Chevron Left
Back to Water Resources Management and Policy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Water Resources Management and Policy by University of Geneva

4.6
stars
804 ratings
203 reviews

About the Course

Water management today is faced with new challenges such as climate change or the effects of human activity. Public and private stakeholders who are active in this field must develop new ways to better manage the water cycle "as a whole". The objective of this MOOC is to develop an understanding of the problems related to water management. Firstly, this course will define a resource and, more specifically, the resource of water. It will look at how water is used and the activities associated with it as well as any potential conflicts. The course will look at water management in detail through the analysis of the different types of rights and obligations associated with, for example, the development of a multi-sectorial regulation system or a watershed management approach. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: 1) Identify the main issues and strategies linked to water resource management 2) Acquire the key reading material needed to understand the many variables (environmental, institutional and political) which affect water and which, in terms of management, may require adjustment. This course was developed by the Geneva Water Hub. Alongside researchers from the University of Geneva from a range of faculties, researchers from other universities and research centres will be involved in this course. Practitioners who deal daily with the political dimension of water management will also input into the course. This MOOC is designed for all those interested in the water sector. Prior training is not necessary to follow our program. The findings presented in this course can be easily reapplied to different contexts and to different scales of analysis. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development » (www.coursera.org/learn/ecosystem-services) and the one in "International Water Law" (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). This course is funded by the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC). This course is also available in French : www.coursera.org/learn/gestion-eau...

Top reviews

CO

Oct 03, 2020

This course presents complex and hard to understand concepts of water resource management in a very subtle and precise way thus suitable for all learners from all backgrounds and learning levels.

HK

May 18, 2018

i have gained alot out of the course, is there a statement of accomplishment for this course? thank you very much for the knowledge gained, i am looking forward to participate in other courses.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 200 Reviews for Water Resources Management and Policy

By sandhiya

May 27, 2020

Excellent

By KAMAL G Y

May 10, 2020

Excellent

By Alexander R M

Apr 29, 2018

Excellent

By موقع ت

Feb 06, 2016

ban coure

By Ponnaganti v s R

Apr 19, 2020

Excelent

By Jay P

Sep 29, 2020

Nothing

By Ramkumar

May 18, 2020

Helpful

By UDUMA A U

Jun 18, 2019

Superb

By Souvik P

Aug 18, 2020

good

By ANU M J

Jul 26, 2020

Good

By Mona A A

Jun 02, 2020

G

O

O

D

By Pisika A

Apr 21, 2020

Good

By Mahmoud R

Oct 30, 2019

t

By Spyros G

Nov 13, 2016

This was an interesting introduction to water resource management. I found it very useful to learn about the institutional regime, when having to face a multisectoral problem and the methods to address it. I particularly enjoyed the fact that there were numerous case studies discussed such as the Nile basin or the Mekong basin. In order for you to improve the efficacy of this course i would suggest the following measures:

a) a synopsis of the main laws and directives regarding the protection and management of water resource in the last course.

b) Further analysis on how to deal with certain general problems such as the case when a country upstream pollutes the waters that head to the country downstream, that you mentioned in your last video. I would like to see more examples of management of such a conflict

Thank you

By Cale L

Sep 25, 2019

This course has a lot of extremely valuable information, the most I have seen in a Coursera course I have done. It walked me through a field I had very little knowledge on, had a lot of illustrative examples, and had excellent content. However, it is in French, and as an English speaker, I had some trouble with the translations. The translations were excellent quality, but for such a technical subject, very specific translation is needed, and sometimes this was slightly lacking with subtitution of very similar words, but enough to slightly change the meaning. Reading through the translations also, and adding in this factor meant that it was sometimes difficult to understand the context. The course is excellent, its just a little hard to follow for a non-French speaker at times

By Daniel R

May 24, 2019

This course helped me to consolidate my basic knowledge of water management and international relations, while introducing me to a range of new concepts, policies, and legislation specific to the subject matter. The tutors were engaging and it was nice to see a range of presenters and interviewees to aid the learning process. I also liked the well-structured approach of introducing concepts and frameworks then using real case studies to illustrate.

