Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
4,697 ratings
995 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

AS
Apr 12, 2021

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

BG
Aug 3, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 972 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By Tevah P

Apr 14, 2018

The scaffolding of the assignments was really elegant and this class presented a lot of information in engaging videos.

By Мартин М

Mar 20, 2020

It was really great part of course, which gave me a lot of new knowledge. What i like the most - practical cases yeah!

By Justyna B

May 6, 2019

I absolutely enjoyed this course! Especially the little projects - I could actually see my progress. Really recommend.

By Muhammad T

May 3, 2016

Excellent course, I recommend this course to all learners, who want to get introduced with Typography and Typesetting.

By Fides M

Aug 23, 2020

Learned so much about the power of typography! Lectures were clear, projects were fun to do especially the final one.

By Tarik M

Mar 10, 2020

I learned a lot from this course, especially how to see typography in various uses, and how to use it professionally.

By Mariana G P

May 18, 2021

I really enjoy this course, I have the opportunity to follow my progress improving the works that I had to uploaded.

By Elizabeth M H

May 12, 2021

The course was informative and helpful in expanding my understanding of the history and construction of typography.

By samara k

Aug 30, 2019

This course was a great introduction for me into typography. I really grew to love typography and all its elements!

By Juachi O

Sep 21, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. Helped me to really examine my typography choices instead of always working intuitively

By Rudi W

Nov 20, 2020

great! a simple and clear introduction with nice assignments, gives me enough of a base to experiment and practice

By Douaa h

Jul 7, 2020

I recommend this course to anyone who wants to enriched their design skills,

it was very much informative, and fun.

By Neveen F

Jan 5, 2020

I loved it, I learned a lot about typefaces, the way this course was designed is impressive, thank you very much!

By Michael D

Mar 21, 2016

Lectures are great - very informative and interesting. I appreciate the work that went in to creating the course!

By mandy B e

Sep 4, 2020

i learn a lot in this class . this is the easy class i took , love it

learn about art and i love doing art class

By Sarah K

Apr 7, 2019

Very interesting theory. Good balance between knowledge (quizzes) and practice (assignments) to ensure learning.

By Barbara C d S

Jun 16, 2020

Very good! For me it was a great opportunity to learn more about typography and how to use it, in so many ways.

By Camila R

Jan 25, 2019

Excellent course, highly recommended! It provides a lot of useful concepts. You will love typography after it.

By Patrycja

Dec 9, 2020

Great course. I learnt a lot. I loved the assignments that help to improve the skills as designer. Wonderful.

By Emmanuel L

Apr 16, 2020

I love this course! I've learned a lot about Typography and I'll stick to the material provided here. Thanks!

By Patricia M C

May 15, 2017

Maravilloso a pesar no manejarme en el mismo idioma puede aprender bastante con algo más de tiempo y esfuerzo

By AnSo M

Aug 20, 2016

Really good course! The assignments are very well designed and just make you to learn more about typography.

By Anna K

May 2, 2016

Very interesting and helpful, especially for me as a beginner. Great lecturer.

Thanks a lot for this course!

By Ana K

Jun 13, 2020

I liked this course very much. I like typography and during this course, I learned more about the typeface.

By Aigoz A

Apr 21, 2020

The substantial course on Typography. A lot of interesting detailed information and practical assignments.