Chevron Left
Back to Teaching Science at University

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teaching Science at University by University of Zurich

4.6
stars
175 ratings

About the Course

This course will prepare you for teaching science in higher education. In this MOOC you will learn to make your knowledge as an excellent researcher accessible to your students. We will show you how to communicate science to novices as well as advanced students in science. You will experience the value of teaching with analogies and you will be guided to train your students' competences. Based on up-to-date findings from research into teaching and learning science you will be able to - implement evidence-based strategies into your own teaching, - use students everyday-conceptions for the development of courses, - prepare analogies and models to teach in your field, - implement problem-based teaching, - set up for experiments and teach the nature of science. This course enables you to teach abstract science topics to your students and make them become active and successful learners. The course is based on lectures (videos), handouts (knowledge-to practice briefs), which supplement the knowledge taught in the lectures and assignments to implement the teaching strategies into your own practice....

Top reviews

MA

Sep 16, 2018

It was useful for me as beginner. I learned how to give an assessment, planning for the course, developing my course material, raise the competitions between my students and more.

RV

Mar 2, 2018

This is a very exceptional course for me as a teacher. Very helpful insights and learnings. Thanks Prof. Dr. Kai Niebert for you wonderful teaching methodologies. God bless you.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 73 Reviews for Teaching Science at University

By Tatiana K

Mar 1, 2023

A really helpful course based on modern data on how students learn.

A lot of useful tools and practices.

Might be somewhat difficult for those who have no prior teaching experience.

By Richard D V

Mar 3, 2018

This is a very exceptional course for me as a teacher. Very helpful insights and learnings. Thanks Prof. Dr. Kai Niebert for you wonderful teaching methodologies. God bless you.

By Roberto C

May 30, 2021

Easy to understand, clear, well divided into flields and blocks of evaluation. A very useful tool to improve knowledge and to approach the issue of university teaching

By jose m

Nov 23, 2020

excelente curso te brinda nuevas metodologias para la enseñanza de ciencias y ademas te permite crear un ambiente de aprendizaje muy didactico con los alumnos

By mehdi k

Sep 1, 2022

Great courses for anyone who has some prior knowledge about teaching and the content will lead you to level up your teaching skill. THANKS ALOT

By Dario

May 29, 2022

Well structured and extremly helpful course. Combines current social and environmental issues with good teaching practices. Highly recommended!

By Marta I

Apr 22, 2020

This course has provided me a wide range of teaching techniques that are going to be very useful when teaching science at any educative level.

By Amr W A R S

Oct 7, 2019

A very useful course. I really recommend it to anyone who is interested to continue his career in teaching scientific topics.

By Renan A d S

Aug 30, 2020

Great course! Awesome discussions and materials, I sure have developed some skills from this course on how to teach.

By jeffrey f

Jun 23, 2020

This course is very informative and is really relevant for improving Science education. Worthy of time and effort.

By Ana C

Sep 12, 2017

I really enjoyed taking this course. I recommended it to everyone with an interest in teaching and learning.

By Vinitha R P

Mar 21, 2020

A very interesting course indeed. The assignments were fun to do. and peer-review was a good exercise.

By Rosina S

May 10, 2021

The course gave me so many ideas, and I'm very excited to try them out the next time I get to teach!

By Antara V

Jul 22, 2020

It was a very relevant and interesting course. I found it thorough, and learnt a lot from it.

By Reham h

Nov 1, 2023

This course is essential to any one who would like to make a difference with his students.

By Zahra J

Oct 7, 2020

a thought provoking and informative course with very simple teacing illustrations....

By Dr. M K S

Jun 27, 2020

This course will be really very helpful in my career.

Will recommend for others also.

By Assemzhar B

Apr 16, 2024

Курс ұнады маған. Өзімнің жұмыстарыма сырт көзбен қарап, анализ жасай алдым.

By hadi v

Sep 13, 2021

fantastic course , its one of the most helpful course materials I seen

By Stefan B

Mar 16, 2017

Great course. VEry helpful for my proper teaching.

Inspiring teacher.

By Ricardo A V

Nov 23, 2021

21st century methods to teach contents to 21st century students

By Natascia V

Aug 31, 2020

this was a very helpful course and i would highly recommend it

By JOSE L B O

Jul 21, 2020

It´s really useful. It has many tips to improve teaching.

By Nikoo F

Jul 3, 2023

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot.

By Aruni

Jan 18, 2018

Inspiring tipps for own teaching. Thank you!