Chevron Left
Back to Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research by Erasmus University Rotterdam

4.7
stars
119 ratings
30 reviews

About the Course

Welcome! Are you looking to learn more about how to conduct scientific research, specifically in an urban or local context? Then you have found the right course: Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research by the Institute for Housing and Urban Development Studies (IHS), Erasmus University Rotterdam. During the course you will gain more insight in the different steps of the research cycle, and build a firm foundation for your own future research endeavors. Before any (urban) researcher may start conducting research, it is crucial to understand the different aspects and elements of doing research. The course will guide you through the various steps of the research cycle to provide you with the basic knowledge necessary for any Master-level program, but with a special focus on urban and local development. The course starts with introductory lectures on the problem statement, research objective, empirical cycle and the research question. Over the following weeks you will also learn the components and criteria of the theoretical framework and operationalization, research strategies, and the collection and analysis of quantitative and qualitative data. You will be provided with the necessary tools to understand and evaluate these key steps in scientific research by watching video lectures with in-video questions and by completing the final peer review, which will use all the elements you have learnt throughout the course....

Top reviews

TS
Nov 22, 2020

Such a rigorous, thorough and enjoyable course - you really feel like you are learning fantastic content and technical skills. it behaves well as a foundational framework for urban analytics.

AT
Jul 16, 2020

A very useful course and worth to join. Learned new applied Social Science methods in specific details for doing urban research.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 31 Reviews for Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research

By Syeda I N

Sep 24, 2019

It has helped me a lot. It was a very effective course on Social Science Methods for Urban Research in Studying Cities. Thanks a lot to Course era and the IHS family to give me such an opportunity to gather knowledge once again after completing UMDT 5 in 2014. It was great!!

By Augusto A

May 26, 2020

This is a great course for those who want to pursue in studying cities.

By Katheryn J P P

Oct 7, 2020

Very good course. It helped me with my degree project.

By Satwant B

Dec 27, 2019

The course on Studying cities has helped me to expand my scope pf research in urban studies form Historical research methods to a interdisciplinary methodology. The video lectures, notes and assignments have kept me on my toes and enhanced my research skills as social scientist.

By Caroline c

Dec 17, 2020

The course really helped me to have a clear picture on conceptualizing research with substantial knowledge on relevant procedures. It is going to help me in my present job as well as to prepare proposal for my PhD.

By Nurbek A

Dec 13, 2020

This course is really interesting in design and the way it examines knowledge, attention, and general logic. Itself, the course is very important and helps to provide insight into the learning experience.

By Tabinda S

Nov 23, 2020

Such a rigorous, thorough and enjoyable course - you really feel like you are learning fantastic content and technical skills. it behaves well as a foundational framework for urban analytics.

By Аксанов Д О

Mar 21, 2020

The course is enjoyable and exciting! Being a non-specialist I got great pleasure studying this interesting and comprehensive course to improve my general knowledge.

By Aye N C T

Jul 16, 2020

A very useful course and worth to join. Learned new applied Social Science methods in specific details for doing urban research.

By Gabriel M

Dec 21, 2020

Excellent course ir you are in a process of making a thesis in a urban problem. It is very organized with a great content

By Michael

Jul 13, 2020

Exceptionally well crafted modules. The videos and assignments encourage and task learning .

By Lina J

Nov 4, 2020

A very clear and concise course, good marking methods.

By Arwin B

Jan 8, 2021

Difficult to accomplish yet so satisfying to complete

By Jigme T

Nov 12, 2020

Very insightful and lively learning materials

By Mohammed T

Jan 24, 2021

Super useful, I would highly recommend it!!

By Jannatul F R

Aug 31, 2020

Excellent course and I have learnt a lot.

By Akpene G

Dec 9, 2020

The course was educative and informative

By Saurabh P

Jun 8, 2020

Great Teachers and very useful course.

By Rakib B

Nov 12, 2020

Comprehensive and well defined Course

By Basel T

Jul 27, 2020

very good and informative

By Sergio A E F

Jul 18, 2020

Good learning experience!

By Analyn E B

Dec 26, 2020

Thank you very much!

By Arbe F

Nov 7, 2020

Excellent materials

By Safa A

Nov 18, 2020

excellent

By Abhimanyu C

Jul 14, 2020

A really good basic course that will give you a fundamental understanding of conducting local/urban research. The videos are self-explanatory and informative, gives insight into actually putting your research ideas into practice. However, I feel the last part of the course, week 5, is a little hectic to get your work reviewed by others. Secondly, I am not completely convinced about peer-reviewed evaluation, because different people have different levels of understanding and processing ideas. I would like professors linked to this course to give their final feedback on the work.