Chevron Left
Back to Water Resources Management and Policy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Water Resources Management and Policy by University of Geneva

4.6
stars
1,079 ratings
267 reviews

About the Course

Water management today is faced with new challenges such as climate change or the effects of human activity. Public and private stakeholders who are active in this field must develop new ways to better manage the water cycle "as a whole". The objective of this MOOC is to develop an understanding of the problems related to water management. Firstly, this course will define a resource and, more specifically, the resource of water. It will look at how water is used and the activities associated with it as well as any potential conflicts. The course will look at water management in detail through the analysis of the different types of rights and obligations associated with, for example, the development of a multi-sectorial regulation system or a watershed management approach. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: 1) Identify the main issues and strategies linked to water resource management 2) Acquire the key reading material needed to understand the many variables (environmental, institutional and political) which affect water and which, in terms of management, may require adjustment. This course was developed by the Geneva Water Hub. Alongside researchers from the University of Geneva from a range of faculties, researchers from other universities and research centres will be involved in this course. Practitioners who deal daily with the political dimension of water management will also input into the course. This MOOC is designed for all those interested in the water sector. Prior training is not necessary to follow our program. The findings presented in this course can be easily reapplied to different contexts and to different scales of analysis. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development » (www.coursera.org/learn/ecosystem-services) and the one in "International Water Law" (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). This course is funded by the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC). This course is also available in French : www.coursera.org/learn/gestion-eau...

Top reviews

CO

Oct 2, 2020

This course presents complex and hard to understand concepts of water resource management in a very subtle and precise way thus suitable for all learners from all backgrounds and learning levels.

HK

May 17, 2018

i have gained alot out of the course, is there a statement of accomplishment for this course? thank you very much for the knowledge gained, i am looking forward to participate in other courses.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 262 Reviews for Water Resources Management and Policy

By Julius S

May 9, 2021

Excellent Course!!

I would love to take an online certificate/diploma or Masters on Water Management and Climate Change at the University of Geneva.

By Poliane m a

Sep 21, 2020

Aprendi que a gestão tem suas váriaveis em determinados pontos estratégicos e que na sua maior corrente de informação segue um determinado padrão.

By Mohammad R B H P

May 4, 2020

Excellent course for learning Water Resource Management and Policy of the world.It helps me a lot.Thanks a lot University of Geneva Water Hub team

By Shamail A K

Aug 22, 2018

Very insightful orientation course to understand the foundations of IWRM, multi-sectoral regulations etc. explained with interesting case studies.

By Curllan

Apr 6, 2018

The translations sometimes makes it difficult to understand the terminology the presenters are using but this course is very informative.

By Yusuf T

Jan 2, 2019

Water Resources Management and Policy course is a valuable course to understand the water resources, its management and issues we faced.

By Sharon A

Sep 16, 2021

Very in depth and relevant to this present era of Climate change and water resources management. i t was a very good learning process.

By D B N S V

May 5, 2020

Really wonderful course ,created awareness on water management principles. Thank you to the course instructors and COURSERA team

By Dimitrija S

Oct 16, 2016

Well designed, informative and very useful. Helps in understanding the complexity of water management from multiple perspectives.

By Tony W

Aug 26, 2021

I would like to thank the team behind this course for making it professional but at the same time easy to understand. Thank you.

By Suhaib h i

Apr 25, 2020

after the course ended , i had a greater background about water and the surrounding international laws , Iam happy and grateful.

By Dr. K D

Apr 18, 2020

This subject is very much helpful for water resources people. The questions are well structured and challenging while solving.

By Johnson A

May 16, 2022

A very good and educational course. It keeps you informed of all you need to know about water management and policypolicy.

By Bouari S

Nov 27, 2019

J'ai énormément apprécié ce cours, de part sa dimension internationale et axé sur de nombreux exemples.

C'était fabuleux !

By Sean F D L

May 25, 2021

The translation still needs some work. Some portions were extremely difficult to understand due to grammatical errors.

By Mbia E B

Dec 1, 2016

Très bon cours. C'est vraiment intéressant d'avoir toutes ces connaissances dans la gestion et la politique de l'eau.

By Amit K S

May 19, 2021

I learned different aspect of water management and related policy formation. Thanks to the teachers and guests.

By OC S

Jun 21, 2019

It's a very informal learning with knowledge creation and acquisition from this self-directed learning course.

By Qamar P

Jul 28, 2019

The course curriculum is good. Instructor is also efficient. I hope this course will help me a lot in future.

By Alberto R

Apr 20, 2020

excellent course that guided me to the basics of hydro-politics, and water management. Thank you very much!

By Gerald M

Feb 4, 2022

Excellent course, very rich and full of important information! Many thanks to the Professors and speakers!

By Fayez O A

Apr 25, 2021

I glad to enrolled this course , it's gave a lot about water recourses management and policy, many thanks

By Paula S M P

Apr 15, 2017

It was an enjoyable and quite complete course. I really learned a lot from this. Thank you so much!!!!

By Deleted A

Feb 10, 2017

Very interesting and insightful information! Very Nice and positive learning experience! Thank you!

By 156 s k

Feb 28, 2021

HELPS IN KNOWING ABOUT THE WATER RESOURCE MANAGEMENT AND DIFFERENT SCENARIOS OF MANAGAEMENT POLICY