Chevron Left
Back to Build a mobile app with Google Sheets on Glide and no coding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build a mobile app with Google Sheets on Glide and no coding by Coursera Project Network

4.5
stars
630 ratings

About the Course

In this 2-hour long project-based course, you will learn how to create a mobile app from a Google Sheet using Glide, a web application built by former Microsoft engineers to simplify app development. You will learn how to create the data structure for the app to rely on Google Sheets, how to test the app, distribute it and install it, with no need of coding experience of skills. You will build a book-sharing mobile app with user sign-in functionalities, adding items, marking as favorites, creating personalized list, sharing book reviews and more. The tool can be used as an easy development and marketing tool in order to create functional apps for personal and business use, for your client, as promotion tools or company internal applications, and more. Note: This course works best for learners who are based in the North America region. We’re currently working on providing the same experience in other regions....

Top reviews

HP

Nov 20, 2022

Thicuorses very useful for me and some queries are also some video are not availableinthia media so request to available to learn the video . it is useful for increasingmy knowledge, and skill

RY

Nov 12, 2022

I was a bit overwhelmed with the new information, never used google sheets; should have brushed up on that first, but with practice I am confident I would be able to create my first app

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 150 Reviews for Build a mobile app with Google Sheets on Glide and no coding

By Desiree W

Nov 14, 2020

This is a pretty good course, but there are several major flaws. First, the instructor does not seem to have thought through some of the tasks. The way he has set up the data structure will not work as intended, and he does not seem to realize that his instructions are not going to work. For example, he instructs us to add a list component to the detail page that will list all previous reviews of a given book. He instructs us to create a filter for this list so that only the reviews for that title will appear on a particular book's page. However, he hard codes one book's title into the filter criteria. This means that every book's detail page will list the reviews for that same book that was hard coded into the filter. The filter criteria needs to be written dynamically so that it matches the title of whichever book's page the user is viewing. In order to do this, the filter criteria should reference the cell value of the title column in that book's row in the spreadsheet. I am too new to Glide to know whether this is possible in Glide, but if it isn't, then that filter feature is pretty useless. There is a similar problem with the way the instructor sets up the "My List" feature. He set up the data structure with one ListAdd column in the Books spreadsheet. This means that when any user adds the book to their list (i.e., sets that book's ListAdd value to true), then it will be true for ALL users. Every user will see that book in their list. If another user then removes that book from their list, the book's ListAdd value becomes false for ALL users. The book will be removed from everyone's lists. This My List feature would be better accomplished by creating a separate sheet, perhaps called UserLists, that would capture the user's email and the title of the book they add to their list. Then the My List feature in the app would list books from the UserLists sheet filtered by user email. Also, if this were going to be a real-world app, then the books need more than just a title to identify them because multiple books can have the same title. They need a unique identifier, such as the ISBN.

I also could not use the Rhyme platform. The virtual desktop would not allow me to have more than one window open, so I could not switch between incognito and regular Chrome tabs. I also was not able to minimize Chrome to get to the actual virtual desktop. The window for the virtual workspace was too small to be useful. If you don't have a fairly large monitor, then you will have trouble with it.

The quiz grading also needs to be reviewed to ensure it marks answers correctly.

By Hari P

Nov 21, 2022

Thicuorses very useful for me and some queries are also some video are not availableinthia media so request to available to learn the video . it is useful for increasingmy knowledge, and skill

By Reza Y

Nov 13, 2022

I was a bit overwhelmed with the new information, never used google sheets; should have brushed up on that first, but with practice I am confident I would be able to create my first app

By Jiří K

Nov 5, 2022

A very fun project - I never knew making a simple app could be this easy!

By M A S

Jan 26, 2021

This is an amazing app to deliver a knowledge to us and help out

By Nitesh G

Oct 27, 2020

Very simple and easily understandable.

By Muhammad H

Jan 23, 2021

This course is helpful for me.

