Chevron Left
Back to Water Resources Management and Policy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Water Resources Management and Policy by University of Geneva

4.6
432 ratings
105 reviews

About the Course

Water management today is faced with new challenges such as climate change or the effects of human activity. Public and private stakeholders who are active in this field must develop new ways to better manage the water cycle "as a whole". The objective of this MOOC is to develop an understanding of the problems related to water management. Firstly, this course will define a resource and, more specifically, the resource of water. It will look at how water is used and the activities associated with it as well as any potential conflicts. The course will look at water management in detail through the analysis of the different types of rights and obligations associated with, for example, the development of a multi-sectorial regulation system or a watershed management approach. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: 1) Identify the main issues and strategies linked to water resource management 2) Acquire the key reading material needed to understand the many variables (environmental, institutional and political) which affect water and which, in terms of management, may require adjustment. This course was developed by the Geneva Water Hub. Alongside researchers from the University of Geneva from a range of faculties, researchers from other universities and research centres will be involved in this course. Practitioners who deal daily with the political dimension of water management will also input into the course. This MOOC is designed for all those interested in the water sector. Prior training is not necessary to follow our program. The findings presented in this course can be easily reapplied to different contexts and to different scales of analysis. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development » (www.coursera.org/learn/ecosystem-services) and the one in "International Water Law" (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). This course is funded by the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC). This course is also available in French : www.coursera.org/learn/gestion-eau...

Top reviews

HK

May 18, 2018

i have gained alot out of the course, is there a statement of accomplishment for this course? thank you very much for the knowledge gained, i am looking forward to participate in other courses.

AS

Apr 30, 2016

very interesting course, with good examples. Just the fact it is french with quizz in english makes it not that easy!!! Some of the module are just too theoretical. But nice, very good overall

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 104 Reviews for Water Resources Management and Policy

By Sreejith E K

Feb 15, 2016

I am really thankful to Dr. Christian Brethaut and Professor Geraldine Pflieger. Thank you very much for this wonderful course. Looking forward to meet you in another course.

By Alexandra S C

Jun 24, 2017

Excellent course

By Nadeemahmadkhan

Oct 18, 2016

Nice way to teaching

By Sumo J

Mar 19, 2017

I enjoyed the course it was very educating.

By Shivam

Nov 02, 2018

learn much about the course

By Kelly B

Nov 05, 2018

Wonderful introductory course.

By UDUMA A U

Jun 18, 2019

Superb

By OC S

Jun 21, 2019

It's a very informal learning with knowledge creation and acquisition from this self-directed learning course.

By M R K

Jul 17, 2019

This course is absolutely designed for water resources management practitioners with practical examples of disputes and laws of water of trans boundaries conflicts.

i appreciate the efforts that has been done for arranging and materializing this course so efficiently and thematically.

By Muhammad Q J P

Jul 28, 2019

The course curriculum is good. Instructor is also efficient. I hope this course will help me a lot in future.

By Vincentius K M

Aug 09, 2019

The course was very informative. I specifically enjoyed the case studies as this made it more relate-able compared to if it was more theory based. I also enjoyed the fact that both developing and developed countries examples were used for the case studies. I compliment the course administrators for a job well done. I strongly recommend anyone wishing to develop skills in water management to partake in this course.

By Muhammad H

Jun 13, 2019

I found this course very informative and helpful in water resources management. I would recommend this to every one out there of any educational level if they want to understand water management and its environmental impacts.

By SAKANDE A Z

Sep 10, 2019

very usefull!!!

By Krishnanandh

Aug 25, 2019

Useful one and learned a lot about how water is managed across the globe.

By Habib D

Aug 27, 2019

The course increases my understanding of water management and policy but also sparks my interest to extend to the management and policy of other natural resources in general.

By Mahmoud R

Oct 30, 2019

t

By Abdulrahman M S A

Nov 16, 2019

I have learnt much things in my major that will be reflected with my work also with my life

this course opened my eyes to lots of things witch must be considered especially with genuine objects like water

i also learned water management in different fields and how to deal with this issue as it integrated method IWRM and how conflicts are being sloven and a lot of various items that i achieved making me more aware and thoughtful when addressing this object

thanks for all doctors , masters and all involved who exert their effort to deliver this material as it is .

By Vishwajit S

Feb 02, 2019

BASIC KNOWLEDGE OF WATER MANAGEMENT IS VERY HELPFUL

By Shelley C

Feb 10, 2019

The content is very relevant to issues facing all citizens, states and regions of the planet. The case examples are well chosen - good illustrations of key concepts, highlight both challenges and opportunities/best practices.

Some of the English translations are inaccurate (error in Quiz already flagged, exact) or would benefit from interpretation rather than direct translation to more effectively communicate the key concept.

It would help if you put the subtitles right in the video - it is a challenge to jump up and down between the video and the text below, especially for longer video segments or those with imbedded slides.

Thank you for this opportunity to hear from international experts on this important topic.

By Thapelo M

Feb 11, 2019

It was a bit tricky but a worthwhile learning experience nonetheless

By Nicole

Feb 28, 2019

This course was honestly more difficult than others, keep in mind that it's mostly in french. It's tricky for people like me, who speak french and english, both as second languages. Most of the words I didn't understand were translated as the same (from french to english). I also felt that the translator's objective was more to translate sometimes rather than give the intended meaning. Trying to coordinate between french and english wasn't easy. However, the course was helpful nonetheless. I highly recommend it for people interested in this topic.

By Sirisha K

Mar 15, 2019

I would have felt more comfortable if the lectures were delivered in English.

By Mbaye S

Sep 26, 2018

Un cours très riche en enseignements

By Héctor C V

Jan 23, 2018

Perfect

By Jethro S

Oct 31, 2017

An interesting course with some good introductory content. The mix of videos in French language with subtitles and handouts in English is a little awkward. As an English speaker I relied almost entirely on downloading and reading the transcripts, rather than watching the videos.

A few suggestions:

1) The wording of quiz questions should be reviewed as it was confusing/unclear (probably a translation issue) and made it very difficult to pass Module 2.

2) Recommend to also reduce the file size of some handouts (>20MB).

3) The course would benefit from some additional reading materials. Not too much, but a few more short, relevant articles or reports.