Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
10,485 ratings
2,744 reviews

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JP
Apr 5, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

JG
Aug 22, 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

Filter by:

2226 - 2250 of 2,790 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Michael F

Jul 14, 2021

I must say for a video learning course that wasn't too bad. It videos were not too long or too short for each section.

By Stephen E

May 1, 2021

There were typos in the final assignment worksheet that made the questions harder to understand than they needed to be.

By Siddhant S

Jul 12, 2020

it was well structured but it could have been better. at times i felt i needed more examples. but overall it was good.

By Iason B

Sep 27, 2020

It would be more helpful if there were examples step by step during the courses, so I would do them live in my SQLite

By Vipul D

Jul 13, 2020

Excellent primer course for SQL. While the primary language used is SQLite, it is highly interchangeable with MySQL,

By Jigar _

Jul 12, 2020

this course complete for beginner where he or she can understand the concept and there are lot of thing to learn .

By Junwen

Jun 30, 2018

If there were more videos for the operation on computer, it would be more helpful for me to understand the lecture.

By Dimitrios G K

Jan 12, 2021

The lesson is great with the only negative I could say is that there are is no documentation for courses' lessons.

By Manuel A R H

Jan 31, 2021

There are a few mistakes on the video explanation. But anyhow, those are precisely clear, and easy to understand.

By Yonax L

Jun 6, 2020

Good material for beginners. I wish there are more practice quizzes and real life application or problem solving.

By Anna G

Jan 7, 2020

Some slides are wrong. Some info need to be updated. Some Q/A are just based on EXACTLY what the instructor said.

By JS P

May 30, 2018

A little more practical examples and exercises with a consistent dataset throughout would have been appreciated.

By anuja s

Oct 29, 2020

It was a nice experience. Concepts were made crisp and clear. Those who have no knowledge of SQL can go for it.

By Abhyudaya A

May 17, 2020

Good Course, could have been more elaborate but the instructor was very friendly and a unique way of teaching.

By Camilo L M

Sep 15, 2020

The course provides simplicity and an entry-level understanding to write complex SQL queries for data science

By ‪Yakir G

Apr 17, 2020

some of the questions were not written so clear

but oevrall im sutisfy with the result and with the lvl work

By nitish

Mar 12, 2020

good learning curve.good for complete beginners to explore on SQL

The use cases and assignment were top notch.

By Manuel J

May 18, 2021

The slides could be a little bit more complete and some of the questions are misleading. The rest was great!

By Amit P

Jul 24, 2020

Quiet through course focusing on brushing your SQL that can be applied further for Data Science & Analytics.

By NIKHIL S

Jun 15, 2020

It was a very beneficial course for me and also my first online course with Coursera which I have completed.

By Vera B

Dec 16, 2019

The course is really good. I assume it would be great if professionals can also review our final assignment.

By Mauro B

Jul 5, 2021

Very direct, with just a few examples, might be a challenge for newcomers to fully understand the concepts

By Rishikesh a

Oct 6, 2020

good, the language used for this explanation is very simple & anyone can learn sql from this course easily

By Eunica N

Nov 28, 2020

Good enough to have a basic idea what SQL is, but not enough to have the skill to apply SQL in real life.

By Céline L J

Mar 12, 2019

Would be good to have a little more examples and coding exercices during the course to assimilate better.