The only drawback for me was the multiple-choice assessments - sometimes with rather vague questions and answers - and the need to memorise legislation and dates.

Overall though, an excellent, nicely balanced course for anyone interested in water or international relations involving natural resources.

By Julia A L

Jan 22, 2017

Through this course I was given a lot of information on water management policies throughout history. Sometimes the practical applications were difficult to visualize in a real-world context although there were many case studies shown (maybe because being from the U.S. we have a less politically complex system). A strong emphasis was placed on international laws that are relevant today. If I end up working within the water sector in the U.S. I expect that this knowledge will help me put my work into a broader perspective and help me find innovative solutions to problems. The translation of the script from French to English needs more work. Sometimes it took me longer to understand concepts due to poor translation or spelling errors.

By Shelley C

Feb 10, 2019

The content is very relevant to issues facing all citizens, states and regions of the planet. The case examples are well chosen - good illustrations of key concepts, highlight both challenges and opportunities/best practices.

Some of the English translations are inaccurate (error in Quiz already flagged, exact) or would benefit from interpretation rather than direct translation to more effectively communicate the key concept.

It would help if you put the subtitles right in the video - it is a challenge to jump up and down between the video and the text below, especially for longer video segments or those with imbedded slides.

Thank you for this opportunity to hear from international experts on this important topic.

By Jethro S

Oct 31, 2017

An interesting course with some good introductory content. The mix of videos in French language with subtitles and handouts in English is a little awkward. As an English speaker I relied almost entirely on downloading and reading the transcripts, rather than watching the videos.

A few suggestions:

1) The wording of quiz questions should be reviewed as it was confusing/unclear (probably a translation issue) and made it very difficult to pass Module 2.

2) Recommend to also reduce the file size of some handouts (>20MB).

3) The course would benefit from some additional reading materials. Not too much, but a few more short, relevant articles or reports.

By Subha S

Jul 13, 2020

The instructors have tried to hard to present different facts, and I also admire that they interviewed different persons related to the water management. But I faced a real problem in Week 3 or 2 where they talked about concepts, It really went over my head because no matter how many times I read them I couldnt figure out what they meant. Maybe thats because I am not a native English speaker. And also, THIS COURSE IS IN FRENCH! (except a couple of videos). So please know what you are signing up for. But I really enjoyed the last week and also learnt a lot of new terms. And for the efforts of instructors, I am giving it a 4 star.

By Levente S

May 21, 2020

In general, I liked this course. I appreciated the diversity of people involved and the change of environment the lectures were recorded. However, since most of the lectures are rather "dry, and a lot of us don't speak French, I felt like I could lose focus and attention pretty easily. So I would have loved an occasionally virtually more engaging presentation with graphs, maps, etc. The lectures that were most engaging for me were the ones when there was a guest or a particular case was discussed. But then again, in general, I really liked this course.

By Nicole

Feb 28, 2019

This course was honestly more difficult than others, keep in mind that it's mostly in french. It's tricky for people like me, who speak french and english, both as second languages. Most of the words I didn't understand were translated as the same (from french to english). I also felt that the translator's objective was more to translate sometimes rather than give the intended meaning. Trying to coordinate between french and english wasn't easy. However, the course was helpful nonetheless. I highly recommend it for people interested in this topic.

By Georgia H

Jun 04, 2020

I found this course really interesting as it covers a broad range of topics in the field of water management - I enjoyed the mixture of theory, case studies and interviews. It was a good level for me as someone who is familiar with some of the debates, theories and issues but looking to get a bit more detail across the board. I also thought the module quizzes were a good length and allowed you to recap what you'd learnt well.

By Ravi K M

Aug 15, 2020

A very interesting course based on some good real life examples from around the world. Suitable for anyone who wants to understand the basics of natural resources management at community, state or international level. Though it is mostly in french; English transcript and presentation along with supportive documents are sufficient for a good understanding of the subject.

By iveth k j

Oct 07, 2016

This course introduced me to new valuable concepts, that I find useful in my daily work. I liked tha clarity of most of the teachers. The case studies served to understand better the concepts presented. However, I would have liked to learn more about the situation regarding water resource management in South America.