Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.2
stars
3,503 ratings
676 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

JR
Dec 4, 2020

Excellent course to get started with text mining and NLP with Python. The course goes over the most essential elements involved with dealing with free text. Definitely worth the time I spent on it.

CC
Aug 26, 2017

Quite challenging but also quite a sense of accomplishment when you finish the course. I learned a lot and think this was the course I preferred of the entire specialization. I highly recommend it!

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 667 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By Aditya h

Jul 9, 2018

Great course! very much handy if you are looking for a 'Text processing in Python' primer. The good thing about the course is that it explains the libraries. For example - NLTK vs SciPy for applying ML on text. What's missing, is the Deep Learning aspects of text processing

By Archit A

Jul 11, 2018

Course content has to be modified, the instructor has to more in depth in some of the topics especially the final week topics. Rest apart, I enjoyed the course, the assignments and quizzes are of optimal length and difficulty. Thanks for making this course!

By Gunjari B

Jun 18, 2018

Lecture materials are not comprehensive enough to solve the assignments. Course is dependent on precursor courses in the specialization. Assignments often require reference from upcoming weeks. lectures are inadequate. The course is average at its best

By Muhammad S J

Mar 8, 2019

Overall course is very usefull for me. But there is lot of detail is missing in week 4. Wordnet and Gensim usage, Detail about the LDA and semantic similarity. I hope next time there is separate video lecture for detailed about Semantic simalarity.

By Oscar J O R

Sep 2, 2017

Nice introduction to the topic and interesting tools. The evaluation system could be improved adding more resources focused on the use of the nltk functions or giving some advice about the critical points in the Python demonstrations.

By 王桢

Jun 9, 2020

I realize that nlp is really not an easy task after this course. I think I should keep going if I really want to find a job in nlp. The first three weeks I really learned a lot, but the last week I don't fully understand the content.

By Darius T

Apr 2, 2019

The course material is good. The main issue with this course are some of the assignments, which are pretty complicated, are not explained well enough and sometimes don't even test the knowledge of understanding text mining.

By Pushpendra S

Oct 15, 2018

Not well organized. Some of the assignments took way too much time. Instructor's code could have been written out better and could have explained the topics in detail before expecting students to sort through the mess

By peyman s

Feb 1, 2020

This course offers a good package of skills with great notebooks (except week 4) and assignments. The videos could be a lot better but mostly understandable. You can always search Youtube for better explained videos.

By Ayush A

Jul 14, 2018

The course was good, but as I progressed in the course, the approach for code began slackening off, as it felt to me. Topics are discussed well, but the implementation in code was something that took a star away.

By Rushyasrunga K

Jul 20, 2019

Course is great except for the auto grader issues. Please look into the issue. I would like to take this opportunity and thank Prof V. G. Vinod Vydiswaran and all those who helped me to complete it.

By João R W S

Aug 22, 2017

Very good course with very good material and teachers. I just missed some more practical examples to follow along the classes, and more further readings (specially for information extraction).

By Leo C

Feb 16, 2018

Love the focus on conceptual text processing and practical guides to implementation in python, but the assignment grader was extremely specific for no reason, especially the Week3 assignment.

By Alexander G

Jan 13, 2019

It would help to connect the teaching better to the assignments. Especially in Week 4 there is to little connection. There is not even a course notebook to practice some of the material.

By James M

Sep 28, 2020

The instruction and explanation of key concepts was fantastic, but the instruction on the actual coding was very lacking, even compared with the other courses in this specialization.

By Jeremy L

Oct 26, 2017

The course itself is good, but the assigment system is not robust and some sentences are also ambiguous to users. Seeing from the forums, many users get confused in the assigments.

By Aswath M

Aug 2, 2019

Excellent course for someone like me who is ambitious and aspires to gain knowledge on new things. The videos can be made bit more elaborate, seems to be rushing towards the end.

By Christopher H

Aug 11, 2018

Passionate instructor and a great primer on how software can infer useful data from text. Gives a preliminary understanding on the algorithms used in scikit learn and nltk.

By Vishal L

Dec 27, 2020

It is a great course with challenging assignments, I wish the syllabus is a little more deeper specially on the LDA part. But overall a good course that one can look for!

By Kangqiao

Nov 4, 2019

A little bit stretched my python skill, but learned a lot. Forum is a good place, and maybe next I will join some study group online or offline to have more discussions.

By Ramon S

Jan 23, 2021

Good Course, the only problem was in week 3 the sklearn method roc_curve() is used incorrectly and then in the assignment you need to use this method incorrectly again.

By C-y T

Jan 12, 2020

The course content and the assignments are good. Some descriptions of the assignment questions are ambiguous. The discussion forum is helpful in clarify those issues.

By TEJASWI S

Aug 1, 2019

Good course to take although I felt the course could have been better in terms of practice. But overall, would recommend to others if they wish to pursue data analysis.

By cheting c

Jun 22, 2018

Overall good class but the assignment design is somehow bad. Should give some hint otherwise we do not know if we get a wrong answer or the autogarder is not working.

By Vinicius G

Dec 26, 2017

I did not give 5 starts because Assignment 4 was really hard. It required too much knowledge from outside. The week 4 modules poorly prepared me for assignment 4.