Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.3
stars
3,461 ratings
664 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

JR
Dec 4, 2020

Excellent course to get started with text mining and NLP with Python. The course goes over the most essential elements involved with dealing with free text. Definitely worth the time I spent on it.

CC
Aug 26, 2017

Quite challenging but also quite a sense of accomplishment when you finish the course. I learned a lot and think this was the course I preferred of the entire specialization. I highly recommend it!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 656 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By Neville M

Aug 22, 2019

Does exactly what it says on the label. Makes you really think about what you are doing with the text. Highly recommended.

By Георгий Ф

Aug 25, 2017

Excellent course! Everything is understandable and interesting. I hope it'll help me in my future career. Thank you a lot!

By Yanan L

Aug 8, 2017

I haven't finished the course yet. But the syllabus and the reading materials look really nice for an intro to NLP course.

By SHEMONA S

Jun 12, 2020

The explanation was great. I enjoyed doing this course. Also found interesting completing the quiz and assignments part.

By Arvind S

Nov 22, 2020

The last week content is little bit hard, but discussion forum helped a lot , overall the course was good to start NLP.

By Hiếu N

Dec 22, 2019

Thorough explanations provided by the lecturer and assignments which are challenging but helpful for learning purposes

By Abdoulaye D

Feb 11, 2019

I'm auditing this course, as I don't have enough to get the certificate. I hugely recommend it. It's well explained.

By Agata M

Jan 23, 2020

Well prepared and put in an interesting way. Assignments allowed me to get general understanding of the techniques.

By Abdul K S

Dec 2, 2019

Very nice and interactive course learnt a lot and the assignments are very good and very importing topics covered.

By Georg H

Feb 25, 2018

Great intro to the essentials of NLP and good exams/assignments with right levels of instructions and guidance.

By Matt C

Feb 19, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, as well as how the instructor presented it. Overall very smooth and informative

By phantomxx

Jul 13, 2020

The examples are good, introduced a lot of useful functions to facilitate the text mining tasks in Python!

By Seelam S

Jul 4, 2020

Awesome course! Every one who interested in Data Science should take this to enchance your coding skills.☺

By Jah Q

Nov 18, 2019

it gives you the right things to start making models to extract information without getting too technical.

By Krishna D

Jan 7, 2018

liked the course material, well presented and Assignments are well framed.

Enjoyed the Course very much!

By laurent.bilke@gmail.com

Sep 17, 2019

Great course. Does cover a lot of ground on the topic. The assignments are challenging, as should be.

By Bart T C

Nov 21, 2018

Really great course. Love the instructor. Hard, almost too hard for me, but very useful and applied.

By Rutwik M

Jun 5, 2020

Quite the interesting course if I say so, It was a bit difficult for me but enjoyable nevertheless

By Halil K

Oct 2, 2019

Excellent course. Teaches useful knowledge and skills and does it with a very good teaching staff.

By Phillip L C

Dec 26, 2018

Really provides practical application and ideas on how to use tools in real world. Thanks so much!

By NGUYỄN Đ T

Jul 23, 2018

So useful, the course provided enough fundamental knowledge with practice code in pandas and nltk.

By Darren

Aug 10, 2017

Very helpful, it will be more helpful if give some real examples(python implemetation) in module 4

By Prasenjit P

Mar 5, 2018

Well taught the text mining classes. Hope to use them in real time problems. Thanx professor !!!

By Ankush R

Jul 27, 2019

One of the best courses in NLP that I've come across thanks Coursera and University of Michigan

By Ricardo J M S

Apr 25, 2020

Excellent course. Simple and with great explanation of the text mining world. You will enjoy