Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.2
2,050 ratings
389 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

CC

Aug 27, 2017

Quite challenging but also quite a sense of accomplishment when you finish the course. I learned a lot and think this was the course I preferred of the entire specialization. I highly recommend it!

GK

May 04, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 382 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By João R W S

Aug 23, 2017

Very good course with very good material and teachers. I just missed some more practical examples to follow along the classes, and more further readings (specially for information extraction).

By Gunjari B

Jun 18, 2018

Lecture materials are not comprehensive enough to solve the assignments. Course is dependent on precursor courses in the specialization. Assignments often require reference from upcoming weeks. lectures are inadequate. The course is average at its best

By Zihao H

Mar 18, 2018

The final assignment is not well worded, and answer for the autograder is too strict.

By Christopher H

Aug 11, 2018

Passionate instructor and a great primer on how software can infer useful data from text. Gives a preliminary understanding on the algorithms used in scikit learn and nltk.

By YOGESH K M

Sep 01, 2018

I am a Self Driving Car Engineer, I have worked with deep learning but i wanted to know about Machine Learning So i was exploring here. I am new to Text mining and not interested much, but it was worth exploring and to to know potential of Test Mining. Course was very well summed up for me as a this is new for me. Content was good enough to start and hit some practical questions.

By lohith p

Aug 22, 2018

Good Material for the people who wants to start NLP. Thanks a lot for the material

By Rajat B

Aug 24, 2018

The frequent and well thought out exercises are very helpful

By Pushpendra S

Oct 15, 2018

Not well organized. Some of the assignments took way too much time. Instructor's code could have been written out better and could have explained the topics in detail before expecting students to sort through the mess

By Tarrade F

Aug 17, 2018

Nice course, good introduction

By Kai H

Nov 05, 2018

Some of the codes are not shown in Jupyter notebook. The assignment statements are not so clear, need to resort to Discussion board for additional information.

By Ayush A

Jul 14, 2018

The course was good, but as I progressed in the course, the approach for code began slackening off, as it felt to me. Topics are discussed well, but the implementation in code was something that took a star away.

By Archit A

Jul 11, 2018

Course content has to be modified, the instructor has to more in depth in some of the topics especially the final week topics. Rest apart, I enjoyed the course, the assignments and quizzes are of optimal length and difficulty. Thanks for making this course!

By Darius T

Apr 02, 2019

The course material is good. The main issue with this course are some of the assignments, which are pretty complicated, are not explained well enough and sometimes don't even test the knowledge of understanding text mining.

By Henri

Apr 19, 2019

Great course, but expect to spend a lot of time on the assignments because of errors/bugs in the questions/autograder.

By Ivan S F

May 03, 2019

Great course. Worth taking it. Hard, but you will learn a lot. Homework 1 is confusing and discouraging, but pass it and the rest gets more interesting.

By Keary P

Apr 14, 2019

Good intro into NLP and NLTK. Assignments provided great hands on practice with NLTK, SciKit Learn and regular expressions. Could use additional materials for key concepts such as sentiment analysis and ngrams. Could also use a more real world case study for the final project.

By CHITRESH K

Apr 29, 2019

Nice introductory course to NLP , give an insight into the topic .

By Christian E

Mar 27, 2019

Very good content

By Light0617

May 15, 2019

the assignment is so strange...

By Samuel O

May 16, 2019

Nice, but first assignment shouldn't be considered here I think

By Carl W

May 18, 2019

Took me into different areas. Interesting.

By Juan M

Jun 11, 2019

a bit abstract at times.

By Thúllio D M Z

Jun 17, 2019

The module 4 could have more hours. The key concepts are passed too fast and doesn't have a notebook with the classes content.

By Harshith S

Jun 19, 2019

What an improvement from the previous few courses. The instructor teaches much better. I could mine text in my sleep now

By Shashidhar s

Jun 28, 2019

Ultimate course for any one to start with on Data Science using Python.