Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.2
2,132 ratings
403 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

GK

May 04, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

BK

Jun 26, 2018

Would love to see these courses have more practice questions in each weeks lesson. Would be helpful for repetition sake, and learning vs only doing each question once in the assignments.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 396 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By John H E O

May 28, 2019

This course for me was demanding! I truly enjoyed all the concepts I learned.

By DEBAYAN M

Jun 12, 2019

Excellent! Too Good!

By Anurag B

Jun 12, 2019

Great Content!! Productive Session!!

By Yuhung C J

Jul 15, 2019

The last assignment is really challenging!!! Good course for text mining introduciton!

By Zefang L

Jul 18, 2019

Great introductory course for text mining. Very help to learn nltk, gensim, etc. packages.

By JATIN G

Jul 24, 2019

Nice Course, good learning

By Adrian L

Jul 24, 2019

Very nicely done!

By Dirisala S

Jul 24, 2019

The course is fantastic and it helps in enhancing your skills if you are a beginner.

By Ankush R

Jul 27, 2019

One of the best courses in NLP that I've come across thanks Coursera and University of Michigan

By Shwetank A

Jul 26, 2019

nice experience and learning

By Yufan L

Aug 01, 2019

A lot of self-learning. The assignment is challenging, but well designed! The forum is the key to understand the Computer science writing style in the assignment :)

By Igor K

Jul 30, 2019

Nice course for beginners

By sandeep d

Aug 03, 2019

Amazing

By Vijay G V

Aug 05, 2019

Good course with notebooks to try out

By Tianyang N

Aug 18, 2019

Good

By Sarah H H

May 21, 2019

Loved this course. the pacing, the instruction. it flowed and I felt i could execute what I learned without too much head scratching due 'missing leaps of info'.

By Aashima B

May 07, 2019

Got to learn a lot. Would recommend it to others for text mining.

By Neville M

Aug 22, 2019

Does exactly what it says on the label. Makes you really think about what you are doing with the text. Highly recommended.

By Venelin K

Aug 25, 2019

Great course!

By Валерий Н Г

Aug 25, 2019

Great course! Even fighting with the grader didn't spoil the joy from learning new things)) Forum with useful comments of classmates is really a big deal. Thank you everyone who succeeded and shared their findings.

By laurent.bilke@gmail.com

Sep 17, 2019

Great course. Does cover a lot of ground on the topic. The assignments are challenging, as should be.

By Halil K

Oct 02, 2019

Excellent course. Teaches useful knowledge and skills and does it with a very good teaching staff.

By Vinayak

Oct 08, 2019

Well-structured, awesome pedagogy and challenging assignments. It has all the elements it takes to make a MOOC epic! Thanks UMich and Coursera for helping put this course together and allowing me to pursue it.

By Joe

Sep 25, 2019

Really good overview, with just the right amount of detail

By Shiomar S C

Oct 23, 2019

Really good course... The teacher is great