Chevron Left
Back to Water Resources Management and Policy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Water Resources Management and Policy by University of Geneva

4.6
431 ratings
105 reviews

About the Course

Water management today is faced with new challenges such as climate change or the effects of human activity. Public and private stakeholders who are active in this field must develop new ways to better manage the water cycle "as a whole". The objective of this MOOC is to develop an understanding of the problems related to water management. Firstly, this course will define a resource and, more specifically, the resource of water. It will look at how water is used and the activities associated with it as well as any potential conflicts. The course will look at water management in detail through the analysis of the different types of rights and obligations associated with, for example, the development of a multi-sectorial regulation system or a watershed management approach. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: 1) Identify the main issues and strategies linked to water resource management 2) Acquire the key reading material needed to understand the many variables (environmental, institutional and political) which affect water and which, in terms of management, may require adjustment. This course was developed by the Geneva Water Hub. Alongside researchers from the University of Geneva from a range of faculties, researchers from other universities and research centres will be involved in this course. Practitioners who deal daily with the political dimension of water management will also input into the course. This MOOC is designed for all those interested in the water sector. Prior training is not necessary to follow our program. The findings presented in this course can be easily reapplied to different contexts and to different scales of analysis. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development » (www.coursera.org/learn/ecosystem-services) and the one in "International Water Law" (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). This course is funded by the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC). This course is also available in French : www.coursera.org/learn/gestion-eau...

Top reviews

HK

May 18, 2018

i have gained alot out of the course, is there a statement of accomplishment for this course? thank you very much for the knowledge gained, i am looking forward to participate in other courses.

AS

Apr 30, 2016

very interesting course, with good examples. Just the fact it is french with quizz in english makes it not that easy!!! Some of the module are just too theoretical. But nice, very good overall

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 103 Reviews for Water Resources Management and Policy

By Ricardo F M

Nov 04, 2017

This course is very insteresting because the professors give us many examples of how policies of water management are developing in diferent cpuntries.

By Mohammad M A

May 27, 2017

Great course with awesome teachers.

By Kevin D

Mar 20, 2016

Excellent course.

By Zian S

Oct 03, 2016

Very informative overview, excellent platform

By Antoine S

Apr 30, 2016

very interesting course, with good examples. Just the fact it is french with quizz in english makes it not that easy!!! Some of the module are just too theoretical. But nice, very good overall

By Anandraj S

May 15, 2016

This course provided me a strong comprehensive understanding of the basics of water management and the issues associated with it, which was effectively demonstrated through case studies across the world.

By Mbia E B

Dec 02, 2016

Très bon cours. C'est vraiment intéressant d'avoir toutes ces connaissances dans la gestion et la politique de l'eau.

By Mahmud H T

Sep 26, 2017

Water resource management issue in different regime.

By farzad p

Aug 16, 2016

This course is really amazing and I highly recommend to anybody working in this field.

By Lutine d B

Sep 23, 2016

I was referred to this course by Diplofoundation Institute (University of Malta) after completing my thesis there on water management in the West Bank. I would like to thank to faculty of the University of Geneva (WaterHub) for providing me with high-level and beautifully structured information on European as well as global water management. Very inspirational.

By موقع ت

Feb 06, 2016

ban coure

By Mariana E N P

Aug 11, 2017

Muy completo, didáctico y dinámico. Recomendable el 100 por ciento.

By 郭逸飞

Apr 01, 2018

Thank you very much for your abundant and interesting presentation!

By Francois R

Dec 22, 2017

Un bon cours, qui jette correctement les bases de la gouvernance de l'eau à de multiples échelles spatio-temporelles. Le volume de travail se limitant à de l'écoute, ce MOOC est parfait lorsque le besoin de l'auditeur se limite à l'acquisition de connaissances générales sur le sujet, ce qui était exactement mon cas. Merci et bonne continuation.

By Grégoire M

Apr 17, 2018

Merci pour ce cours très bien construit !

By Natalie F

Feb 01, 2018

This course was a great introduction to international water management. I feel I learned a lot about the subject and the instructors were enjoyable to listen to. The course is in French with English subtitles, but it was still easy to follow along and get a complete experience.

By Mohamed S

Sep 23, 2017

it is useful to have a whole picture of water-related relations between countries.

it is also useful to see a different methods of water management.

By Mukarram A

Sep 23, 2017

Great learning

By Raoulle F

Feb 15, 2017

This course was great- I certainly enjoyed learning about water resources management and policy. As I have a legal background, I particularly found Professors Sangbana and Mbengue's discourse on the legal aspect of water resources management (Module 5) engaging. In addition, the course presented different case studies as well as various interviews with numerous resource persons that allowed me to have a grasp of the real world applications of the concepts involved.

By Deleted A

Feb 10, 2017

Very interesting and insightful information! Very Nice and positive learning experience! Thank you!

By Akella V A K

Jul 07, 2017

An excellent course. Wish the videos were in English too.

By Agustin J P P

Jun 13, 2016

Interesting and informative. Perfect combination of lecturers, information and amazing views. Look forward to Water Resources Management and Policy 2.0!!!

By Paula S M P

Apr 16, 2017

It was an enjoyable and quite complete course. I really learned a lot from this. Thank you so much!!!!

By Alexander R A

Apr 22, 2018

Very practical and added to my water treatment experience. There need to be availability of water before deciding on what water treatment technology is required. Great course which when fully taught in English will be helpful.

By Sudeep D

Feb 24, 2017

This course was very helpful to me.