Thanks

By Stef D

Dec 19, 2020

This class was very helpful for me learning the basics of Glide. I was struggling to understand how to work Glide. I would love it if you build on this course with an intermediate course to help with things like the specialty columns such as relations and lookup. My only issue is that I don't think the final exam was correctly graded. I'm pretty sure of the two answers I got wrong, given the options presented. Thank you.

By Brittiany H

Nov 7, 2022

This was a really good course. But a few things made it difficult for me. I tried using closed captions because some things aren't in the same spot on the site or even called the same. So it took longer to figure out where I needed to click and do work. The formula is complicated and could have been put on the screen for a few frames when we pause to get a clear look at what to type. Another frustration was having to go back and forth between screens to see what to do and then do my work. But again, after figuring out how the two screens were laid out differently and where to find the new version. It honestly took me almost 4 hours to complete and I only kept pushing because I really wanted to learn how to use this software. If the captions were better, I guess watching on a tablet while working on the computer would work, but I tried this course because of the split screen option.

By Tammy C

Jan 12, 2023

Overall this was a good introduction to the Glide app building interface, but the outdated nature of the version the teacher used meant it took more time to find the corresponding features, and thus longer to complete the project. Further, sound quality and background noises were not the quality I expected/hoped for with a Coursera course. The instructor was decent. I don't think English is the native tongue of the teacher. He is certainly fluent and capable, but the accent and sound quality combo might be a bit too much for some. I had to turn my sound all the way up and eventually switch to headphones to catch what he was saying. Perhaps younger ears won't have this issue.

By Eli R R

Nov 7, 2022

the information provided was very helpful but the tools are different than showing in the course... so for a person that is not use to build apps wont find the options presented in the course. please update the video of the course.

By Aiman A

Jul 11, 2022

the website we used in cloud workspace is newer and updated , looks and elments are diffrent from the instructors videos which made it difficult to apply the steps explained in the videos

By Alan A

Sep 13, 2023

This course is out of date. The Glide website has changed format quite a bit and I spent more time searching for where the feature being described is currently located, than watching the tutorial. It got so frustrating that I did not finish the course.

The instrutor was fine. No complaints about the way he explained things, although the sound quality could have been better. It just wasn't worth having to figure out the Glide funtionality myself. If I decide to keep using Glide, I will look for more up-to-date resources.

By Muhammad T B

Feb 27, 2021

This course is amazing. It provided me an opportunity to do what I love. I was looking for a way to built apps but I didn't know how to code. This course was a great help.

By pranav v

Dec 10, 2021

This Course Helps to those Individual or Companies who wants to manage their work through App, And no need to write code to develop an interactive app

By 003-AARYAN R

Jun 23, 2022

Was Easy,fun and Skillful .... Even the project was very informative and understandable for someone who even knows how to use a computer....Enjoy it!

By Joshua C

Jan 4, 2021

Other than some weird background noise distortion from the professor's side, I loved this course very much, and learned how to build an app in Glide

By Ali H

Sep 10, 2023

It was a great learning experience where i have been abled to learn to how to unlock your creativity using glides to make app

By Nancy C M M

Feb 7, 2021

It is an amazing course, I learned a lot, I cannot believe how useful this could be for different fields of knowledge.

By Dr.Chandira G

Dec 18, 2020

Awesome course opened insights many thanks . hope you do more project guided courses in relation to this. Thanks.

By Ramona H

Jul 18, 2023

This was a great course for no coding Mobile App on Glide. He made it seem very interesting. Thank you Angelo.

By ADARSH R 1

Jun 19, 2021

I never thought an app can developed so quickly and easily in a go. Thanks to instructor,Google and Glide

By Jaylene B

Jul 14, 2021

This was a fun project! It was easy to understand and follow along, and I recommend trying this out!

By Arjun V P

Nov 5, 2020

A good course. As I am Interested in App Dev This course gave me the sight of Knowledge. Thanks Sir!

By Seth A

Nov 9, 2020

This course taught me all I needed to build apps with glide. I am already working on side projects