Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming in Swift 5

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming in Swift 5 by LearnQuest

4.3
stars
716 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Introduction to Programming in Swift 5. In this course we will introduce you to the absolute basics of the Swift programming language. Whether you are a brand new programmer or have experience with other programming languages this course is for you. Some of the things you will learn in this course are: • An Introduction to Swift 5 programming concepts • Installing the necessary tools • Working with data such as Integers and Strings • Creating reusable code with functions • Working with data constructs such as arrays and dictionaries • Object-oriented programming • Model View Controller By the end of this course you will know how to build simple programs with the Swift programming language and you will be ready to learn iOS mobile development....

Top reviews

KD

Sep 11, 2020

A well designed course and good tutorials. Just need to be a bit more in detail to explain the core elements as i found some of there were like not discussed in detail. But overall 5/5

SC

May 6, 2021

Thank you for such a good course. It is very interesting and very good understandable. Devslopes are really cool guys and I am happy that Coursera has provided this material.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 205 Reviews for Introduction to Programming in Swift 5

By Robert B

Feb 24, 2020

The course is out of date. Despite being labeled as "Introduction to Programming in Swift 5", many elements are copied from older versions of swift. The entire section on MVC is using Swift circa 2017, which is different from what Xcode and Swift do now. Some tests include content that probably was in the older version of the course, but was not ported over, so was never taught. Overall, I'm giving it 3 stars because it's OK at introducing the concepts in general, but a lot of stuff just doesn't work anymore.

By Ed S

Mar 26, 2020

First off, the program that is used is only for Macs. It does not list that anywhere, so if you have a PC, you are out of luck. Secondly, and most importantly, the instructor does not teach well. He teaches this course, that is listed as a beginner course, like he is teaching it to a coworker who already knows how to code. He introduces aspects, does not discuss what they mean or what they do or what they are used for. He runs through things quickly, so if you are a beginner, you will be immediately lost. At one point, he literally says that if you want to know more about a subject he is supposedly teaching, you should use google to find out more about it. Multiple times in this course I have had to google things he talks about because he doesn't explain anything. Lastly, the quizzes do not accurately match what is being taught. I have gone though the videos and the reading and then can't pass the quizzes because what is being quizzed was never covered.

I signed up for the Coursera Pro ($400) program to get into certifications like this one and am sorely regretting my decision.

By Jae S

Mar 25, 2020

Course is outdated

By Eduardo G Z

May 9, 2020

The content itself is not bad, but the professors should organize better their content or at least leave some reference material to study for. Also, they should have prepared the content for each video and not improvise it on the run.

By Buddhi

Aug 3, 2020

First week of the course is clear and well taught. Second and third weeks are jokes. Those videos should be in Youtube not here. And quizzes are also jokes. Some questions are not related to what he taught on the course and we have to type some of the answers which can be typed in different ways. Some useful things were taught on the week 4. This course is clearly not for complete beginners for programming. You should have previous knowledge in coding and basic stuff. I wonder whether Cousera team even check the quality of the content of their courses.

By Vishnu K (

Aug 5, 2020

I liked this course very much...

For those who are thinking if they have can learn it if they have windows. I can say yes you can like I did. Just download Swift for Windows from github and write your codes in notepad and save it with .swift extension. But also select all file types from the drop down menu of file type before saving.

I have a Python background. So, I could relate a lot in this course. As the instructor says he was just touching the course surface I could relate with that and many are saying that this course is pretty old but still you can learn a lot and I don't think that the syntax of writing any code changes in any languages it is just the functions that get increased. So, I recommend you taking this course.

By Palak G

May 26, 2020

One question in the last quiz is marked wrong. There is no inheritance for structs but the correct option states otherwise. Please check.

By EDJRO L F

Feb 21, 2020

The course content is great. But the learning staff in the forum was absolutely unresponsive. No one replied when I needed help, which was frustrating.

By Roman K

May 30, 2020

Pros:

lecturers lively and emotionally tell. On the top walked on important concepts: OOP, ICC, optionals.

