Chevron Left
Back to The Power of Machine Learning: Boost Business, Accumulate Clicks, Fight Fraud, and Deny Deadbeats

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Power of Machine Learning: Boost Business, Accumulate Clicks, Fight Fraud, and Deny Deadbeats by SAS

4.8
stars
125 ratings
53 reviews

About the Course

It's the age of machine learning. Companies are seizing upon the power of this technology to combat risk, boost sales, cut costs, block fraud, streamline manufacturing, conquer spam, toughen crime fighting, and win elections. Want to tap that potential? It's best to start with a holistic, business-oriented course on machine learning – no matter whether you’re more on the tech or the business side. After all, successfully deploying machine learning relies on savvy business leadership just as much as it relies on technical skill. And for that reason, data scientists aren't the only ones who need to learn the fundamentals. Executives, decision makers, and line of business managers must also ramp up on how machine learning works and how it delivers business value. And the reverse is true as well: Techies need to look beyond the number crunching itself and become deeply familiar with the business demands of machine learning. This way, both sides speak the same language and can collaborate effectively. This course will prepare you to participate in the deployment of machine learning – whether you'll do so in the role of enterprise leader or quant. In order to serve both types, this course goes further than typical machine learning courses, which cover only the technical foundations and core quantitative techniques. This curriculum uniquely integrates both sides – both the business and tech know-how – that are essential for deploying machine learning. It covers: – How launching machine learning – aka predictive analytics – improves marketing, financial services, fraud detection, and many other business operations – A concrete yet accessible guide to predictive modeling methods, delving most deeply into decision trees – Reporting on the predictive performance of machine learning and the profit it generates – What your data needs to look like before applying machine learning – Avoiding the hype and false promises of “artificial intelligence” – AI ethics: social justice concerns, such as when predictive models blatantly discriminate by protected class NO HANDS-ON AND NO HEAVY MATH. This concentrated entry-level program is totally accessible to business leaders – and yet totally vital to data scientists who want to secure their business relevance. It's for anyone who wishes to participate in the commercial deployment of machine learning, no matter whether you'll play a role on the business side or the technical side. This includes business professionals and decision makers of all kinds, such as executives, directors, line of business managers, and consultants – as well as data scientists. BUT TECHNICAL LEARNERS SHOULD TAKE ANOTHER LOOK. Before jumping straight into the hands-on, as quants are inclined to do, consider one thing: This curriculum provides complementary know-how that all great techies also need to master. It contextualizes the core technology, guiding you on the end-to-end process required to successfully deploy a predictive model so that it delivers a business impact. LIKE A UNIVERSITY COURSE. This course is also a good fit for college students, or for those planning for or currently enrolled in an MBA program. The breadth and depth of the overall three-course specialization is equivalent to one full-semester MBA or graduate-level course. IN-DEPTH YET ACCESSIBLE. Brought to you by industry leader Eric Siegel – a winner of teaching awards when he was a professor at Columbia University – this curriculum stands out as one of the most thorough, engaging, and surprisingly accessible on the subject of machine learning. VENDOR-NEUTRAL. This course includes illuminating software demos of machine learning in action using SAS products. However, the curriculum is vendor-neutral and universally-applicable. The contents and learning objectives apply, regardless of which machine learning software tools you end up choosing to work with....

Top reviews

BT
Aug 19, 2020

This is such a well-rounded, beautifully executed coverage of ML for business people! I didn't know what I didn't know but now that I know I'm amazed this wasn't covered in other courses i took.

DB
Nov 18, 2020

Very informative, learnt A LOT of stuff that I knew nothing about... But the instructor made if fun and interesting... so it was enjoyable.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 54 Reviews for The Power of Machine Learning: Boost Business, Accumulate Clicks, Fight Fraud, and Deny Deadbeats

By Selin N

Oct 14, 2020

Great course. To cheap to give it away in coursera :)

By Milind P K

Sep 30, 2020

A complete course in ML. Real holistic view.

By ITB537 E S

Sep 29, 2020

the best ml course i have ever done

By Sarwat A M P S

Oct 4, 2020

Amazing and super knowledgable.

