Chevron Left
Back to Robotics: Computational Motion Planning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Robotics: Computational Motion Planning by University of Pennsylvania

4.3
stars
1,029 ratings

About the Course

Robotic systems typically include three components: a mechanism which is capable of exerting forces and torques on the environment, a perception system for sensing the world and a decision and control system which modulates the robot's behavior to achieve the desired ends. In this course we will consider the problem of how a robot decides what to do to achieve its goals. This problem is often referred to as Motion Planning and it has been formulated in various ways to model different situations. You will learn some of the most common approaches to addressing this problem including graph-based methods, randomized planners and artificial potential fields. Throughout the course, we will discuss the aspects of the problem that make planning challenging....

Top reviews

FC

Nov 27, 2018

The course was challenging, but fulfilling. Thank you Coursera and University of Pennsylvania for giving this wonderful experience and opportunity that I might not experience in our local community!

SD

Jul 2, 2018

The topic was very interesting, and the assignments weren't overly complicated. Overall, the lesson was fun and informative , despite the bugs in the learning tool(especially, the last assignment.)

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 259 Reviews for Robotics: Computational Motion Planning

By Zakaria B

Oct 12, 2016

Very practical cours

By meghna l

Jun 3, 2020

very good course

By Anirudh Y

Mar 12, 2018

great course!!

By Tianyi Z

Oct 29, 2018

Great lecture

By Diverse C

Jun 13, 2018

Great course!

By Emin B

Jul 30, 2017

it is awesome

By Yue W

Jan 4, 2022

nice course!

By Lo K F

Sep 15, 2017

learn a lot

By Jesus F

Oct 20, 2016

Good course

By Max R

Jun 22, 2016

yay robots

By Mika Y

Feb 13, 2023

Very good

By Jorge H O S

Dec 5, 2017

Excelente

By Niccoló M

Apr 11, 2020

Great!!

By Samya C

Sep 26, 2020

good

By 李天柱

Jul 18, 2017

作业超好

By Abtin R

May 27, 2023

pros: course materials are great. anyone with the least knowledge about robotics and computer science can learn it. Note: the coding part is a little bit difficult because we have to write some code in the middle of someone else's code. although the coding itself is easy, but the fact is that first you have to investigate the code you're given and measure the exact input types and the expected output (input and output are documented clearly but you have to look for yourself before processing them)! cons: also the evaluation part is too strict (or maybe buggy) i guess. apparently there are lots of people who claim they have a working code but fail to pass the evaluation. some assignments have unexpected requirements or problems! e.g: assignment 4 needs some plugins if you want to run it on local system. e.g2: searching for solution in the forum for assignment 2 (or 3) i found out that i have to assign empty arrays to two variables that is used in the code (not my code).

By James G

Apr 21, 2017

I enjoyed the course but mostly only because I had ample time to complete it. I likely wouldn't have finished if I was busier. The course notes aren't particularly helpful and they are very brief. The assignments were just okay but most of the time spent on them was trying to debug the code rather than learn the concepts studied in the lectures. I'm giving this course 4 stars, not because the Coursera content was good, it wasn't, but rather because I learned a lot trying to 'figure out' the assignments and finding information online. I'd say if you're a beginner, looking to step into robotics, it might be worth your time but if you're intermediate to advanced, you ought to move along. The content taught versus the time it takes to debug the codes might not be worth your effort.

By Rishabh B

Mar 13, 2016

In this course we will get to know about shortest path algorithm such A*, Dijkstra's, concept of configuration space and path planning in the same, developing Probabilistic road maps and RRT and also a bit about Artificial potenial fields. All the algorithms are neatly explained. The material though very short(in terms of total hours of video lectures) is nicely compiled. The quality of the MATLAB exercises is very good with few issues here and there. We can extract a lot about MATLAB implementation of different simulations by spending time understanding the given code and also implementing missing sections as part of the assignment.

Overall, a great course.

By Md M R

Jun 1, 2018

The assignments look easy after you solve them, but beforehand you'll need all the pointers from the discussion forums just to understand how to write the codes. Also, the assignments from week 2 and week 3 will be impossible to solve in Desktop's MATLAB, so someone should ask the teaching staff to reconcile the assignment files for both Desktop's MATLAB and the grader/online MATLAB. Apart from the issues, the course offers some of the most interesting motion/path planning algorithms. Anyone who is novice and wholehearted into robotics should definitely check it out.

By Maksym B

Dec 29, 2019

The course has good topics. The lectures are easy to understand. But the course is too light in my opinion. I completed it in 3 days spending around 10 hours total (I might have completed it in 3 hours if not the poorly designed assignments). Aerial Robotics which is the previous course in this specialization is more serious than this one. Quizzes are very easy. Assignments have bugs and only by reading suggestions on the forums of the people who struggled with assignments and worked around the bugs, I was able to complete the assignments.

By Daniel C

Jan 8, 2017

Great course overall. The automatic grader may not be perfect, but the TA is constantly working on it and he has been clearing up confusion by posting updated PDFs and codes. The discussion forum is awesome. There is plenty of presence of the TA and classmates.

It is true that the lectures aren't as long as Aerial Robotics, but they are concise and clear enough for us to work on the assignments. If you are good at matlab and programming, you can breeze through the assignments. If not, you can get stuck for days, like I did.

By Konstantinos P

Jan 21, 2023

Overall the course was decent and well organized. However it should be focused on the matlab programming part of the assignments and provide implementations and code examples that may analyse the functionality of the algorithms e.g. Grassfire, Dijkstra's and A*. In conclusion the course stood up to my expectations, provide me with necessary knowledge in motion planning problems and show me techniques on how to build simulation programs for robotic motion planning procedure.

By Wahyu G

Apr 23, 2018

The course is really a brief introduction to the world of motion planning, so the course content is so little that you can finish it in 2-3 days, really. The course's programming assignment grading system is pretty awful, so you will spend most of your time trying to look up for small details that doesn't behave as perfectly same as the prepared answers. Besides all of that, I love how the lecturer present the material, it is not boring and easy to understand.

By Don L

Jul 4, 2021

I liked the course and the content. I find in these courses, you spend a bit of time trying to reverse engineer the stub code you're given to understand the question in the coding exercises, which makes it feel a little less about the Motion Planning and mre about Matlab's quirks at times. For me that made it take longer to complete the exercises than the estimates. The only real improvement I'd ask for is more.... take the topic a bit further.

By Zlatko E

Dec 30, 2019

The lectures were concise and well presented. I find the course a bit short, but evidently that was a choice of the author. However, the exercise part is done in a strange manner: the codes that should be written are utterly short, yet due to the lack of explanations in the exercise description and error messages from the grader you can spend hours (or days, if you don't dig into the forum) debugging the code, while not learning anything useful.