This course actually exists on coursera.

Cons:

Several times lecturer just says: "Go google this". Thank you, but I can google on my own, without any courses.

Сourse materials are done carelessly. typos are found in the code. It was also strange when the lecturer began to print the code, he didn’t succeed, and he simply said: that in general, somehow it can be done.

In the part about the MVP, outdated information. 2017 year, Karl!

The part about MVP is poorly mounted, the lecturer repeats the same eyeliners several times. All this creates a feeling of negligence. And hcode is constantly crashing.

By Muhammad H

Jan 16, 2020

Doesn't cover a lot of important details in swift, and questions often feature topics that have not been even mentioned.

By Kanav G

Mar 31, 2020

You need background in OOP to understand what is going on and this course just touches the surface.

By Deleted A

Apr 4, 2020

The site doesn't seem to be an efficient way to learn things. I'll go get some textbooks...

By Roberto R

Jul 23, 2020

Imho, If you are really a beginner you should start from another language, not from swift. If you have some basic knowledge, you should simply read first the official documentation provided by Apple regarding how to code in swift (it's free by the way). If you have some experience this course is a complete waste of time. Luckily I'm not paying for this course, otherwise will be also a total waste of money.

The title of the course is misleading, it should clearly states "Introduction to Programming" with a subtitle reporting that the course will be based on swift.

By Alan C

Jan 7, 2022

The initial content of the course was good up until weeks 3 and 4. The title of this course is misleading because none of the videos are updated to explain Xcode 13 or Swift 5. It should be renamed to Swift 3 unless they want to update their videos.

By Kenn A

Aug 26, 2021

Course is not up to date. It was very difficult to follow as a beginner as the layout of the windows in his version of Xcode is very different from the latest version. Terrible.

By Alexander S

Jun 6, 2021

Outdated

By Philip B

Feb 29, 2020

This course is well constructed and the course representatives presented the material in a way that was easy to follow and understand. I'm happy I choose to complete the 'Introduction to Programming in Swift 5' course with Coursera.

By SAMAKSH S

Apr 10, 2020

This is the best course for those who is the beginner in this language and also the tutor is also use good teaching technique.

By temitayo i

May 7, 2020

Fantastic Course. You not just learn the basics, but you're also driven to be thorough by reading referenced materials.

By Ilya K

Apr 15, 2020

very very detailed and at the same time very easily explained. Like the Quiz parts and interesting exercises

By Md. A H Z 1

Apr 28, 2020

This is an awesome course. I have learned the basics of swift very easily. Thanks to instructors.

By Mitul M

May 7, 2020

Very Good Course, the way of delivering knowledge is also very good.

Thank You Guys, Keep it up.

By Julia S

Apr 10, 2022

Course is really not bad.

The only point for criticism is that after the first introduction to programmin SWIFT, there's a hugh jump in knowledge that you have to know before taking the assessment in week 2 or 3.

Made it because I'm already a skilled programmer, but w/o any sort of info and programming experience no chance to pass the assessement. Some more Videos on Structs, Enums and such things would be nice for a good preparation on the assessment.

By Penny

Sep 22, 2020

There’s some really good information in this course & the trainers are engaging and informative BUT it does veer wildly from basic beginner stuff to much more advanced stuff in the blink of an eye. It requires a lot of independent reading and research by the student, and if you are prepared to do that, then you will get the most out of this course. Something to be aware of is that if you submit your quizzes via the coursera app then you may find that you will get marked wrong even for the correct answers. My advice is to do all quizzes via the website directly to avoid this bug.

By Nik O

May 25, 2020

I was looking for a next level course on Swift 5 after not being able to locate anything else (to my liking) on LinkedIn Learning. Current Xcode is at version 11 and Swift 5, however some of the material in the courses are still referencing IOS10 (it's IOS13 currently).

Some part of the XCODE UI has also changed and that necessitated me to google and locate where the buttons are located.

I do however love the MVC and OOP which I have used on MonkeyC (a Garmin coding language) but was not really utilising it to the fullest extend.