Chevron Left
Back to English for Teaching Purposes

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Teaching Purposes by Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona

4.7
stars
426 ratings
127 reviews

About the Course

Thinking about teaching your university subject in English but it’s not the Language you normally use? Then, English for teaching purposes is the course for you. A course on English and teaching methodology that aims to help university lecturers do their teaching in English, in line with university internationalisation policies. The course structure is the same for all learners and there are opportunities for them to link up with colleagues from universities all over the world who share the same discipline and discourse community, to ask questions and exchange ideas. This MOOC targets lecturers who wish to begin using English in their teaching. A priori, this means university lecturers from countries where English is not the L1 or a widely-used language (Romance language-speaking countries, for example), though in fact the course is open to teachers from all educational stages who want to teach through English, following the principles of EMI (English Medium Instruction). On completing the course, you should be able to do the following. a) Teach a university subject in English, having gained the necessary confidence and skills. b) Integrate all aspects of CLIL (methodological, pedagogical, strategic, attitudinal, motivational, linguistic, sociolinguistic and pragmatic) to put together their own English-medium course on their particular subject. c) Describe the characteristics of the university lecture discourse genre (planning, agents, channels, phases, dynamics, and current flexibility of the genre). d) Understand and perform the basic linguistic macro-functions within English teaching discourse. e) Understand and perform, using the appropriate linguistic exponents (vocabulary, structures, and phraseology), the main micro-functions in English teaching discourse: metalinguistic, informative, evaluative, inductive, and social. f) Consolidate their oral expression and interaction skills, and their grammar and vocabulary, at English levels C1 and C2 as defined by the Council of Europe. English for Teaching Purposes is a course provided by the Language Service at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB)....

Top reviews

EE
Jan 29, 2021

its amazing course, which gives me a chance to explain any lesson in away like a professional one.\n\nI'd like to thank everyone who did his best with us from the beginning

AP
Jun 1, 2020

I found this course extraordinarily useful in preparing and especially in the delivery of the teaching lessons. I aspire to become a teacher and this course is useful.

Filter by:

101 - 124 of 124 Reviews for English for Teaching Purposes

By Саакян В Л

Nov 29, 2019

Спасибо!

By Joaquim L V

Jan 8, 2019

Excelent

By Joan C

Dec 11, 2016

Nice one

By Vikas M

Apr 3, 2020

This course is exceptional, there are all the activities like how to facilitate students with different approaches, and how to deal with the different students and their learning.

However, the language used was a bit difficult for me, but I managed because the course gives satisfaction.

By Yunus Y

Sep 22, 2019

I am very tthankful to Ms. Silvia Solá Viñals. The way that she explained the topics were great. However, some parts of the explanation needs some more examples.

I wish your team all the best.

By Afifa A

Aug 29, 2020

I found this course extraordinarily useful in preparing and especially in the delivery of the teaching lessons. I aspire to become a teacher and this course is useful.

By mariagrazia c

Dec 8, 2017

The course was interesting and enriching. I enjoyed it and I believe it has improved my skills.

Thank you very much!!!

By Val K

Oct 7, 2017

Very informative and useful for my work as I am an english teacher. Thank you very much, it was great participating.

By Sofía M

Nov 21, 2020

It was a great learning experience, and it would be better if there was more interaction with the instructors.

By Viswanath K R

Jul 22, 2020

It was good to look at my own teaching. And take some good practice by reviewing peers

By SHAKUNTALA. B V

Jul 17, 2020

Excellent course , helped me to gain knowledge of vocabulary. Thanks !!

By Ajith P

Oct 2, 2020

Useful techniques to ease your way into teaching in English...

By DIVYA C C

Dec 22, 2015

A very good class for English language teachers

By Mehtab B

Mar 10, 2016

Amazing and very useful course...Thanks

By jayashri d

Sep 27, 2020

English is Base Language For Teaching

By Abdelrahman M

Feb 3, 2016

Very nice and interesting course.

By Kalpesh R G

Jun 25, 2020

Amazing experience

By Alicia M A

May 11, 2020

El curso es bastante interesante y fácil de seguir. Pero lo veo más bien orientado para personas que nunca hayan dado clase antes, ya que si has impartido algún tipo de docencia ya conoces la mayoría de los consejos y ayuda que te puede ofrecer

By HIBA A O F

Oct 10, 2019

Thank you..it was an informative course..best regards.

By Juan G

Jan 25, 2016

Well designed.

By Robin B

May 26, 2020

I got this message on 26/5/20 although I received my verified certificate pass on 21/2/20 . This sort of thing amounts to terrorism, and it happens all the time with online and software companies, which is tiresome and exhausting to the point of murder.

'Check your submission

Oops—it looks like your submission for Productive Activity 2 might be incomplete. We recommend double-checking that you’ve included all the required information and that any links or uploads are working.

Not sure what might be wrong? Ask a friend or colleague to double-check your submission for anything you might have missed.'

All the site says is 'course completed', 'download your certificate', which was done in February.

Dr Robin Bright PhD

By Edelweiss T R

Apr 6, 2020

I am sorry to say that there was one interested video about pronunciation , nothing else. It is a waste of time. The questions to pass are so uninteresting.

Sorry but I don't think that this is a good course.

don't loose your time

By jorge s g

Nov 14, 2016

The teachers have a strong Spanish accent and they fail in what they try to teach: improving.

By Mahbuba S

Jul 16, 2020

Nothing.