By PRASANTA M

Sep 25, 2020

It is really insightful

By Shane H

Oct 20, 2020

Great course !

By Ricardo V

Dec 3, 2020

Excelente

By Catherine T

Feb 24, 2021

I'm one of those people he warned not to review negatively because it's not a tech course - I'm studying for a career transition to data science, and most of the courses I take are highly technical. But this course gives a huge foundation in general application of ML. I'm not especially interested in working in a business environment per se, but this course really teaches you how to fluently talk about the non-technical aspects of ML and data science. The unit on ethics I think is particularly important. The software demos are also really helpful whether or not you plan to use SAS. Honestly this course was so well rounded. I really enjoyed Eric Siegel's presentation. He manages to be extremely funny while also really effectively teaching the material. My only criticism is he tried way too hard to sell his book at every opportunity and there were not many readings that weren't written by him. And when reading the articles I noticed that he'd used the exact same wording in the course videos. So a little more diversity there could be good.

By Andrew S

Mar 3, 2021

This is increasingly essential knowledge for both business leaders who know that data must be tapped for competitive advantage and analytics professionals who need to understand how to help businesses tap that power. Each party needs to know a bit more - not too much, but enough - about the other's world to be effective together and deliver results. Finding that balance of how much tech and data and how much business outcome to put into a course is really difficult and I have not seen anyone strike that balance like Prof. Siegel. In addition to this unique capability Prof. Siegel brings relevant and relatable cases, actual hands on work in an approachable format and keen sense of humor as he lets geek flag fly high. Take this course.

By Thomas M

Dec 22, 2020

This course provides a good introduction to Machine Learning. I liked the course because I learned a few things around the concerns and implications of using machine learning and developing machine learning models, to take into account the impact of the models predictive output on society at large. While this course did touch upon a couple of machine learning algorithms at a very high level, it was sufficient to whet my appetite to learn more in the other courses of this specialization.

By Jay S

Aug 1, 2021

Eric Siegel is very insightful in this 3 course machine learning specialization for data oriented business leaders! Highly recommend this specialization. For business leaders, it will help drive the business impact of ML initiatives and manage ethical pitfalls. For technology experts, it does a great job at setting context and painting a great picture of potential applications of ML before one would dive deep into the algorithms.

By SALIME M A

Feb 15, 2021

This course is perfect for those professionals that need a clear explanation of what Machine Learning is and what is it for. This course has been extremely helpful for me, it has helped me to clarify the concepts, and how Machine Learning works in a real business environment.

By Chiranjoy C

Mar 16, 2021

This "ML for everyone" course is the benchmark for how machine learning should be taught. Period.

For the uninitiated, Eric Siegel has a rockstar status in this field.

This course brings analytical techniques via ubiquitous use cases. It is a must for practitioner.

By Vincent B

Mar 31, 2021

At heart I'm a "technology wonk" but this ML course focused on the business side (and my career direction) is the right choice. Eric Siegel makes it clear right what ML does and were it can be applied. Now, on to the next part of the specialization...

By Jocelyn G

Dec 16, 2020

Thank you very much. That is a concise, meaty introduction to machine learning. Exactly what I needed.

By Vanessa U

Mar 17, 2021

Excellent insightful content. Science made easy to understand. I thoroughly enjoyed this course

By Luis H C A

Aug 12, 2021

Very good topic as an Introduction to a this very interesting topic which is Machine Learning.

By Deborah D

Feb 14, 2021

Nice entrance into Machine Learning concepts and spotlight on ethical imperatives

By Priyavrat S

Mar 18, 2021

Loved this course. Recommend to anyone getting started with ML.

By ARNAB B

Feb 23, 2021

This was an amazing learning experience. Thank you so much!

By Anu S

Feb 18, 2021

Excellent summary of practical applications

By Antonio L

Apr 28, 2021

Enlightening

By Jimmy V

Jan 27, 2021

Nice!

By Rahul A

Dec 7, 2020

Very good course, set the right contextual understanding. Could have been a bit shorter, esp the ethics part.

By Vikram K

Aug 27, 2021

Excellent Insights.