Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
7,900 ratings
2,051 reviews

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JP
Apr 5, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

AL
Aug 21, 2020

A comprehensive course that covers major aspects of query building and retrieval in a management system. The topics were delivered well and the materials/assignments were relevant for skill-building.

Filter by:

1551 - 1575 of 2,043 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Adarsh P M

Sep 24, 2020

Presentation was Nice, But Skipped few basic concepts in the beginning like types of DBMS and how why we use RDBMS in particular.

Also could have explained better on few topics in Week 4 sessions

By Patricia D

Jun 22, 2020

It's so pitying that we can send more than one time our end test. That decreases the quality and credibility of the end certification.

But the course is very well done: nice teacher and content!

By Edmund D

Jun 26, 2019

Nice that it doesn't expect us to know SQL and programming well. But not nearly enough exercises to understand how to do the queries well. I am feeling lost on the practice tests especially.

By Aditya S

May 14, 2020

A well-structured course for those who are eager to gain knowledge about SQL.

The activity, test, and the mentor are very good and the best part is they showcase a bit of industry knowledge.

By Gianina G

May 14, 2020

Great course, with well explained notion, well documented. The only thing I could add is that some exercises could be updated. Creates confusion when trying to solve.

Great presentation.

By Yaroslav C

Oct 23, 2020

Honestly it's not obvious why it is called sql for DATA SCIENCE.

In my opinion it's just SQL Basics.

It's pity that there weren't window functions.

But generally the course is good enough.

By Raymond M

Jun 2, 2018

great beginner class and also teaches critical logic thinking, which is what most business want out of Analysis type of jobs or Data Science in general, something useful and actionable.

By Patrick H

May 20, 2020

There were a handful of errors in the video lecture's text on screen and lecturing. Some parts were hard to follow because of that. Otherwise the assignments and material was helpful!

By Ishwari L

Mar 26, 2018

Great course work! Loved the pace of the course and the examples. The instructors speech was pleasing and easy to understand. Would have loved more difficult SQL queries for practice.

By amr a a e

Oct 26, 2018

Thank you to everyone who is in charge of this course. But the training platform is not good and does not support all orders sql and there must be training after each lesson. Thanks

By Vishwesh M

Jun 26, 2020

A great course to get started with SQL.The course is well structured and the pace is just fine!Coding questions at the end of the module really help in testing the concepts learnt.

By Juan M F B

Jun 21, 2019

Very good explanations during the course, but we were working with data that weren't making sense, like texts data types.

A lot of records without real foreign key in their tables.

By yogeshwari.v

Jun 12, 2020

I am a beginner for this course.This course build my knowledge in sql. Joins topic was little bit tough.other than that ,I understand everything.I enjoyed this course very much.

By Sib S P

Sep 11, 2020

its a good course to learn basic SQL but it teaches SQLite which pretty much the same as SQL with few changes. The course is good with many assignments but the test was tough.

By PRATYASHA M

Jul 3, 2020

THE COURSE IS SO MUCH COMPACT AND EASY TO UNDERSTAND FOR THE BEGINNERS. THE VIDEOS ARE VERY MUCH COMPACT AND SHORT SO ONE CAN EASY UNDERSTAND WITHOUT LOOSING HIS\HER PATIENCE.

By Kirstin L

May 27, 2020

Actual course was interesting and engaging. The final assignment had questions that were not written with enough detail. I was also offended by language used by a reviewer.

By Jack B

May 12, 2020

Great course. Helps to learn the fundamentals but there are not enough opportunities to really practice the coding aspect, which is what I wanted to get out of the course.

By Спиридонов Д Д

Sep 14, 2020

The course explains essentials of SQL well but practice assignments should be placed after every video containing some new SQL syntax to consolidate acquiring knowledge.

By Daniel C

Aug 15, 2019

Great course for SQL, still pretty beginner level, but would recommend some previous SQL experience here as the section on joins and sub-queries is a little challenging.

By Aniko F

Mar 5, 2018

Very nice training videos. The assessment in the end was a bit far from the training but maybe it is also the question of knowing the data and practice of assessments.

By PP

Feb 2, 2018

Video's were very helpful and well organised. The end assignment however was badly phrased and overall confusing. Therefore it took way longer than the stated 2 hours.

By Soham D G

Jun 28, 2020

The course is interactive and apt for beginners. The pace is perfect. The flow of the course and the way to guide us to the right answers in the quiz could be better.

By Siddharth M

Oct 7, 2020

Sadie did a great job with explain SQL concepts. Only thing I didnt like was peer review assignment for which I had to beg people to review mine to get mine graded.

By Bhavesh W

Jun 16, 2019

This course is extremely helpful,4 start for that.Only if it had assignments along with the sample data to measure the range of our learning will be much helpful.

By Eli R

May 29, 2019

Lectures build at a slow, comfortable pace, but be prepared to discuss things on the message board, and read classmates' comments, or the quizzes will rock you.