Chevron Left
Back to Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis by Stanford University

4.8
stars
625 ratings
141 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to model social and economic networks and their impact on human behavior. How do networks form, why do they exhibit certain patterns, and how does their structure impact diffusion, learning, and other behaviors? We will bring together models and techniques from economics, sociology, math, physics, statistics and computer science to answer these questions. The course begins with some empirical background on social and economic networks, and an overview of concepts used to describe and measure networks. Next, we will cover a set of models of how networks form, including random network models as well as strategic formation models, and some hybrids. We will then discuss a series of models of how networks impact behavior, including contagion, diffusion, learning, and peer influences. You can find a more detailed syllabus here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Networks-Online-Syllabus.pdf You can find a short introductory videao here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top reviews

AB
Apr 21, 2021

Very well done and explained, full of insight in the social network analysis!!! Lots of ideas about using it in company and team behaviours! Economical analysis of financial contagion is insightful!!!

MR
Nov 1, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. The professor is really good and covers quite a lot of ground during the lectures. Good way to get into complex networks! Probably gonna do some studying on my own now :)

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 137 Reviews for Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

By Marco R

Feb 22, 2020

Useful, well taught, well organized. I suppose the coronavirus epidemic gives an opportunity for a real world example next year

By 李楠楠

Feb 13, 2017

Easier to understand network structure, utilities, equilibrium after illustration. Interesting and attracting course to take.

By Amirhessam Y

Oct 30, 2016

The course is exceptional, I just wish the instructor would also include chapters that could help researchers in the field.

By Ali K

Feb 5, 2020

It was really useful. The instructor was clear and the videos and slides are good. I enjoyed empirical exercise a lot.

By anubhav g

Aug 12, 2016

A great course which gives an overall idea regarding the tools required to study networks and its applications.

By Nidhi S

Oct 8, 2016

A beautiful course that is mathematically rigorous and requires great understanding. Thank you :)

By Jose M B L

Dec 29, 2020

tough introduction to social and economic network models but very comprehensive and insightful

By Georgios S

Feb 14, 2021

Excellent course. Very helpful for graduate students, on both economics and social sciences!

By Taras Z

Dec 2, 2018

Good introduction to the topic! Assignments were helpful as well as optional lecture videos.

By Bei C

Nov 29, 2017

Thank you Professor, your course is extremely useful for my research work in Social Network.

By Semyon F

Jan 29, 2021

Very useful, using all-around instruments and exciting. Would study further with pleasure!

By Sihua D

Sep 18, 2016

Great course by Matt Jackson, who is one of the leading scholars in this area! Thanks!

By John J E V

Jun 10, 2020

Excelent course, I would like to continue learning about economic networks analysis.

By Miguel R S

Apr 12, 2017

Thank you so so much for doing this. One step at a time towards universal education.

By Apostolos A

Aug 28, 2019

Concise and full of useful information. Helped me a lot in my thesis preparation.

By Kajal G

Nov 3, 2019

Amazing course, one can learn a lot about network structures and their patterns.

By Mikhail K

Nov 26, 2017

Extremely interesting and very well presented course. Many thanks to Matthew!!!

By Cailean O

Jan 30, 2018

Professor Jackson explains the concepts very clearly; great course. Thank you!

By Sandeep R

May 19, 2017

Amazing Course. A must of all research scholars interested in Social Networks

By Lorenzo M L

Jun 14, 2020

This course opened my eyes to an entire discipline. Very interesting! Thanks

By Maik S

Oct 9, 2019

I like that this course is build upon a textbook. Makes it easy to follow.

By Benjamin P

Jan 6, 2020

Excellent course and lecturer. I am forever grateful for this experience.

By Abel V

Jan 23, 2018

Excelente curso, con un muy buen balance entre la teoría y la aplicación.

By Gubanov A

Jul 3, 2019

The course is very useful. The teacher is great also, thank's a lot.

By Adarsh M

Feb 5, 2018

Wish we had projects to work on. Excellent theory material though.