Chevron Left
Back to Innovating with the Business Model Canvas

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Innovating with the Business Model Canvas by University of Virginia

4.6
stars
158 ratings
48 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever gotten really excited about reading or writing a business plan? You might have started out excited, but I’m going to bet you didn’t stay that way. Let’s be honest- business plans are boring and mostly ignored. The beauty of the one-page Business Model Canvas is that it drives meaningful focus. It helps us organize our ideas and have better discussions by forcing specificity and bringing linkages between key business drivers to the foreground. Innovation requires one hand being very focused on a fundamental need or problem while the other hand quickly tests different solutions. For this, the Business Model Canvas is very innovation friendly: It's a lot easier to tweak the model and try things with something that's sitting on a single page In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, you’ll learn key tools from the worlds of design thinking and Lean Startup to approach the Canvas with thoughtfulness, focus, and above all a test-driven approach to business model innovation....

Top reviews

HP
Jul 28, 2019

An excellent short yet effective course that definitely adds constructive value to all startups and large enterprises those want scientific methods to run an effective & sustainable business strategy.

AH
Nov 18, 2019

Amazing stuff!\n\nIt is actually organized in 2 weeks but opens up so many interesting subjects to dig deeper and understand which can help taking your business to the next level.\n\nThanks Alex!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 51 Reviews for Innovating with the Business Model Canvas

By Lawrence H

Feb 4, 2019

The venture design is a good way to prioritize what information you need to gather, how to distill it to actions. How to become efficient on learning if your great idea is a good business, if so preserver if not pivot to a new or modified idea. If you are required to write a traditional business plan you can use the canvas to fill in the most important sections of that plan with actual information from customers and not just speculation.

By David J

Jan 22, 2018

I think Alex did an excellent job in bringing to life some concepts and ideas that might seems dull. The canvass is a great first step in the field of business model design and he does a good balancing act between process, detail and case examples. I can highly recommend this course as well as his other courses in this series.

David Jensen, UN Environment and Co-founder of MapX

By MUHAMMAD A S

Aug 26, 2018

This course has provided me with a very detailed approach which I can surely use to initiate my start-up. I have fallen in love with this course so much that despite I have completed the course. I will keep on visiting these videos again and again to get insight on my start-up.

By Hemant P

Jul 28, 2019

An excellent short yet effective course that definitely adds constructive value to all startups and large enterprises those want scientific methods to run an effective & sustainable business strategy.

By Darren P C

Jun 7, 2020

I generally like how the course went beyond just discussing the business model canvass. It actually explored and tried to incorporate other strategies, frameworks, and models into the canvass.

By Arvid H

Nov 18, 2019

Amazing stuff!

It is actually organized in 2 weeks but opens up so many interesting subjects to dig deeper and understand which can help taking your business to the next level.

Thanks Alex!

By William Y

Nov 25, 2020

Great stuffs but it is too short. It would be great if Alex can provide more examples of some real live existing companies. Nevertheless, it is highly recommended

By PAN Y C

Oct 6, 2020

The Business Model Canvas is a way to quickly put together a business plan, strategic management and a great startup template for an entrepreneur.

By Jeffery H

Nov 25, 2020

I've read the books, and used the tools; but I've never had anyone walk through them for me. This was very informative and should add value.

By Ana B

Sep 24, 2019

The information is really well structured and easy to follow. It doesn't live anything unclear and it's all actionable content.

By Maryam K

Oct 11, 2018

It gave a very practical approach for establishing business models with clear understanding of each and every stage.

By MATHEUS C D O

May 30, 2020

Excellent explanation!

The course helps you understand all the possibilities of the Business Model Canvas .

By Satyukov S R

Aug 30, 2019

It was incredible. But a main thing which i took was corporate canvas. Thank you, Alex!

By David P

Jul 30, 2020

Really well thought through and presented course. Good insights, and succinct.

By Hugo A P S

Aug 1, 2020

It is a great course. I would like to see a second part of this course

By Nelson R S J

Jan 16, 2019

I thing that this course can make different to my new job, Thanks !!!

By Dr. A S

Dec 25, 2018

Very good details of various novelties in business canvas model

By Spandan B

Sep 16, 2020

Nice course to understand more about the Business Model Canvas

By Marcos M S

May 23, 2020

Excelente curso, aprendi bastante e adquirir conhecimento!

By FALAH R T

Oct 11, 2020

thank you for helping me about business model canvas

By Dr K G P

Jun 10, 2020

This course really very Informative for Business

By Zoltan M

Apr 5, 2020

Very good structured, useful for a daily work.

By Maaz M

Jun 21, 2020

Helps to identify good business ideas

By Lim K B J

Mar 17, 2020

Very good practical course!

By Laurent C

Jun 24, 2018

À vert praticable course.