in length as they become very hard to complete. However, the content is good and easy to understand.

By Oscar F R P

Aug 26, 2020

Videos are too long and the lectures sometimes go too fast and shallow to grip on information for the assingments, though those can be very manageble consulting stackoverflow

By Reed R

Mar 7, 2018

Overall a good course and a nice introduction to Text Mining but issues with the autograder and some unclear instructions can make the assignments a little painful.

By James S

Feb 2, 2018

Some good stuff here, but really drops in quality toward the end and became a real slog to finish. Shame, since the rest of the specialization has been outstanding.

By Tracy S

Mar 12, 2018

assignments are ok although with some unclear issues. however, i think the last week tutorials can be richer and more informational. i love the week1-3 tutorials.

By Kieran W

Feb 21, 2018

Overall good material. Not enough actual code examples at times, especially towards the end. The assignments weren't completely relevant and slightly buggy.

By Juan M

Apr 28, 2020

Seems sort of unupdated, lacking enough applications for the student to really get a grasp of the contents. Lectures should explain theory more thoroughly

By Saswati R

Jul 8, 2018

Some of the assignment problems, especially assignment 2 and 4, did not have clear instructions and hence were confusing. Otherwise, a good course.