Chevron Left
Back to Teaching the Violin and Viola: Creating a Healthy Foundation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teaching the Violin and Viola: Creating a Healthy Foundation by Northwestern University

4.7
stars
157 ratings
54 reviews

About the Course

Join us as we explore the fundamental principles and early stages of teaching violin and viola through a series of engaging video lectures and lesson demonstrations, including: 1) Master classes with some of the world’s top string pedagogues, 2) Individual lesson demos of teaching violin/viola set up, left and right hand technique and pieces from the early violin/viola repertoire, 3) Group lesson demos of teaching music theory, ear training and fun activities that encourage good playing habits, and 4) A “field trip” to the violin shop, where we will outfit a new beginning student with a proper instrument and bow. You’ll also engage in a series of discussions and reflections with colleagues and peers across the globe. Upon completion of this course, we hope you’ll return to your studio with confidence, a new curriculum, and a renewed approach to sharing with your students the joyful experience of making beautiful music....

Top reviews

RM

Mar 29, 2018

I learned some and revisited many concepts pertaining to teaching violin and viola, and also learn many new songs similar to the Suzuki book 1 songs. The videos are well made, and to the point.

MH

Mar 15, 2017

An amazing course that was just what I was looking for as a violinist who is interested in learning to teach. My kids are working through the curriculum now and we are all having a great time!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 54 Reviews for Teaching the Violin and Viola: Creating a Healthy Foundation

By Janeth R

Nov 05, 2015

I am really satisfied with the class. I love your teaching techniques. Thank you really.

By David L

Mar 17, 2016

top knotch! great learning tools and instruction was easy to follow! Thank you!

By Pu J

May 30, 2020

Very helpful approaches to teach children and older students, thank you!

By Isabelle I

Jul 24, 2017

Excellent course, very well developed and systematic with curriculum.

By Daniel M B

Apr 05, 2016

Great Course, a lot of tools and information, very well presented

By 张旭雷

Nov 08, 2015

It's very helpful. I'm so luckily to meet this course.

By Elizabeth W

Nov 10, 2015

An excellent resource for violin teachers!!!

By Shunyo M

Aug 25, 2019

Can not wait to continue........thanks...

By Elizabeth J

May 17, 2019

Very in depth! Highly reccomended

By Raul C

Sep 19, 2015

Excellent and very complete class

By Gandhy F H T

Nov 14, 2015

Excelente herramienta educativa

By Etelka N

Dec 09, 2016

Incredibly helpful. Thank you.

By Cathy G

Jan 01, 2016

So thorough and informative!

By Erin P

Jan 13, 2018

Wonderful course! Take it!

By Natouchka M F

Nov 10, 2015

Very EXCELLENT course

By Harshavardhan B

Feb 22, 2019

I love this course

By Jimhwa W

Nov 13, 2015

对打基础真的非常有用和实在!

By Tatiana E S

Nov 15, 2015

Great course!

By María F B R

Jul 18, 2016

I loved it

By Balaji N

Sep 14, 2015

I Love it

By Fernando R

Feb 22, 2016

exelente

By Gourav D

Sep 26, 2017

A

W

E

S

O

M

E

By Robyn J

Jun 15, 2017

The course is set up very well--the handouts provided are excellent, the videos are fun and informative, and the peer review activities are a great way to get feedback and also see other students' ideas and points of view. The reason it gets 4 instead of 5 stars is because, when I took the course, there was some trouble getting timely feedback from the peer graders (and delayed feedback will negatively affect your grade). Also, this is a tiny thing, but the Vivaldi music at the beginning and end of every single video got old really quickly, especially since there's a mistake in the recording.

By Ida E

Jul 06, 2020

Would have been nice with more viola. Sometimes the submission-shareable links do not work. Also, sometimes peers give a bad grade without explanation. That makes it unnecessary hard to complete the course. In all, a really great course! I will return to the info provided in the course and continue learning from its content. Thank you!

By BARBARA B C S

Jun 03, 2016

This pedagogy course is great, but I think it is missing real students learning the current lesson... I feel that the students try just one, and make it perfect, they already know... The teacher could show us how to eliminate their difficulties... Almost 5 stars!