Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.2
stars
3,502 ratings
675 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

JR
Dec 4, 2020

Excellent course to get started with text mining and NLP with Python. The course goes over the most essential elements involved with dealing with free text. Definitely worth the time I spent on it.

CC
Aug 26, 2017

Quite challenging but also quite a sense of accomplishment when you finish the course. I learned a lot and think this was the course I preferred of the entire specialization. I highly recommend it!

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 667 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By Kai H

Nov 5, 2018

Some of the codes are not shown in Jupyter notebook. The assignment statements are not so clear, need to resort to Discussion board for additional information.

By Ivan S F

May 3, 2019

Great course. Worth taking it. Hard, but you will learn a lot. Homework 1 is confusing and discouraging, but pass it and the rest gets more interesting.

By Han C

Sep 1, 2017

Learned lots of new stuff, but some details are not established well including autograder issue at the last assignment. Hope this gets cleared out soon.

By Kristin A

Jan 29, 2019

A good intro to NLTK and text mining in Python, though sometimes the effort put in to render an assignment acceptable to the autograder was a headache.

By Mauro G

Oct 3, 2017

The lectures are in my opinion too concise. The programming assignments are very interesting. Perhaps the week 1 programming assignment is too complex.

By Gerardo J I V

Mar 30, 2021

I had the opportunity of use the learned in this course for a project in my work about RPA with python, specifically for process a big volume of data.

By Vatsal B

Jun 5, 2020

Kindly provide all lecture codes as Jupyter Notebook file for each module. It helps a lot for revision. Overall an informative and excellent course.

By Showmik D

May 24, 2020

Its still an elementary course for natural language processing . May be the maths behind the algorithms and topics should be discussed elaborately .

By Fang F

Aug 29, 2017

Course is introductory and helpful. The staff should provide all the jupyter notebook code examples and provide better instruction for assignments.

By Asad M

Jan 19, 2020

Course is good but doesn't cover the whole lot of topics. the instructor is very good and clear. I expected to learn more advanced topics though.

By Alireza F

Sep 16, 2019

I believe that assignments are away harder than the material of the course. The instructor should more get involved in the codes when he teaches.

By Abdulkareem U

Apr 28, 2021

This is a very fantastic fundamental Natural Language Processing Tutorial, It was nice, awesome and I wish to learn more with Michigan Online.

By Ra F

Feb 11, 2020

The assignments are challenging, but they represent the complexity of real life Data Science problems and are therefore highly rewarding.

By Niels R

Apr 24, 2018

Overall this is well done course, but the autograder for week 2 needs a lot of work. It was buggy, broken and gave uninformative answers.

By Girish G

Nov 20, 2017

Awesome course..It is a good start for NLP. Comprehensively covers all topics. The Autograder for the programming assignment needs

By Giovanni S

Jul 31, 2020

Interesting but need much individual extra workload to properly implement at work because of the complexity of the topic itself.

By Thúllio D M Z

Jun 17, 2019

The module 4 could have more hours. The key concepts are passed too fast and doesn't have a notebook with the classes content.

By Anad K

Jun 17, 2018

Content-wise course is okey. But all the students faced issues during the assignment submissions because of the auto grader.

By Patrick L

May 26, 2018

Great course, didn't expect to get so much value out of it. Sometimes the instructions in the assignments are unlear though.

By Saqeeb

Jun 4, 2020

Had a little difficulty with the codes.

You would have run the code while teaching other wise very useful course. thank you.

By Petras V

Nov 24, 2017

Very good course. A little bit heavy on in-built functions which hides what is happening underneath, but overall very good.

By Edgar G

Oct 6, 2020

Good course, explanation was not as detailed as previous courses of this specialization but. A lot can be learned from it.

By Jiefei W

Apr 8, 2020

The most difficult one in this set of courses so far. It took time to understand the questions and figuring out solutions.

By Soumyadeep D

Mar 12, 2021

Good course but it mainly glosses over several important topics such as LDA, which could have been devoted mote time to.

By Harshith S

Jun 19, 2019

What an improvement from the previous few courses. The instructor teaches much better. I could mine text in my sleep now