Chevron Left
Back to Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis by Stanford University

4.8
stars
679 ratings

About the Course

Learn how to model social and economic networks and their impact on human behavior. How do networks form, why do they exhibit certain patterns, and how does their structure impact diffusion, learning, and other behaviors? We will bring together models and techniques from economics, sociology, math, physics, statistics and computer science to answer these questions. The course begins with some empirical background on social and economic networks, and an overview of concepts used to describe and measure networks. Next, we will cover a set of models of how networks form, including random network models as well as strategic formation models, and some hybrids. We will then discuss a series of models of how networks impact behavior, including contagion, diffusion, learning, and peer influences. You can find a more detailed syllabus here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Networks-Online-Syllabus.pdf You can find a short introductory videao here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top reviews

LN

Jul 2, 2021

I was new to network theory but the concepts were very well articulated. A whole new way of looking at what makes social relationships, favor exchange(s) and social networks work. Well worth the time.

AB

Apr 21, 2021

Very well done and explained, full of insight in the social network analysis!!! Lots of ideas about using it in company and team behaviours! Economical analysis of financial contagion is insightful!!!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 150 Reviews for Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

By Carlos J D

Aug 16, 2016

Nice course, well paced, great teacher!

By WICHAYA P

May 27, 2021

This course is very great and useful.

By Moreno M

Dec 29, 2019

Great Professor, enlightening course!

By Andre S

Feb 16, 2021

Excellent course! Very didactic!!!!

By ANTONINO A

Jan 22, 2017

Fantastic and interesting course.

By Ayushi R

May 30, 2020

Great Course. I learned a lot.

By pranav n

Sep 5, 2018

needs more practical exercises

By Sebastián F

Dec 22, 2018

Very nice and useful course.

By CHARLOTTE P

Jul 1, 2020

I am enjoying the course

By Sourav M

May 24, 2020

Great course..!!

By John B

Sep 10, 2017

Wonderful course

By Phan T B T

May 31, 2021

Great course!!1

By Rijul K

Dec 3, 2018

greaaaat course

By Богдан

Nov 25, 2016

Very intresting

By Anand A R

Apr 27, 2020

Great Course!

By Mojtaba A

Oct 27, 2017

Great teacher

By Antonio C

Oct 14, 2020

big course

By Christiano F d C

Oct 4, 2020

Very good!

By Mohammad N C

Mar 17, 2021

Excellent

By Pablo E

Feb 12, 2018

Excellent

By Zaruhi H

Oct 20, 2017

Thanks!

By swapnil s

Oct 12, 2016

Great!!

By Andy P

Oct 18, 2016

great!

By anuj

May 30, 2017

best

By David S

Aug 4, 2022

This is a fascinating and stimulating course in which I learned enough to make my brain overheat at the end of every session. It's heavy for the non-mathmetician, but you just have to struggle to keep up when the going gets numerically tough. My one gripe is that it leans too far towards formulas, and not enough to real-world examples and application. For example, in Week 6 admist the equations, there was suddenly a look at how it applies to drop-out rates in the labour market. That was all too brief, and more of this would really lift the course. Jackson really knows his onions however and is an interesting and sympathetic tutor.