Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
14,391 ratings

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JG

Aug 22, 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

GC

Dec 29, 2022

Great course! A solid way to introduce a learner to programming in SQL!! Sadie is an amazing online instructor! Thank you to Sadie and UC Davis for offering this course through the Coursera platform!!

Filter by:

2926 - 2950 of 3,783 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By christopher T

Jun 24, 2021

This course was good but I found at times the words being said didn't match the text in the video. It would have been more helpful "practice as you go" as well.

By Eli R

May 29, 2019

Lectures build at a slow, comfortable pace, but be prepared to discuss things on the message board, and read classmates' comments, or the quizzes will rock you.

By KHUSHBOO C

Dec 27, 2021

The project required deeper understanding than what was taught in the course and a few minor details were missed while teaching how to apply different syntaxes

By Juan J E B

Mar 31, 2020

Es una excelente introducción al uso de SQL para consultas sencillas, uniones, etc...Me encantó la verdad, un excelente trabajo por parte de los organizadores.

By Beth M

Jan 26, 2018

Great Course and instruction. Gave enough information to easily get started and also many resources to help increase your knowledge. Assignments were relevant.

By L T

Apr 28, 2022

Really did help me understand SQL better. The main issue I had was with the final assignment, since the tool provided to analyze the dataset was very limited.

By Paul M

Feb 18, 2020

I wish there were more practice exercises in between the videos. It would also be more helpful if there were more visuals/animations to accompany the lessons.

By Carlos J R M

Jan 3, 2021

Although the course was very hands-on, and the Instructor made everything clear I was left wanting some more reading material for learning about Data Science

By Raunit S

Nov 9, 2020

Great course, provided a really good introduction. However they course could have provided some more examples as to how to actually use the functions taught.

By Minglun Z

Aug 19, 2020

More exercise will be much better. For now, it is not enough for the learner to apply their skills learned in this course so they cannot master their skills.

By Chanya N

Jan 28, 2022

Overall content is good. But for the beginner who has no background, it would be more helpful to show the result of coding on each statement while teaching.

By נס ג

Apr 18, 2020

Great for begginers, I'd suggest to learn with W3 school sql tutorial in parallel as it has more concrete examples and functions you can try by yourself.

By Marina B

May 2, 2022

great course and really liked the instructor

the assignments made me think and re-visit material, but instructions were clear and the problems a good level

By Dav C

Jul 22, 2022

Great learning SQL basics. I took away a star because some of the later concepts like CASE were not well explained and I had to consult outside sources

By Michael B

Apr 28, 2022

Peer assignment needs to be cleaned up a bit. There is not a lot of overlap in tables due to the limitations yelp imposed but overall, very informative.

By Harsh M

Mar 13, 2022

Everything was in the best order, i suppose, but at times I had to watch and read other content to get the concept completely. But good way to refresh.

By Jake M

May 13, 2021

Good course overall, I wish it had more work along with the teacher kind of work like on Linkdin. Otherwise there are some great tips and explanations.

By Katy H

Mar 19, 2021

Great course but there were typos in the assignments that made them hard to understand and the editor wouldn't allow things like INSTR and temp tables.

By VAIBHAV S

Jul 30, 2022

Good introductory topics. However, not a detailed introduction to any specific queries. This course is for someone who already knows few sql queries.

By Winda W

Nov 21, 2020

It's fun thing to learn SQL in the first place, but the instructor seem like just read the script maybe?

But I like the quizzes and coding assignments!

By Eike V

Feb 26, 2020

Overall this course is quite good to get a first understanding of SQL. Although i missed some more explanations or examples for complex data analysis.

By Aleksandr S

Jun 15, 2020

The course is useful, but in my opinion there must be added more practice during the course and way more examples and explanations in week 3 module.

By Sriraj K

Feb 10, 2019

Some if the query running environments were not working on an iPAD. So it was very difficult to complete get answers. Otherwise this course is good.

By Harsh S

Aug 24, 2020

This Course got me started from 0 to 99 .

VERY HELPFUL COURSE .

The project gave me an outline which will help me to set any data with right steps .

By Muhammad k

Apr 23, 2020

Great course, but maybe could use a bit more practice materials between lectures so you keep coding along and learning what you see in the lectures