Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.2
stars
2,411 ratings
456 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

GK

May 04, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

BK

Jun 26, 2018

Would love to see these courses have more practice questions in each weeks lesson. Would be helpful for repetition sake, and learning vs only doing each question once in the assignments.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 447 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By cheting c

Jun 22, 2018

Overall good class but the assignment design is somehow bad. Should give some hint otherwise we do not know if we get a wrong answer or the autogarder is not working.

By Vinicius G

Dec 26, 2017

I did not give 5 starts because Assignment 4 was really hard. It required too much knowledge from outside. The week 4 modules poorly prepared me for assignment 4.

By Kai H

Nov 05, 2018

Some of the codes are not shown in Jupyter notebook. The assignment statements are not so clear, need to resort to Discussion board for additional information.

By Ivan S F

May 03, 2019

Great course. Worth taking it. Hard, but you will learn a lot. Homework 1 is confusing and discouraging, but pass it and the rest gets more interesting.

By Han C

Sep 01, 2017

Learned lots of new stuff, but some details are not established well including autograder issue at the last assignment. Hope this gets cleared out soon.

By Kristin A

Jan 30, 2019

A good intro to NLTK and text mining in Python, though sometimes the effort put in to render an assignment acceptable to the autograder was a headache.

By Mauro G

Oct 03, 2017

The lectures are in my opinion too concise. The programming assignments are very interesting. Perhaps the week 1 programming assignment is too complex.

By Fang F

Aug 29, 2017

Course is introductory and helpful. The staff should provide all the jupyter notebook code examples and provide better instruction for assignments.

By Asad M

Jan 20, 2020

Course is good but doesn't cover the whole lot of topics. the instructor is very good and clear. I expected to learn more advanced topics though.

By Alireza F

Sep 16, 2019

I believe that assignments are away harder than the material of the course. The instructor should more get involved in the codes when he teaches.

By Ralph F

Feb 11, 2020

The assignments are challenging, but they represent the complexity of real life Data Science problems and are therefore highly rewarding.

By Niels R

Apr 24, 2018

Overall this is well done course, but the autograder for week 2 needs a lot of work. It was buggy, broken and gave uninformative answers.

By Girish G

Nov 20, 2017

Awesome course..It is a good start for NLP. Comprehensively covers all topics. The Autograder for the programming assignment needs

By Thúllio D M Z

Jun 17, 2019

The module 4 could have more hours. The key concepts are passed too fast and doesn't have a notebook with the classes content.

By Anad K

Jun 17, 2018

Content-wise course is okey. But all the students faced issues during the assignment submissions because of the auto grader.

By Patrick L

May 26, 2018

Great course, didn't expect to get so much value out of it. Sometimes the instructions in the assignments are unlear though.

By Petras V

Nov 24, 2017

Very good course. A little bit heavy on in-built functions which hides what is happening underneath, but overall very good.

By Harshith S

Jun 19, 2019

What an improvement from the previous few courses. The instructor teaches much better. I could mine text in my sleep now

By Henri

Apr 19, 2019

Great course, but expect to spend a lot of time on the assignments because of errors/bugs in the questions/autograder.

By Christian L

Jul 25, 2019

Good course. Most part of the learning comes from personal work on the assignments (time vastly underestimated)

By CaitlinYao

Feb 17, 2019

The assignments are much harder than the slides, which means much more self-learning is required.

By Anubhav M

Dec 20, 2019

I will give it a 4 star because of the assignments. The lectures were good but were a bit short.

By Vo C C

Nov 09, 2018

The assignments are a little hard and have some errors, but the overall explanation is awesome.

By Yubin L

Feb 25, 2020

It's really good but I feel we may want to expand to 8 weeks so that each topic can go deeper.

By Zihao H

Mar 18, 2018

The final assignment is not well worded, and answer for the autograder is too strict.