Chevron Left
Back to Business Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Writing by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
4,241 ratings

About the Course

Writing well is one of the most important skills you can develop to be successful in the business world. Over seventy companies and thirty thousand students--from professional writers to new employees to non-native English speakers to seasoned executives--have used the techniques in Business Writing to power their ability to communicate and launch their ideas. This course will teach you how to apply the top ten principles of good business writing to your work, how to deploy simple tools to dramatically improve your writing, and how to execute organization, structure, and revision to communicate more masterfully than ever. From the very first lesson, you'll be able to apply your new learning immediately to your work and improve your writing today. Your ideas are powerful. Learn how to deliver them with the clarity and impact they deserve. "Thank you for giving me the knowledge I need in life. [Business Writing] was helpful, life changing, and has made a huge impact in my writing." -- Message from a Business Writing student The principles you'll learn in this course enable you to become a great business writer. They also provide the foundation for moving into Graphic Design and Successful Presentation, so that you can unleash your best professional self whenever--and however--you present your ideas in the workplace. This course can be taken for academic credit as part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Data Science (MS-DS) degree offered on the Coursera platform. The MS-DS is an interdisciplinary degree that brings together faculty from CU Boulder’s departments of Applied Mathematics, Computer Science, Information Science, and others. With performance-based admissions and no application process, the MS-DS is ideal for individuals with a broad range of undergraduate education and/or professional experience in computer science, information science, mathematics, and statistics. Learn more about the MS-DS program at https://www.coursera.org/degrees/master-of-science-data-science-boulder....

Top reviews

MA

Nov 29, 2020

THIS COURSE IS VERY HELPFUL FOR EVERYONE

WHO WANT TO LEARN HOW TO WRITE MEMO HOW TO DESIGN IT HOW TO ADD HEADING POINTS

I LEARNED HERE EVERY SINGLE THINGS THAT HAPPEN IN REAL LIFE

GOOD COURSE

YS

Jun 11, 2017

It was an exceptional course with lots to take away from. It taught basic building blocks of business writing and then built upon it which provided a great way to self learn the content of the course.

Filter by:

1076 - 1100 of 1,243 Reviews for Business Writing

By Joyce S

Oct 16, 2018

This course helped provide important, timeless principles for business writing. Quentin's teaching methods are so enjoyable, it felt like a breeze going through the material, until you come across the difficult assignments! Has just the nice amount of pre-quiz lessons and homework at appropriate difficulty levels.

By Nicole C

Nov 15, 2020

The course format made the lessons easy to comprehend and complete on time. The content is clear and actionable encouraging improvement in your writing immediately. The rubric training in the honors course was useful not just in the application of peer-review but also in improving editing skills.

By Sumit K

May 14, 2020

This courses helped me to improve my formal writing to a great extent. This helped me to write and revise my own writing to the finest extent and spend my time to save my reader's time. I will be able to convey my thoughts to my reader with more clarity with the knowledge from this course.

By Megan C

May 28, 2017

Professor McAndrew is fantastic! She is very clear and informative as an instructor, but it wasn't a particularly challenging course for me personally. Needless to say, I appreciated being reintroduced to the fundamentals and learning a few things about the craft of business writing.

By Irangie N

Nov 19, 2019

It's a good course. I learnt quite a few techniques as well as relearned some areas of writing long forgotten. However if you are British educated you will notice in order to pass the tests/quiz within the course material you will have to follow the American english style.

By Juliane S

Jul 15, 2017

It was a good course. Very clear explanations and simple to follow. Many of the techniques taught were obvious, but once you actually consistently apply them to your writing they will undoubtedly make a big difference. It is a good foundation course for effective writing.

By sparsh j

Apr 19, 2020

the course provides every rule to write better. One thing I don't like was that the answer sentences we write in quizzes were not evaluated but were marked right and left for students to compare. This confuses the learner regarding the corrective-ness of their sentences.

By Aimie K

Oct 14, 2019

Finding a system to replicate when writing both business and academic papers was my greatest challenge. But through this course, that is a challenge I no longer have to deal with. Many thinks for all the great lessons herein, Dr. McAndrew!

By icsantanap

Jul 23, 2020

I enjoyed making this course. I consider that the activities helped me to improve my writing. Now I can understand the structure of my texts. I continue learning each day and this type of courses, is very rewarding. Thanks very much.

By Lauren B

Feb 28, 2018

It was really helpful how simply Quentin broke it all down. It was not at all challenging, however. I also found it to be overly scripted. It was a good refresher course that could use some actual writing practice opportunities.

By Sandeepthi G

May 6, 2020

It's a really great course to learn how to write a professional memo. The teaching is excellent. The only problem is with the tests. It would've been even better with more difficult questions.

Overall, wonderful experience!

By Shahana B

Apr 28, 2021

Amazing teachers. Effective content. well, designed course. but I thought it is free but after two days of classes they are asking for a subscription I don't know will I be able to continue it or not because I can't pay.

By Cynthia S S

Feb 11, 2021

Helpful. Learned a lot and now have a better structure for my reports. The grammar section could have been a larger component of the lessons. I wish there was more information on different types of business writing.

By Namrata S

Apr 3, 2017

This course on Business Writing is very helpful. It has helped me to gain basic knowledge on Business writing. This has also made a good impact on my work and produce better results with positive outcomes.

By Divya S

Dec 31, 2022

The course mainly touches upon getting the foundations right through various writing principles. It provides basic yet powerful editing techniques that can significantly improve your business writing.

By Yasaman D

Dec 8, 2019

The course is a great outline of business writing and more importantly communication in general. It would have been nice to have some additional tips on emails as they are a big part of communication.

By Alwaleed K M D

Aug 2, 2017

A very interesting course that has changed my way of writing in general to more concise, easy-to-read and organized texts. Where writing is all about Quality not Quantity.

Big thanks to Dr. McAndrew,

By Cora E

Oct 17, 2022

Extremely helpful! I'm looking forward to the next courses in this specialization. Some of the videos were wordy, but all the information and quizzes were gratifying and will lead to success.

By onkar t

Oct 16, 2017

This is very good specialization course on effective business writing got to know many insights on how important is the business writing is our day-to-day life.Enroll for it...worth learning

By Antonio L N

Aug 8, 2017

Very useful business writing techniques. I would have wanted the course to provide more specific advice on how to effectively translate complex ideas into clean, simple paragraphs.

By Casheera B

Jun 4, 2019

It was a great and interactive course. I love how the tutor made the concepts concise and comprehensive. I started the course a bit wary and intimidated but now I am confident.

By ABHISHEK K

Sep 24, 2021

Well designed course...We know all the points but we did not try to incorporate these during writing. 10 points rule for better writing will remind me to be effective writer.

By a G

Dec 2, 2022

very effective, well explained,perfectly organized in the capstone style course grouping! Intelligently done. Thank you very much! Appreciate this and you instructors.

By Sahanya V M

Oct 8, 2020

This course was really useful. Everyone should participate in this course to develop writing skills. you will need those skills, especially when you are working at a place.

By Jazmin H

Nov 23, 2021

This is a wonderful course to improve writing and editing skills. Some questions and writing samples included mispellings, which distracted from the learning material.