Chevron Left
Back to Building Web Applications in PHP

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building Web Applications in PHP by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
3,825 ratings
863 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you'll explore the basic structure of a web application, and how a web browser interacts with a web server. You'll be introduced to the request/response cycle, including GET/POST/Redirect. You'll also gain an introductory understanding of Hypertext Markup Language (HTML), as well as the basic syntax and data structures of the PHP language, variables, logic, iteration, arrays, error handling, and superglobal variables, among other elements. An introduction to Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) will allow you to style markup for webpages. Lastly, you'll gain the skills and knowledge to install and use an integrated PHP/MySQL environment like XAMPP or MAMP....

Top reviews

YY
Feb 9, 2018

Even being quite an expert in area, I still enjoyed this course a lot and learning quite much from it as well. Highly recommended to everyone who developed an interest to PHP and web-applications.

YS
Jan 12, 2022

Had to hear/watch some videos multiple times, unlike the other course I took with Dr Chuck. Could be sql really is his favorite. Could also be that I have absolute no previous knowledge of PHP.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 864 Reviews for Building Web Applications in PHP

By Brandon G

Jul 24, 2020

This course helped me understand the basic fundamentals of web development and how the web works as a system. The lectures are well done, and the information all made sense to me intuitively even though I came in with zero web development experience. The autograder could at times be finicky with looking for *very specific* keywords, but other than that, the assignments were fair and applicable to real-world situations.

By Debanjoly C

Jul 1, 2020

Course content is great.The instructor will never make you feel bored. Enjoyed learning new things.But this was a really basic PHP course.Seeing the course name expected bit more from the course rather than just learning the syntax and basic stuffs.However whatever the course contains is great for anyone who wants to start web development.

By Andrew S

Nov 11, 2019

A great course. At first look it seemed to me a quite easy. However, by moving step by step through it, it takes a lot of contribution to finish it. As a result, I understand a basics of a HTML, PHP. Now I know how these programming languages operates in the browser and a web server.

By Guillermo A R N

Apr 3, 2019

Very good teacher, I have learn a macro view on how web applications work. In my opinion the course needs whether more challenging exercises, or change the name "Building Web Applications in PHP" by "Understanding Web Applications in PHP".

By RACHIT R

Jun 6, 2020

This was a great introductory course. The instructor taught in a manner that was both enriching and enjoyable. However, I felt that more content could have been covered in this course given that it was an 8 week-long course.

By Arslaan S

Aug 10, 2020

Its a great course to learn PHP basics, well it does not cover some other stuff such as PHP Sessions and connecting SQL Database with PHP and stuff.

Otherwise, Charles Severence (Dr. Chuck) is a great instructor

By Ayush P

May 29, 2021

Gr8 course!! You will learn about html, css basics , then php, handling forms, GET, POST request, basic understanding of full stack development. The assignments are really cool, you will learn most from them.

By Rajat K

Jul 8, 2018

This course is one which will introduce you with various important aspects of PHP if you haven't got any knowledge about it. If you do have some experience in PHP, this course is surely a refresher.

By Jamal S

Feb 16, 2021

AMAZING course but the assignments are a bit weird in which you are tested for information you will take in the next week but nothing major, best professor in social wise I have seen recommend

By siddharth p

Apr 5, 2020

This was an awesome course which would cruise you through the basics of web pages, their making and what actually goes behind the screen. Its a fun course with innovative assignments.

By JOSHYEL A C G

Jul 23, 2020

Muy buen curso introductorio a lo que es el desarrollo de aplicaciones web, aunque no se ve muy a profundidad el desarrollo de una aplicación da a entender la idea y lo que implica

By John C F

May 22, 2021

This course is great for Beginners, well explained concept and great instructor, some instructions are outdated but I guess you can use google if your having trouble in some code.

By Cullen M

Nov 29, 2020

This is a great beginner course - I wish it did not say Intermediate. Dr. Chuck is fantastic, but this course may not challenge you enough if you have some coding background.

By Equipboard S

Nov 12, 2021

I felt by having the starting templates it becomes quite easy to finish this course. I consider that as a minus point. Otherwise great way to kickstart your knowledge on PHP

By Saravanan V

Nov 21, 2019

The Course really helped me to explore various functionalities of php. I am very thankful to my tutor for the support and lectures he gave. Looking forward to doing another

By PRITAM C

Jul 3, 2020

An awesome course with handful of interesting assignments. Some autograder related issues came up unfortunately but at an ultimate point it's really awesome.

By Koushik S

Jan 15, 2022

great course to learn about php-html-css. Assignments were little bit tricky but always a great supporting from the course instructor behind you. thank you.

By SIDDHANT S 1

Nov 25, 2020

A great course for beginners like me to understand the concepts and build on from there. Thanks a lot for the materials and the interactive assignments.

By Alaiva'a M

May 5, 2020

An excellent course to learn PHP scripting, syntax, and the server-side of the internet. It provided good resources worth learning and reading.

By AMMARI A

May 2, 2021

Is the best course, specially for the one who want a general idea of how websites work and the programming languages used to create websites

By Aleyna Ç

Sep 18, 2020

assignments are much tough, you have to read the specifications well. except them, teacher is amazing and teaching with fun.. enjoy

By Kanika M

Jun 13, 2020

I am really lucky to have chosen this course.It is quite helpful.

Thank you to the entire team, the teachers especially Dr. Chuk.

By Raluca O P

Jan 8, 2020

Enjoyed this course because instructor has very nice vibe and its passion for what he does is simply there visible. Congrats!

By Santiago C G

Oct 19, 2020

That was a great experience and for the teacher explanations i was able to get the concept of get/post cycle request.

By Michael J

Apr 22, 2019

I wish there were more assignments. I feel like the class was really starting to get good and then it ended.