Chevron Left
Back to Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
5,113 ratings

About the Course

Not so long ago, the job of product manager was about assessing market data, creating requirements, and managing the hand-off to sales/marketing. Maybe you’d talk to a customer somewhere in there and they’d tell you what features they wanted. But companies that manage product that way are dying. Being a product person today is a new game, and product managers are at the center of it. Today, particularly if your product is mostly digital, you might update it several times a day. Massive troves of data are available for making decisions and, at the same time, deep insights into customer motivation and experience are more important than ever. The job of the modern product manager is to charter a direction and create a successful working environment for all the actors involved in product success. It’s not a simple job or an easy job, but it is a meaningful job where you’ll be learning all the time. This course will help you along your learning journey and prepare you with the skills and perspective you need to: Create the actionable focus to successfully manage your product (week 1) Focus your work using modern product management methods (week 2) Manage new products and explore new product ideas (week 3) Manage and amplify existing products (week 4) This course is ideal for current product or general managers interested in today's modern product management methods. Please note that there are new additions to this course and subtitles for these videos will soon be available. This course was developed with the generous support of the Batten Institute at UVA’s Darden School of Business. The Batten Institute’s mission is to improve the world through entrepreneurship and innovation: www.batteninstitute.org....

Top reviews

RA

Feb 15, 2020

The course delievers a lot of knowledge, strategy and tools for product managers. You will finish the course with many ideas and tools to implement and have more success in your company. Great course!

LK

Jun 24, 2018

I enjoyed this course very much! This course helped me ground myself in some of the core principles of product management and I'm confident that I will take what I've learned and put it into practice.

Filter by:

1326 - 1350 of 1,358 Reviews for Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals

By Parul G

May 2, 2021

Need practical exmaples , its all theory

By Jenny C U m

Sep 19, 2020

No tiene subtitulo en español.

By Philip P

Jun 15, 2020

Very unclear quiz-questions.

By Aisha A

Apr 6, 2022

not very beginner friendly

By Iago R C

Sep 16, 2022

Information is crammed up

By tyler w

Dec 10, 2021

Decent overview.

By Subin J

Dec 23, 2019

Its ok

By Jacqueline P

Nov 14, 2020

The lecturer is a bit of a scatter brain with concepts, going back and forth with concepts. I would rather clear dot-points on the power-points that explain the concepts in typed text words rather than long verbal descriptions with messy scribbling over slides that constantly come on and off the screen (just have the slide, actual key concepts written and then we can listen to you waffle on, i don't need to see you talking - I need to see the slide!).

The concepts are not at all difficult but when given in a disjointed manner and having to constantly refer to other topics is very annoying when they could have been presented in a more logical manner. I get the feeling the lecturer is more interested in himself talking and playing teacher (like my niece who likes to talk to her teddies and scribble on a whiteboard) than teaching the content.

By Stacey E

Jul 19, 2023

This material is old (2015 and it's 2023) and not the common practice in the 15+ years I have been in product from a tech perspective and marketing. There were some concepts that I liked and will adopt, such as Steve Blank Four Steps when I need to get an innovation concept tested with a recommendation with minimal resources (aka: me, and only me). But most of this would not be applicable in my "normal" PdM roles.

It was also difficult to map up the test questions with the content that was shared and/or elaborated on. Was rather frustrating.

By Neeraja V

May 25, 2021

Too much text, to much theory and lots of tools. Felt difficulty in following the course. Need to be so cautious. Exhaustive with too many videos and questions in the last. The Digital Transformation and Design thinking was awesome and i was able to follow. Customer centric and Digital product mgmt is very heavy to learn and follow and keep track on the concepts. Just pushing myself hard to understand since i paid for this course. But i was happy with Digital transformation and Design thinking.

By Kartik K

Jun 1, 2021

I don't mind his [Alex's] personal views; I do mind his baseless, just-said-like-that opinions. I don't mind his [Alex's] satirical comments; I do mind his constant mention of Resources section (I am not to be toggled between Videos and Resources AT ALL TIMES; it is to be a supplement and not a complement here!)

P.S. I was an aspiring Product Manager, but (sadly) now I am not. And so, Thank You for that!

By P M

May 25, 2023

The content is very poorly structured, no logical blocks.

I didn't like the instrustor's manner of speaking. He used a lot of filler words, there was no clear structure of each lesson and the material was overall organized in a very unengaging way.

It was very hard to focus on the lesson and the idea the instructor tried to reveal.

I don't recommend this course.

By Thamer D

Mar 31, 2021

One of the worst Instructor's at all of my life, he can't focus and give the information easily, and he keeps using his pen drawing on the Screen. What's the benefit of the slides if he doesn't use the information on it probably. he display something and talking about something else!

By Deleted A

Jan 18, 2021

realmente solo es teoría y herramientas aplicadas a producto, pero no hay casos prácticos ni contenido aplicable, probaré los demás cursos, seguro la especialización es mas completa

By Martín O

Feb 22, 2023

I don't recommend it. The material is not useful and the course is very impractical. Acceptable content but a very low time investment/learning ratio.

By Azra P

Apr 15, 2021

communication is too complex. Need to put the point across in simple sentences with simple easy-to-understand examples

By Jéssica V

Jul 12, 2023

Too much theoretical, I think I am not able to apply anything in real life.

By Larissa A

Aug 5, 2020

The course is not right to the point! Is needed to be more focused.

By Charlie A

May 17, 2021

its very hard to take noted

By Elina P

Feb 9, 2024

ok types

By Gloria

Oct 17, 2020

I'm sorry but I found the course really confused and confusing. There's no solid structure in explaining the topics, no method. No schema. Nothing. It's a mix of info. it's supposed to be an intermediate course, but you should have so many pre-requirements to understand topics and contents.

By Shivam S

Jun 20, 2022

It's too technical for a layman to understand and practice quizzes are tough, hence leaving this course in between. Please take some clue from google project management course on how to make learning interesting and easy.

By Jing H

May 17, 2023

The course is poorly structured, not much material to reference on if you goal is learn the basic. and most importantly, the instructor is promoting his book/website/tools/other series coursera class consistently.

By Ben F

Mar 29, 2021

The Coursera UX coupled with the instructor's tendency to wander and the fact that the course didn't have a clear learning trajectory for each section made it incredibly difficult to follow.

By Marvin S

Jan 24, 2021

Sadly the course material was not presented in a vivid and practical way. Furthermore the test question were quite different from the materials in the course.