Chevron Left
Back to Design Thinking for Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Thinking for Innovation by University of Virginia

4.6
3,087 ratings
922 reviews

About the Course

Today innovation is everyone's business. Whether you are a manager in a global corporation, an entrepreneur starting up, in a government role, or a teacher in an elementary school, everyone is expected to get lean – to do better with less. And that is why we all need design thinking. At every level in every kind of organization, design thinking provides the tools you need to become an innovative thinker and uncover creative opportunities that are there – you're just not seeing them yet. In this course, we provide an overview of design thinking and work with a model containing four key questions and several tools to help you understand design thinking as a problem solving approach. We also look at several stories from different organizations that used design thinking to uncover compelling solutions....

Top reviews

LM

Sep 23, 2019

I really liked the peer reviews at the end. It was a great way to view other examples of how different projects, industries, and teams have used design thinking. The course was easy to follow as well.

MV

Dec 01, 2016

As a design manager I should say this course actually opened my eyes to a new world. I hope be able to make good changes in my world by using this knowledge more and more in my life. Thanks to All :)

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 902 Reviews for Design Thinking for Innovation

By Nita L

May 05, 2017

Great and practical introduction to design thinking principles! Videos are short and evaluation method is simple and interesting, especially when you have a chance to review your peers' work. I would recommend this course to anyone with an interest in design thinking and its application in the workplace, no matter what industry.

By DIVYATA R

May 12, 2017

It's a great course. It would be great if we could see more examples and implementation of tools used in today's world.

By Juancho M

Jun 01, 2017

Excellent material as a started. Would be great to be able to count more on suggested articles and readings. As of the multimedia content itself, the videos could be a little bit more interactive. At various points it would be the instructor talking over a static slide, did not find it very pedagogic. Other than that, thumbs up for putting up one of the few courses available on Design Thinking out there on this platform. Cheers!

By Zahir A

May 14, 2018

excellent beginners course

By Kimberly C

Jul 01, 2017

Good tools, good basics. Faster, deeper info if you get and read her book.

By 叶一博

Aug 28, 2017

It is a creative course that I've first met and I learned many useful things from it.

By Caroline B

Aug 24, 2017

Really enjoyed the course, great lecturers and examples

By Paulo R F M

Nov 07, 2016

boa abordagem e conteúdo

By Abrar

Nov 10, 2017

Professor Jeanne M. Liedtka is such an Amazing speaker. I loved the course content. As a student, I had a little trouble getting some of the concepts into context. I think it's a fantastic course specially for professionals.

By sri k

May 18, 2017

The course is good. I wish there are more details about the difference tools that are used like Story Telling, Ethnography etc. Also there are no templates to download and improvise on them. There are no exercises in this course to refresh the content each week.

By V.S.N. M

Jan 25, 2018

Innovative thinking approach to real time challenges and finding solutions on going basis for the existing or new products/services/ processes to reach excellency.

By Vishrut S

Apr 14, 2018

Great Course

By Rachel A

Nov 08, 2017

Extremely eye-opening course into understanding how to deal with issues that arise at work involving huge teams... I especially gained a deeper understanding into the various tools: visualization, mind-mapping, and so on.

By Sandra C R

May 15, 2018

Muy buen curso y dinámico aunque en cuanto al precio en dólares y pesos mexicanos difieren un poco y no se respeta el precio que te indican, por ejemplo a mi se me indicó que serían 705 MXN y al final se realizó un cargo por 750MXN en la tarjeta registrada habiendo una diferencia de 45

By Justin L

Jun 19, 2018

Nice intro course. Easy to follow along, and concepts explained well and repeated so the learning is reinforced.

By Aakash H

Jul 11, 2018

The course explains the Design Thinking principle very well, focusing more on the Empathy stage. The examples mentioned are really practical, especially the IBM story.The templates and tools coverage should be more

By Sarannya s n

Apr 15, 2019

Good

By Ang P

May 02, 2019

The speaking speed can be accelerated. The rest is wonderful. Thank you!

By Baibaswata C

Apr 24, 2019

Some portions of the course need more detailing, for a better understanding of the concepts. Nevertheless, its a good primer on Design Thinking.

By Harry H

Apr 13, 2019

Good course for introducing Design Thinking. It is explaining valuable techniques (what), although it may have been more explaining or referring to material about how to use these techniques (more how). I will certainly use the techniques learned.

By selvam

Apr 11, 2019

ok

By suren

May 17, 2019

More examples would have been better.

Some of the concepts were hard to internalize hence simplistic examples with visualization would have helped better.

Overall a great learning. Thanks

By Alex C

May 27, 2019

Excellent course to dive into design thinking.

By GANESAN K

Jun 04, 2019

nice training

By Rob K

Jul 01, 2019

It was a nice overview to Design Thinking, with 3 or 4 practical and diverse examples of application. The course used a consistent framework for reference throughout. I also enjoyed the different options for learning - from video lectures, different lecturers, reading materials and final assignment. To improve, the course could have been more challenging by asking more specific questions (in the assignment) that require deeper research and critical thinking (i'm not sure I deserve a certificate at the end, but will take it!). Overall positive experience.