Chevron Left
Back to How to Use Lookup Reference Math and Text Functions in Excel

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How to Use Lookup Reference Math and Text Functions in Excel by Coursera Project Network

4.4
stars
278 ratings

About the Course

By the end of this project, you will learn how to use lookup reference, math and text functions in an Excel Spreadsheet by using a free version of Microsoft Office Excel....

Top reviews

ZK

Jan 1, 2024

Hi, My name is Zafran. I have successfully completed my short course.I am very thankful to my instructor and the Coursera community. Thank you so much Coursera team.

P

Nov 8, 2022

It is explaining in the simplest way ,examples are good and simple and more complex example can be use for deeper understanding.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 58 Reviews for How to Use Lookup Reference Math and Text Functions in Excel

By VAH2112

Feb 16, 2022

Unlike other courses and guided projects I've taken, this one does not include a spreadsheet with all of the data we need. We are required to type everything up on our own spreadsheet. This was a little annoying, but I still would have stuck with it becasue the information was useful. However, the instructor seemed to be unaware of the fact that we are trying to follow along in a split screen mode. When it was time to work on a new sheet, we had to type everything up on a new worksheet, but her information was not visible. She needs to scroll over on her sheet so we can see her sheet and type on ours at the same time. I wish this class would have been set up properly. I ended up leaving the project to look for something better.

By Md M K

Jun 19, 2023

Lookup reference, math, and text functions are essential tools in Microsoft Excel that allow users to perform various operations on data in a worksheet.

Lookup reference functions, such as VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP, are used to search for specific values in a table and return corresponding values in the same or another column. These functions are useful when you need to find specific data within a large dataset or when you want to extract information from a table. Other lookup reference functions in Excel include INDEX, MATCH, and CHOOSE.

Math functions in Excel are used to perform mathematical operations on numeric data. These functions can be used to perform basic arithmetic operations, such as addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division, as well as more complex operations such as exponentiation, logarithms, and statistical calculations. Popular math functions in Excel include SUM, AVERAGE, MAX, MIN, ABS, ROUND, and IF.

Text functions in Excel are used to manipulate and analyze text data. These functions can be used to extract specific characters or words from a text string, combine text from different cells, or format text in a particular way. Common text functions in Excel include CONCATENATE, LEFT, RIGHT, MID, LEN, FIND, and SUBSTITUTE.

Overall, lookup reference, math, and text functions are powerful tools that can help users analyze and manipulate data in Excel. By mastering these functions, users can save time and improve the accuracy of their work, making it a valuable skill for both personal and professional use.

By WONG S Y

Aug 14, 2022

The instruction is very easy to follow for begineer, but it is better to make it obvious where can learners get the data file before the lesson starts such as write it down on the introduction page. It seems that the instructor did not update this project after they prepared the data file for learners to use.

For learners who do not know where the data file is:

First, follow the instruction login your Microsoft account in the cloud workplace.

Second, go to OneDrive.

Third, click upload file. You will probably see there is a file for you to upload to your OneDrive. That file is the data file.

Fourth, open the data file and continue the lesson.

By Rais H

Mar 14, 2024

Good morning, teachers. How was your night? I hope as you are doing well this morning, thanks to God. I am a citizen of Ukraine. I had medical business in the city of Truskavets in the Lviv Oblast of Ukraine. Likewise, I have a medical license in Ukraine. I have some experience with war. Now I want to get a career as a marketer and bookkeeper in the USA. I learned a lot from your course. I appreciate you, and I am very grateful for the knowledge that you give to people.

By Suleman B

Feb 26, 2023

I found this course to be extremely helpful in improving my Excel skills, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to learn more about VLOOKUP functions. The instructor was a great resource and made the learning process both enjoyable and effective. I look forward to taking more courses with her in the future!

By Zafran k

Jan 2, 2024

Hi, My name is Zafran. I have successfully completed my short course.I am very thankful to my instructor and the Coursera community. Thank you so much Coursera team.

By priyanka P (

Nov 9, 2022

It is explaining in the simplest way ,examples are good and simple and more complex example can be use for deeper understanding.

By Lauren B

Jun 24, 2023

Explained well, I was able to follow along, and take separate notes to reference to later in onenote.

By Rita B

Dec 8, 2022

I finish my second project with this instructor and I am very happy about it.

By GUADALUPE L P

Apr 29, 2023

Easy to follow and straight to the point exercises. I recommend this course

By 21OIL108 M S

Jun 7, 2022

it was a good course would to study another course from you maam Thank you

By Benard B

Sep 17, 2023

Well explained. Good oratory. Good practical examples.

Keep it Up

By Kurnia R S

Aug 30, 2023

Penyampaian materinya sangat jelas sehingga mudah dipahami.

By Nadeem K

May 13, 2023

Great Course just add some more practice in video lecture

By Karthikeyan M

Jul 29, 2023

Very helpful and able to review back after long years.

By cynthia j

Mar 31, 2023

very easy to follow when learning different projects

By Trân L

Jun 3, 2023

Thanks a lot for this course!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By Team L

May 22, 2023

I was able to learn Look Up and different formulas

By ABO A B

May 6, 2023

no, i did not know to make a user in miroir soft

By Arshad H

May 22, 2023

Good training with Video and nice to understand

By Althea c

Nov 1, 2023

helps me to refresh my math function in excel

By Pilar A M

Jan 19, 2023

Muy bueno si te interesa aprender formulas.

By Aulia

Dec 21, 2023

Very good course. I recommended it.

By Ghulam M

Sep 4, 2023

Interested method of teaching!!

By Ahmed S (

Feb 25, 2023

Excellent. Easy to understand.