Chevron Left
Back to English for Teaching Purposes

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Teaching Purposes by Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona

4.6
207 ratings
54 reviews

About the Course

Thinking about teaching your university subject in English but it’s not the Language you normally use? Then, English for teaching purposes is the course for you. A course on English and teaching methodology that aims to help university lecturers do their teaching in English, in line with university internationalisation policies. The course structure is the same for all learners and there are opportunities for them to link up with colleagues from universities all over the world who share the same discipline and discourse community, to ask questions and exchange ideas. This MOOC targets lecturers who wish to begin using English in their teaching. A priori, this means university lecturers from countries where English is not the L1 or a widely-used language (Romance language-speaking countries, for example), though in fact the course is open to teachers from all educational stages who want to teach through English, following the principles of EMI (English Medium Instruction). On completing the course, you should be able to do the following. a) Teach a university subject in English, having gained the necessary confidence and skills. b) Integrate all aspects of CLIL (methodological, pedagogical, strategic, attitudinal, motivational, linguistic, sociolinguistic and pragmatic) to put together their own English-medium course on their particular subject. c) Describe the characteristics of the university lecture discourse genre (planning, agents, channels, phases, dynamics, and current flexibility of the genre). d) Understand and perform the basic linguistic macro-functions within English teaching discourse. e) Understand and perform, using the appropriate linguistic exponents (vocabulary, structures, and phraseology), the main micro-functions in English teaching discourse: metalinguistic, informative, evaluative, inductive, and social. f) Consolidate their oral expression and interaction skills, and their grammar and vocabulary, at English levels C1 and C2 as defined by the Council of Europe. English for Teaching Purposes is a course provided by the Language Service at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB)....

Top reviews

MF

Mar 08, 2016

It is a valuable course. I completed this and it made me enabled to efficiently and fluently deliver lecture in English.

JP

Oct 10, 2015

This is a mandatory course for everyone who wants to teach in English, even if you are a native English speaker.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 51 Reviews for English for Teaching Purposes

By Cristian L R

Jun 29, 2017

That's pretty much useful not only if you want improve your english skills but also if you love learning how different subjects teach in English.

This course offer many tips to strengthen your teaching skills.

By Adolfo J C V

Oct 23, 2016

Fue un curso sorprendente y maravilloso donde aprendi muchisimas cosas utiles para mi vida: Muchas gracias!

By Noxolo M

May 28, 2017

This was an excellent course that prepares you for teaching English.

By JAQUES M P

Oct 10, 2015

This is a mandatory course for everyone who wants to teach in English, even if you are a native English speaker.

By ELIAS V D S

Jun 18, 2016

Great course!

By Ana P G d l F

Jun 07, 2019

Excelente curso

By Luciano M

Jun 08, 2019

Excellent professors and materials.

By Mitzy J U L

Jul 15, 2019

Excellent course, the teachers are amazing and all the information is extremely helpful.

By Саакян В Л

Nov 29, 2019

Спасибо!

By Desti A

Jun 21, 2016

it is helping me to teaching

By Doha B

Sep 09, 2019

thanks a lot , this course is very useful

By Joaquim L V

Jan 08, 2019

Excelent

By Mohsen K

Apr 25, 2017

It was great. I found this course very informative and useful.

In addition, it was well designed and the materials which have been used in this course are very useful.

And a very special thanks to the teachers because of providing us with all the knowledge which we need to be able to face as a teacher.

By Josep M D

Jun 18, 2016

It is a very useful course. Don't forget to do it!

By Sunethra N

Jul 16, 2017

I think this course will enrich my teaching methodologies. I want to be a student and improve my knowledge , and I would like to share my knowledge with other teacher community who come from all the corners of the globe.

By Vasantha M P

May 22, 2017

Nice and easy course. Anyone can do it with ease.

By Carlos A G M

Jun 27, 2016

This is course with great expectations about ESL/FL teaching to college students.

By maria g c

Dec 08, 2017

The course was interesting and enriching. I enjoyed it and I believe it has improved my skills.

Thank you very much!!!

By Abdelrahman M

Feb 03, 2016

Very nice and interesting course.

By DIVYA C C

Dec 22, 2015

A very good class for English language teachers

By Val K

Oct 07, 2017

Very informative and useful for my work as I am an english teacher. Thank you very much, it was great participating.

By Mehtab B

Mar 10, 2016

Amazing and very useful course...Thanks

By Yunus Y

Sep 22, 2019

I am very tthankful to Ms. Silvia Solá Viñals. The way that she explained the topics were great. However, some parts of the explanation needs some more examples.

I wish your team all the best.

By Juan G

Jan 25, 2016

Well designed.

By HIBA A O F

Oct 10, 2019

Thank you..it was an informative course..best regards.