Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
13,074 ratings

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JG

Aug 22, 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP

Apr 5, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

Filter by:

3351 - 3375 of 3,470 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Abishek H

Jul 16, 2022

I think that the content in this course is poorly structured. It becomes way too challenging at the end. Also there are some mistakes in the videos which are not yet addressed even after repeated pointing out by learners in the discussion forum. It is surprising that UC Davis offers content which is slightly unprofessional.

By Dean B

Nov 30, 2020

The lack of ability to follow along due to no common software or commands was extremely irritating. The brilliant idea that I should investigate one online and figure out how it works was what I thought I was taking the class for. Why not choose an open source program and focus on the methodologies?

By Scott K

Dec 12, 2020

Lectures were very bad. It sounded like she was reading a speech that was written the night before, with grammatical errors and all. Both over-explained simple things, and under explained complex things. I did most of my learning on https://www.sqlitetutorial.net in order to pass the assignments.

By ssagnik s

Dec 6, 2020

the course is completely theoretical and not use MySQL with using the theory you can get help in work but real life database and application is not included in this course so if you want to learn and apply directly you can do that in this course, which decrease the interest in course materials.

By Polina

Feb 6, 2018

The course gives basic elements of SQL, but there is no practice in the course (beside graded assignments), code is shown only in presentation (you cannot copy and and see how it works), and learning SQL without constant practice is nearly impossible. The peer graded assignment is messy.

By Kasia

Jun 15, 2018

Course is very theoretical, the teachers just reads presentation with SQL functions, there's no way to actually learn SQL by listening to it. Also she doesn't provide information about essentials of databases, so the beginners may not understand the concept of it.

By Michael U

Jan 30, 2022

i​ liked the lessons but the last project is completly buggy and not easy to understand what they want from me. it's a pain and I really regret taking that course because after putting that much effort in it, it's very frustrating to has such a poor final test.

By Maud O

May 16, 2021

It is a good conceptual introduction to SQL, but as many other reviews say: it lacks the real hands-on work that teaches you coding skills and good practice in choosing different query strategies.

Overal I am on the fence on whether it was worth the costs..

By Tomás L

Dec 11, 2018

The mistakes in the presentations and the massive ambiguity in the final assignment were a complete letdown for me. All in all, I did learn everything that was taught, but I wonder how much of that was made possible thanks to my previous experience in IT.

By Eva P

Mar 26, 2018

Good course to learn the basics but not worth the price you pay. Until week 3, everything is fine, but week 4 is a disaster. The final assignment is very confusing and sometimes it is hard to know what you are being asked. Not recommended.

By Jeanette F

Sep 29, 2021

The videos were not as informative as I would've liked them to be. When you input incorrect code there weren't many resources to find where your mistake was. It would be helpful to have a tutor or someone to chat with for help.

By Flora D

May 27, 2022

No reference answers for practice questions and final project. Have no where to learn what to do is right or ideal. Poor function support. Some basic functions like Instr() can not be used. I'm done with this course.

By Yu B

Sep 6, 2020

The course has no transcript for review. And the system of SQL exercise is also wrong when you are using “WHERE” Clause and “=” signal. Because of the mistakes of system I even can not make any progress. Please check.

By Bobalo R

May 5, 2020

The course went fine up until the final assignment. It was very irritating to do, because of the incomplete database, broken correlations, different tables stating different things, which should've been the same, etc.

By Yue L

Apr 5, 2022

the video does not provide much infomation on how codes are structured. the readings are in pieces. and no tuitor for quized and homeworks. I would not imagine a 0 knowledge person would comprehend this course well

By 恩力 陳

Aug 19, 2021

bad experience on exercise:

In the course, you will learn different functions of sqlite but they merely bring you along with examples but pop out with tons of different exercises without giving you a single hint

By Yian G

Mar 1, 2021

The instructor spent too much time on unnecessary and self-explaining topics, and on the other hand failed to explain some important details. I ended up skipping much of the course and googled a lot by myself.

By Anisha Z

Apr 3, 2020

Decent introduction. I recommend https://mode.com/sql-tutorial for a better introduction to SQL.

Assignments are very badly designed. Also the questions in the final assignment are unnecessarily repetitive!

By Sajiri V

May 14, 2021

The lectures were not easy to comprehend for a computer language. Though the course mentions it is a beginner-level course, the lecturer jumps to a certain part where there is a learning curve expected.

By Ligeng X

Sep 27, 2018

A little too easy, not challenging at all, given this is a beginner level class, I'll give it two stars. You could finish the whole course on Saturday if you get up early plus Sunday if you do not.

By Fan Y

Sep 13, 2021

Even reading the prompter throughout the course, the instructor has been extremely nervous and unsmooth in reading. This is the biggest downside of the course and eclipses its good sides.

By Athalia B

Feb 12, 2022

Didn't feel it actually helped me learn because there wasn't any step-by-step instruction. It just was videos w/script and then quizzes and you were expected to know the content.

By Dan C D B

Feb 26, 2022

The instructor is so hard to follow that it made me not want to continue with the entire specialization. Although I really like the challenges and the idea of peer-reviewing.

By Gayathri V

Dec 10, 2021

Hi, First of all I don't like peer assignment concepts. second especially in joins videos if you have shown examples with output, little elaborate, will be more useful.

By Scotty O

Jun 30, 2022

Below expectation for such a high profile university. Luckily my basic background in SQL was enough to get me through the activities because the lectures were poor.